Skip to main content

ABM310 DL Library Assignment: Home

The Library Assignment

Distance Learning Library Assignment

General Guidelines
Before you start the library exercise, please read these guidelines:

  1. Carefully read the instructions for each section before you begin answering the questions. Important details are presented here you will need to successfully complete the questions.
  2. On each question where I ask you to type something, please be sure you do so accurately. I will be verifying your responses using the wording/spelling you give me.
  3. To access our databases from home (not the LIBRARY CATALOG), you will be asked for your network I.D. and password. Be sure you know these before you begin.
  4. Any material that Penn College does not own can usually be gotten for you through our Interlibrary Loan Service (ILL)—a process where we contact other libraries and ask them to send the book or article.
  5. The topic you use below must be the one you are using for Dr. Garner's class. You may use a variation of this topic as long as it is in the general category of the topic you picked. Any topic you use throughout this assignment MUST relate to the original topic you write below. You may not pick totally unrelated topics for each section.

When you finish with this assignment, click the "Submit this assignment for grading" button. After I receive your assignment, I will grade it and Send the grade to Dr. Garner and to you. If at any point during the completion of this assignment you get lost or confused, please don't hesitate to contact me.

The Library Assignment


(Use this topic or a variation of it in each section of this assignment.)
 

Library Catalogs

Open The Penn College Madigan Library Catalog On The Library Homepage And Follow The Directions Below

  1. Type your search term(s) in the "Search" box and find a book on your topic or a related topic.
     
  2.  
  3. In the "Find a copy..." box, find the call number and location and type them here:
     

  4. These subjects represent the major ideas covered in the book and are the Library of Congress terms.
  5. Using the call number and location from number 5, find your book on the shelf and write the call numbers for the books on both sides of it.



     

Other Library Catalogs

On The Madigan Library Homepage under "Research" heading, click on "How To Guides." Click on the "Find Other Library Catalogs" tab. Click on the "Local Libraries and Their Catalogs" tab. Select a catalog from the list, and complete the following instructions:


  1.  
  2. Type your search term(s) in the "Search" box and find a book on your topic or a related topic.
  3. Type the call number and location


     
  4. Examine the record that appears. Do you see any lines designated as "Subject"?


    These subjects represent the major ideas covered in the book and are the Library of Congress terms..
     
  5. (See General Guidelines, number 4. )

Databases

ProQuest (General)

Click on "Databases" under the "Research" heading on the Library's Homepage. Next, click on "Databases A to Z" and find Proquest (General) [one of many full-text databases PCT suscribes to] and follow the directions below.

  1. Find a citation to an article about or related to your topic.
     
  2. Using the citation you found, complete this form
     
  3. Again, using your citation, x all that apply:
    [The icons under each citation will help you with this. If there are no icons beneath your citation, that means that only the citation and abstract are available for this article. Click on the article title in the citation to see the summary.]
     

  4. (See General Guidelines, number 4.)

Non-full-text Databases

Click on "Databases" under the "Research" heading on the Library's Homepage. Next, click on "Database by Subject"; select an appropriate category for the topic you are searching, and follow the direction sbelow.
To receive full credit for this section you may not pick a citation that has a full text article.
Note: To verify a database is not full-text, look at the line above the database description entitled “Text.” If the words full-text are there, the database is full-text and may not be used for this section. If the word partial is there, you may use the database, but only those articles that do not have the full text.

  1.  
  2. Using your topic or a related topic, find a citation to a magazine article.  

  3.  
  4. Using the citation you found:
  5. Open "Journal Locator" under "RESEARCH—Journals" on the Library's homepage; type the "name of the magazine" from number 5 into the search box.
     
  6. Does the Madigan Library subscribe to your MAGAZINE TITLE? (Look for “In Library” in the results list.) If no select n/a for 7A and 7B below.


    7A. If yes, check the date range. Do we have your article?



    7B. Is your MAGAZINE ARTICLE available in a database in the list? (Check the date ranges given.)





  7. (See General Guidelines, number 4.)
     

Legal Research Databases

  1. 1. CLICK ON "DATABASES" UNDER THE "RESEARCH" HEADING ON THE LIBRARY’S HOMEPAGE. CLICK ON "DATABASES A TO Z." SELECT EITHER LEXIS NEXIS OR CAMPUS RESEARCH (WESTLAW).

  2. NEXT, READ THE SPECIAL INSTRUCTIONS FOR THE DATABASE YOU ARE USING BELOW:

    LexisNexis Academic:

    On the LexisNexis homepage, find the red search box. Above that box, click the drop-down arrow in the "Search by Subject or Topic" box. Under the LEGAL category, you may select any of these choices: Federal and State Cases, Landmark Cases, State Statutes and Regulations, and Federal Statutes and Regulations. Do not search in any other categories in this database.

    Campus Research (Westlaw):

    On the Westlaw homepage, find the "Browse" box and click on either the "Federal Materials" or the "State Materials" tab. In Federal Materials you may choose Federal Cases, United States Code Annotated (USCA), Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), or Federal Register. These will give you access to either federal court cases, federal statutes (USCA) or federal administrative law (CFR or Federal Register). In State Materials, select the state you want to search. Then, select only from the Cases, Statutes and Court Rules, or Regulations categories. If you decide to search in the Statutes and Court Rules for your state, the first link in that category is the only one you should use.

  3. FINALLY, FIND ANY STATE OR FEDERAL LAW (case, statutory, or administrative) THAT IS RELEVANT TO YOUR TOPIC. FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS BELOW:
  1. Type your topic or a related topic in the box provided.
     

No credit will be given for journal articles from either of these two legal databases. Your selection must be either statutory, administrative, or case law.

Paper (Print) Magazine Indexes

Follow the directions below.

Open this excerpt, which is taken from a print magazine index. Scroll to the bottom of the excerpt to see what the arrows stand for. Then, read this description that explains how a print index works. (Note: Print magazine indexes are located on the second floor of the Madigan Library in the collapsible shelving.)

  1. ,   Year Index Covers .
  2. Using a topic on the excerpt page, find a citation to an article.
     
  3. , Subdivision (if appropriate; use N/A if not)  
  4. Using the citation you chose.
     
  5. Locate the magazine title and issue date from the citation you wrote down in number 4 above.
     
  6. Open "Journal Locator" under RESEARCH—Journals on the Library Homepage.
     
  7. In the search box, type the magazine title you located in your citation from number 4 above.
     
  8. Check the screen that appears next. If you see "In Library" listed in an entry, that means we subscribe to your magazine title. Do we subscribe to your magazine?

  9. Are there any other places listed where your article is located?


    If you answered no to both questions 8 and 9 select n/a for questions 10, 11, and 12; then proceed to question 13. If you answered yes to either question 8 or 9 OR if you answered yes to both questions, answer the following questions that apply.

  10. In Library: Open this link if it appeared in the Journal Locator list. Do we subscribe to the specific issue your article is in? (Check the date ranges given.)



     
  11. If yes, is your article in paper or in microfilm? (Pick one! Click on the plus sign (+) next to the word Notes for the answer.)



    If no, go to question 12 (if you answered yes to question 9 above). If you answered no to question 9, go to question 13.

  12. Are there databases listed where your article should be located?





    Open this link and see if your article is available in full-text. Did you find your full-text article?



  13. (See General Guidelines, number 4.)

The Internet

Follow the directions below.

At the top of your screen in the "Location" box type this web address: http://www.ask.com.

  1. Search for your topic by typing it in the box provided and then by clicking "Search".
     


  2. IMPORTANT HINTS THAT A WEB SITE IS RELIABLE:
    • 1. Look for .edu, .gov, .org in the address.
    • 2. Are you able to determine if the person or group responsible for the page’s content is an expert on your topic?
    • 3. Is/are there a works cited page, footnotes, or links to research that supports the points given?


  3. (HINT: Rely on hints 2 and 3 above to answer this question. Hint 1 is not sufficient enough to establish the website as reliable.)  


Type the security word (given to you by your professor).