Get instant access to 202 ASTM standards that address sustainability or aspects of sustainability relative to buildings and construction. Includes all of the ASTM standards referenced by the latest editions or versions of the Federal Green Construction Guide for Specifiers; International Green Construction Code (IgCC); Green Globes®; LEED; and ASHRAE 189.1. Use the following path to access: Click on the database link above > Click to accept the license agreement > Click on Subscription Details > Click on ASTM Standards for Sustainability in Building Construction.
MADCAD contains the building codes and knowledge-based solutions and guidelines to meet the codes. It provides access to a comprehensive cross-referenced collection of building, electrical, mechanical, plumbing, fire, and maintenance codes from BOCA, SBCCI, ICBO, ICC, and NFPA, as well as state and local codes.
Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources (GREENR) offers authoritative content on the development of emerging green technologies and discusses issues on the environment, sustainability and more. Updated daily and includes English-language international newspapers, magazines, and referred journals, videos, podcasts and images, and searchable case studies.
ProQuest is one of the biggest article databases the library has and it covers architecture very well, including titles like The Architectural Review, Architectural Digest, and ARQ: Architectural Rsearch Quarterly.
Here are some tips for getting the most out of ProQuest:
Change the Sort results by from Date (most recent first) to Relevance
Check the box Peer reviewed to get scholarly or research articles only
When you find an article you want to use for your assignment, click the Cite link. This will provide you with a basic citation in APA format that you can use on your "References" page
The full-text of Architectural Record can be found in LexisNexis. You can use LexisNexis to search many newspapers and trade journals, but if you want to limit your search to just Architectural Record, use the Sources link.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can search across many disciplines and sources: scholarly articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other Websites.
Many articles are freely available in Google Scholar. If you are on-campus, Google Scholar will show you journals that the Madigan Library pays for by using the Get It @ Madigan Library link. If you are off-campus, you can set Google Scholar to see all of Madigan Library access to full-text articles using the PDF directions below, or use our Journal Locator to find out if Penn College students have access to the journal.
In our databases, click on "Find a copy," or "Check for availability in other Penn College resources" to see if the article you need is full-text in another database or here in the Madigan Library collection. If you are not in a database, use the link above to look up the title of the journal, magazine, or newspaper.
Can't find the article or the book you want? Use ILLiad, our interlibrary loan system, to request what you need from another library. ILLiad is incorporated into many of our databases (like ProQuest and WorldCat). Look for the button or words "Request It from Interlibrary Loan" to request a copy of the article or book from another library. This service is FREE OF CHARGE for students.