This quick-start guide pinpoints the best resources on hot research topics, ranging from abortion to drug use, accessed through 99 suggested "starting-point" titles. Topics are further accompanied by ideas for effectively using specific reference books, online databases, Internet sites, and applicable subject headings of the online public access catalog.
This book provides research assistance for 99 current and provocative issues students can use to write a brief argumentative paper.
Use the links below to browse books in these series of books designed especially for current and controversial issues. Each book within these series addresses specific issues within one broad, overarching topic.
This series explores topic-by-topic the critical challenges facing America and the world in the 21st century by providing historical background, contemporary context, and resources for further research.
The Information Plus Reference Series covers vital current issues, from abortion to national security. Each book in the series provides current and past statistics, court decisions, state and federal laws, tables and charts, results of public opinion polls, and more. Each volume averages from 112 to 200 pages, and includes indexing, complete source citations, as well as listings of names, addresses, telephone, and fax numbers for relevant organizations. Each volume will be completely revised and updated every two years.
Each volume in the Library in a Book series is carefully designed to be a first-stop resource for research on important issues. Clearly written and organized, the books give researchers an objective overview of the subject and a wealth of information in a variety of formats, as well as an extensive section on additional sources--from books to videos to Web sites.
Each book in the Reference Shelf series offers extensive exploration of a topic of importance in modern society, in a compilation of notable articles from respected publications, abstracts of 20 to 30 additional articles, and a bibliography of other sources.
These volumes present current controversial issues in a debate-style format designed to stimulate student interest and develop critical thinking skills. Each issue is thoughtfully framed with an issue summary, an issue introduction, and a postscript or challenge questions.
Some library databases can be used to help you find and choose a topic. These databases will often present articles, videos and other information all in one place under one subject. Rather than knowing a topic and then searching for information about it, these databases present the topics to you and then give you all the information about that topic.
This database focuses on broad issues, such as war, genocide, terrorism, human rights, poverty, famine, globalization, world trade, nuclear proliferation, and global warming, as well as more specific events and topics in the news that are related to these broader issues.
Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources (GREENR) offers authoritative content on the development of emerging green technologies and discusses issues on the environment, sustainability and more. Updated daily and includes English-language international newspapers, magazines, and referred journals, videos, podcasts and images, and searchable case studies.
This full text resource covers social issues and includes pro and con viewpoint articles, reference articles, full text magazines, academic journals, newspapers, primary source documents, government and organizational statistics, multimedia, and links to pertinent websites.
From the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL), this page provides detailed information about how to write research papers including discussing research papers as a genre, choosing topics, and finding sources.
Each topic page collects all the news, reference and archival information, photos, graphics, audio and video files published on topics ranging from A M Castle & Company to Zyuganov, Gennadi A. This treasure trove is available without charge on articles going back to 1981.