Skip to main content

NUR272 Psychosocial Nursing: Your Assignment

Us this guide to find information on your topic

Your Assignment

The following document contains the criteria you will use to critique your article.  Remember, you will need a copy of the entire article in order to answer the questions in this document.

If you have the credentials for an author and are not sure if they are a registered nurse, check the following:

Tips for finding evidence-based research articles written by a nurse within the last 5 years:

  • Use the Advanced Search feature
  • Enter "this study""case study", or "pilot study" (including quotation marks) in the search box
  • Check the box under Any Author is Nurse
  • Check the box under Peer Reviewed
  • Specify under Published Date a range that encompasses the last 5 years

You can also limit your search by checking a box under Evidence-Based Practice, or by choosing a specific publication type (Case StudyResearch, etc.).

Tips for finding evidence-based research articles written by a nurse within the last 5 years:

  • Use the Advanced search feature
  • Enter "this study""case study", or "pilot study" (including quotation marks) in one of the search boxes
  • Enter RN in one of the search boxes and change Anywhere to Author --- AU
  • Check the box next to Peer reviewed
  • Specify a date range that encompasses the last 5 years
  • Use the Advanced Search feature
  • Limit by Methodology (e.g., clinical case study, treatment outcome/clinical trial, etc.)

Because full-text may not be freely available in these databases, students, faculty and staff who need an article may request a copy using our interlibrary loan service, ILLiad.

  • Add nursing credentials (e.g., RN) to your search as a keyword.  In the citation, click on the +Author Information link to possibly view credentials for verification.
  • Search by affiliation [ad]:  nursing, RN, etc.
  • Use the limit options to filter citations for systematic reviewsmeta-analysesreviews of clinical trialsevidence-based medicineconsensus development conferences, and guidelines.
  • Filter results by Article type (clinical trial, randomized controlled trial, etc.)
  • Choose see additional filters, select journal categories, then choose nursing journals
  • Use Advanced search to narrow your topic further. e.g. find an article with your keywords in a Title/Abstract (All Fields) 
  • Do not use quotation marks when searching phrases...PubMed uses a smart-search technology called automatic term mapping (ATM) and using quotation marks will actually hinder your search

It may be helpful to read current news in psychiatric nursing to find topics that would be interesting to research.  The following is a list of journals that you can browse online through the publishers' Websites.  If a title is available in one of our databases, click on the database icon included with the title and publisher information.  If a title is not available in one of our databases, and you cannot access an article for free on the publisher's Website, please request a copy via interlibrary loan.

Loading

Work from Anywhere!

""The Madigan Library's databases can be accessed from wherever you are, 24 hours a day/7 days a week.

Once you click on a link to a database, you need to login with your network ID & password - the same you use to login to any campus computer.

Do we own it?

We don't own it...but we can get it for you!