Skip to main content

PHA422 Physician Assistant Internship Seminar II: Find Articles

Use this guide to find resources for your library research assignment

Find Articles Using...

Because full-text may not be freely available in these databases, students, faculty and staff who need an article may request a copy using our interlibrary loan service, ILLiad.

Many articles are freely available in Google Scholar. If you are on-campus, Google Scholar will show you journals that the Madigan Library pays for by using the Get It @ Madigan Library link. If you are off-campus, you can set Google Scholar to see all of Madigan Library access to full-text articles by using the PDF directions below, or use our Journal Locator to find out if Penn College students have access to the journal.

Not all scholarly journals are peer-reviewed

Scholarly and peer-reviewed (or refereed) journals publish articles written by experts in that field for an audience of other experts and researchers.  The difference between the two is that peer-reviewed/refereed journals review/critique the content of the articles using a panel/board of peers in that field before the article is accepted for publication.  Some of the library's databases allow you to limit your searches to scholarly articles and/or peer-reviewed articles, however...

Not everything published in a peer-reviewed journal is peer-reviewed

Things like Letters to the EditorBook ReviewsCommentaryNews, items signed by anonymous, some or all of which may be found in an issue of a peer-reviewed journal, do not go through the peer-review process.  Most of our databases have tools that allow you to refine your search to exclude this type of content from your list of results.

For a more extensive list of characteristics, as well as directions for how to tell if a journal is peer-reviewed, see the following guide:

It may be helpful to read current news about health and medicine to find ideas for topics that would be interesting to research.  The following is a list of journals that you can browse online.  If you find an article you wish to read, enter the journal title in Journal Locator to see if we have access to it.  Because full-text may not be freely available in these databases, students, faculty and staff who need an article may request a copy using our interlibrary loan service, ILLiad.

Loading

Work from Anywhere!

""The Madigan Library's databases can be accessed from wherever you are, 24 hours a day/7 days a week.

Once you click on a link to a database, you need to login with your network ID & password - the same you use to login to any campus computer.

Do we own it?

We don't own it...but we can get it for you!