Alzheimer's and DementiaAssociations, Institutes and SocietiesGeriatricsGovernment SitesLong-Term CareMinoritiesResearch CentersVideos
DictionariesDirectoriesEncyclopediasGuides and HandbooksStatisticsThesauri
This is the "Home" page of the "Aging and Gerontology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Aging and Gerontology   Tags: human services  

This research guide contains resources used to find information on aging and gerontology-related topics.
Last Updated: Oct 21, 2013 URL: http://pct.libguides.com/aging Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome!

This guide contains links to databases containing articles, scholarly online resources, and information about print and electronic materials in the Madigan Library that can be helpful to your research.

If you have questions, contact me using the information on the right-hand side of this guide.  If I'm not available, try using our Ask a Librarian service.

 

Choosing a Topic

It may be helpful to read current news in aging and gerontology to find ideas for topics that would be interesting to research.  The following is a list of journals that you can browse online.  If you find an article you wish to read, enter the journal title in Journal Locator to see if we have access to it.

Cover Art
Adultspan Journal - Association for Adult Development and Aging (AADA), a division of the American Counseling Association
NEW IN 2012! Adultspan Journal covers research, theory, and practice in the field of adult development and aging on issues that affect people in young, middle, and older adulthood.

Cover Art
Age and Ageing - British Geriatrics Society
Age and Ageing is an international journal publishing refereed original articles and commissioned reviews on geriatric medicine and gerontology. Its range includes research on ageing and clinical, epidemiological, and psychological aspects of later life.

Cover Art
Aging Health - Future Medicine Ltd.
As the mechanisms underlying disease and disability in the elderly become better understood, there is an increasing requirement for a centralized forum for commentary and analysis of the rapidly expanding wealth of information in this field. Aging Health focuses on the most important advances and highlights their relevance in the clinical setting.

Cover Art
Aging & Mental Health - Routledge
Aging & Mental Health covers the biological, psychological and social aspects of aging as they relate to mental health. In particular it encourages an integrated approach between the various biopsychosocial processes and etiological factors associated with psychological changes in the elderly. It also emphasizes the various strategies, therapies and services which may be directed at improving the mental health of the elderly. In this way the journal has a strong alliance between the theoretical, experimental and applied sciences across a range of issues affecting mental health and aging. The journal provides an original and dynamic focus to help integrate the normal and abnormal aspects of mental health in aging. In addition, theoretical issues can be set in the context of the important new practical developments in this field.

Cover Art
Archives of Gerontology and Geriatrics - Elsevier Ireland
Archives of Gerontology and Geriatrics provides a medium for the publication of papers from the fields of experimental gerontology and clinical and social geriatrics. The principal aim of the journal is to facilitate the exchange of information between specialists in these three fields of gerontological research. Experimental papers dealing with the basic mechanisms of aging at molecular, cellular, tissue or organ levels will be published.

Cover Art
Canadian Journal on Aging - Cambridge University Press
The Canadian Journal on Aging / La Revue canadienne du vieillissement (CJA) is a refereed, quarterly publication of the Canadian Association on Gerontology. It publishes manuscripts on aging with a focus on biology, health sciences, psychology, social sciences, and social policy and practice. The Journal welcomes articles reporting original research, as well as conceptual and theoretical papers that significantly advance knowledge or understanding in gerontology.

Cover Art
Dementia: The International Journal of Social Research and Practice - SAGE
Dementia is an international peer reviewed journal that acts as a major forum for social research of direct relevance to improving the quality of life and quality of care for people with dementia and their families. For the first time an international research journal is available for academics and practitioners that has as its primary paradigm the lived experience of dementia.

Cover Art
Generations: Journal of the American Society on Aging - American Society on Aging
Each of issue of ASA's quarterly journal, Generations, covers a single topic in-depth, is guest-edited by one or more recognized experts in the subject area, and includes contributions from a range of practitioners, researchers, policymakers, and elders themselves. Authoritative and comprehensive, the issues are ideal for professional and academic use as well as for enriching the library of anyone interested in aging.

Cover Art
The Gerontologist - Gerontological Society of America
The Gerontologist provides a multidisciplinary perspective on human aging through the publication of research and analysis in gerontology, including social policy, program development, and service delivery. It reflects and informs the broad community of disciplines and professions involved in understanding the aging process and providing service to older people. Articles, including those in applied research, should report concepts and research findings, with implications for policy or practice. Contributions from social and psychological sciences, biomedical and health sciences, political science and public policy, economics, education, law, and the humanities are welcome. Brief descriptions of innovative practices and programs are appropriate in the Practice Concepts section.

Cover Art
Gerontology - Karger
As the ratio of people over sixty-five continues to rise, understanding the basic mechanisms of aging and age-related diseases has become a matter of urgent necessity. 'Gerontology' responds to this need by drawing experimental contributions from diverse medical, biological, behavioural and technological disciplines to provide a primary source of high quality papers covering all aspects of aging in man and animals. Recent research on the clinical problems of aging and the practical applications of laboratory results is also included to support the fundamental goals of extending active life and enhancing its quality. Informative reviews and an open Debate Section for stimulating, speculative articles carry strong reader approval. Clinical papers discuss aetiology, pathogenesis, prevention and treatment of diseases in old age. In particular aspects of cardiology, immunology, and infectious diseases are of interest. Behaviour in old age is considered in a special section. Research papers featuring regeneration in biological systems or regenerative medical approaches are welcome and covered in an extra section. The new editors have also created a section dealing with technological devices for the elderly.

Cover Art
International Journal of Geriatric Psychiatry - International College of Geriatric Psychoneuropharmacology
The aim of the Journal is to communicate the results of original research in the causes, treatment and care of all forms of mental disorder which affect the elderly. The Journal is of interest to psychiatrists, psychologists, social scientists, nurses and others engaged in therapeutic professions, together with general neurobiological researchers. The Journal provides an international perspective on the important issue of geriatric psychiatry, and contributions are published from countries throughout the world. Topics covered include epidemiology of mental disorders in old age, clinical aetiological research, post-mortem pathological and neurochemical studies, treatment trials and evaluation of geriatric psychiatry services.

Cover Art
Journal of Aging and Health - SAGE
The Journal of Aging and Health is an interdisciplinary forum for the presentation of research findings and scholarly exchange in the area of aging and health. Manuscripts are sought that deal with social and behavioral factors related to health and aging. Disciplines represented include the behavioral and social sciences, public health, epidemiology, demography, health services research, nursing, social work, medicine, and related disciplines.

Cover Art
Journal of Aging and Physical Activity - International Coalition for Aging and Physical Activity
JAPA is a multidisciplinary journal examining the dynamic relationship between physical activity and the aging process.

Cover Art
Journal of Applied Gerontology - Southern Gerontological Society
The Journal of Applied Gerontology (JAG) features articles that focus on research applications intended to improve the quality of life of older persons or to enhance our understanding of age-related issues that will eventually lead to such outcomes. We construe application broadly and encourage contributions across a range of applications toward those foci, including interventions, methodology, policy, and theory.

Cover Art
Journal of Nutrition, Health & Aging - Springer
There is increasing scientific and clinical interest in the interactions of nutrition and health as part of the aging process. This interest is due to the important role that nutrition plays throughout the life span. This role affects the growth and development of the body during childhood, affects the risk of acute and chronic diseases, the maintenance of physiological processes and the biological process of aging. A major aim of "The Journal of Nutrition, Health & Aging" is to contribute to the improvement of knowledge regarding the relationships between nutrition and the aging process from birth to old age.

Cover Art
Journal of the American Geriatrics Society - American Geriatrics Society
The Journal of the American Geriatrics Society is a comprehensive and reliable source of monthly research and information about common diseases and disorders of older adults. The journal addresses principles of aging, approach to the older patient, geriatric syndromes, geriatric psychiatry, geriatric diseases and disorders.

Cover Art
Journal of Women & Aging - Routledge
Through a variety of disciplines and a blend of scholarly and clinical articles, the Journal of Women & Aging provides practitioners, educators, researchers, and administrators with a comprehensive guide to the unique challenges facing women in their later years.

Cover Art
Journals of Gerontology: Series A - Gerontological Society of America
The Journals of Gerontology, Series A publishes within its covers the Journal of Gerontology: Biological Sciences and the Journal of Gerontology: Medical Sciences. JOURNAL OF GERONTOLOGY: BIOLOGICAL SCIENCES publishes articles on the biological aspects of aging in areas such as biochemistry, biodemography, cellular and molecular biology, comparative and evolutionary biology, endocrinology, exercise sciences, genetics, immunology, morphology, neuroscience, nutrition, pathology, pharmacology, physiology, vertebrate and invertebrate genetics, and biological underpinnings of late life diseases. JOURNAL OF GERONTOLOGY: MEDICAL SCIENCES publishes articles representing the full range of medical sciences pertaining to aging. Appropriate areas include, but are not limited to, basic medical science, clinical epidemiology, clinical research, and health services research for professions such as medicine, dentistry, allied health sciences, and nursing. It publishes articles on research pertinent to human biology and disease. The following types of articles are published: 1) articles reporting original research; 2) rapid communications; 3) review articles; 4) guest editorials.

Cover Art
Journals of Gerontology: Series B - Gerontological Society of America
The Journals of Gerontology Series B publishes within its covers the Journal of Gerontology: Psychological Sciences and the Journal of Gerontology: Social Sciences. JOURNAL OF GERONTOLOGY: PSYCHOLOGICAL SCIENCES publishes articles on development in adulthood and old age that advance the psychological science of aging processes and outcomes. Articles in JG: PS have clear implications for theoretical or methodological innovation in the psychology of aging or contribute significantly to the empirical understanding of psychological processes and aging. Areas of interest include, but are not limited to, attitudes, clinical applications, cognition, education, emotion, health, human factors, interpersonal relations, neuropsychology, perception, personality, physiological psychology, social psychology, and sensation. Applied research with theoretical significance is welcome. Manuscripts reporting work that relates behavioral aging to neighboring disciplines are also appropriate. The Journal publishes four types of articles: (a) reports of original research, (b) brief reports of original research, (c) invited reviews of cutting-edge work (New Directions in Aging Research), and (d) theoretical or methodological contributions. See word and page limitations below. All submissions are peer-reviewed, with final decisions made by the Editor. JOURNAL OF GERONTOLOGY: SOCIAL SCIENCES publishes articles dealing with aging issues from the fields of anthropology, demography, economics, epidemiology, geography, political science, public health, social history, social work, and sociology. The Journal publishes five types of contributions: 1) articles reporting original research; 2) brief reports; 3) letters to the editor; 4) reviews; and 5) theoretical and methodological articles.

Cover Art
Psychology and Aging - American Psychological Association
Psychology and Aging publishes original articles on adult development and aging. Such original articles include reports of research that may be applied, biobehavioral, clinical, educational, experimental (laboratory, field, or naturalistic studies), methodological, or psychosocial.

Cover Art
Research on Aging - SAGE
Research on Aging is an interdisciplinary journal designed to reflect the expanding role of research in the field of social gerontology. Research on Aging exists to provide for publication of research in the broad range of disciplines concerned with aging. Scholars from the disciplines of sociology, geriatrics, history, psychology, anthropology, public health, economics, political science, criminal justice, and social work are encouraged to contribute articles to the journal. Emphasis will be on materials of broad scope and cross-disciplinary interest. Assessment of the current state of knowledge is as important as provision of an outlet for new knowledge, so critical and review articles are welcomed. Systematic attention to particular topics will also be featured.

Librarian for Sciences

Profile Image
Pat Scott
Contact Info
(570) 320-2400, x7840
LIB139 Madigan Library
Send Email

Profile

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip