AtlasesBiographiesDictionariesEncyclopediasGuides and Handbooks
Animations and DrawingsAssociations, Institutes and SocietiesCalculators and ConvertersGovernment SitesHistoryNews FeedsNutritionPodcastsTeaching Resources
This is the "Home" page of the "Anatomy & Physiology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Anatomy & Physiology  

This research guide contains resources used to find information on anatomy and physiology.
Last Updated: Sep 6, 2013 URL: http://pct.libguides.com/anatomy Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome!

This guide contains links to databases containing articles, scholarly online resources, and information about print and electronic materials in the Madigan Library that can be helpful to your research.

If you have questions, contact me using the information on the right-hand side of this guide.  If I'm not available, try using our Ask a Librarian service.

 

Choosing a Topic

It may be helpful to read current news in anatomy and physiology to find ideas for topics that would be interesting to research.  The following is a list of journals that you can browse online AND that we also have available in the library.  If you find an article you wish to read, enter the journal title in Journal Locator to see what type of access we have to it.

Cover Art
American Journal of Dentistry - Mosher & Linder, Inc.
The American Journal of Dentistry provides peer-reviewed scientific articles with clinical significance for the general dental practitioner.

Cover Art
American Journal of Health Sciences - The Clute Institute
The American Journal of Health Sciences (AJHS) is an internationally recognized, peer-reviewed, scholarly academic journal devoted to the dissemination of health science practice, research, and education knowledge. AJHS publishes only original or applied research and educational articles after undergoing a double blind peer review process.

Cover Art
The American Journal of Medicine - Association of Professors of Medicine
The American Journal of Medicine - "The Green Journal" - publishes original clinical research of interest to physicians in internal medicine, both in academia and community-based practice. The American Journal of Medicine is the official journal of The Association of Professors of Medicine, a prestigious group comprised of chairs of departments of internal medicine at more than 125 medical schools across the country. Each issue carries useful reviews as well as seminal articles of immediate interest to the practicing physician, including peer-reviewed, original scientific studies that have direct clinical significance, and position papers on health care issues, medical education, and public policy.

Cover Art
American Journal of Nursing - Lippincott Williams & Wilkins
The American Journal of Nursing is the oldest and most honored broad-based nursing journal in the world. Peer reviewed and evidence-based, it is considered the profession's premier journal. AJN's mission is to promote excellence in nursing and health care through the dissemination of evidence-based, peer-reviewed clinical information and original research, discussion of relevant and controversial professional issues, adherence to the standards of journalistic integrity and excellence, and promotion of nursing perspectives to the health care community and the public.

Cover Art
American Journal of Occupational Therapy - The American Occupational Therapy Association, Inc.
The American Journal of Occupational Therapy (AJOT) is an official publication of the American Occupational Therapy Association, Inc. and is published 7 times per year (includes 1 online supplement). This peer reviewed journal focuses on research, practice, and health care issues in the field of occupational therapy.

Cover Art
American Journal of Preventive Medicine - American College of Preventive Medicine and the Association for Prevention Teaching and Research
The American Journal of Preventive Medicine is the official journal of the American College of Preventive Medicine and the Association for Prevention Teaching and Research. It publishes articles in the areas of prevention research, teaching, practice and policy. Original research is published on interventions aimed at the prevention of chronic and acute disease and the promotion of individual and community health. Of particular emphasis are papers that address the primary and secondary prevention of important clinical, behavioral and public health issues such as injury and violence, infectious disease, women's health, smoking, sedentary behaviors and physical activity, nutrition, diabetes, obesity, and alcohol and drug abuse. Papers also address educational initiatives aimed at improving the ability of health professionals to provide effective clinical prevention and public health services. Papers on health services research pertinent to prevention and public health are also published. The journal also publishes official policy statements from the two co-sponsoring organizations, review articles, media reviews, and editorials. Finally, the journal periodically publishes supplements and special theme issues devoted to areas of current interest to the prevention community.

Cover Art
American Scientist - Sigma Xi, The Scientific Research Society
American Scientist is an illustrated bimonthly magazine about science and technology. Each issue is filled with feature articles written by prominent scientists and engineers, reviewing important work in fields that range from molecular biology to computer engineering. The articles are carefully edited and accompanied by illustrations that are developed to enhance the reader's understanding and enjoyment.

Cover Art
Annals of Emergency Medicine - American College of Emergency Physicians
Annals of Emergency Medicine, the official journal of the American College of Emergency Physicians, is an international, peer-reviewed journal dedicated to improving the quality of care by publishing the highest quality science for emergency medicine and related medical specialties. Annals publishes original research, clinical reports, opinion, and educational information related to the practice, teaching, and research of emergency medicine. In addition to general emergency medicine topics, Annals regularly publishes articles on out-of-hospital emergency medical services, pediatric emergency medicine, injury and disease prevention, health policy and ethics, disaster management, toxicology, and related topics.

Cover Art
Applied Nursing Research - Elsevier
Applied Nursing Research presents original, peer-reviewed research findings clearly and directly for clinical applications in all nursing specialties. Regular features include "Ask the Experts," research briefs, clinical methods, book reviews, news and announcements, and an editorial section. Applied Nursing Research covers such areas as pain management, patient education, discharge planning, nursing diagnosis, job stress in nursing, nursing influence on length of hospital stay, and nurse/physician collaboration.

Cover Art
Applied Radiology - Anderson Publishing, Ltd.
Applied Radiology is a board-reviewed clinical journal for radiology professionals, which reports on diagnostic imaging procedures utilizing MRI, CT, PET, Ultrasound, X-Ray, Mammography, and Nuclear Medicine.

Cover Art
Critical Care Nurse - American Association of Critical-Care Nurses
The mission of the journal CRITICAL CARE NURSE is to provide critical care and acute care nurses with accurate, relevant, and useful information concerning the bedside care of critically and acutely ill patients and to keep critical and acute care nurses informed on issues that affect their practice. By reading any issue of CRITICAL CARE NURSE, critical care and acute care nurses should benefit through increased knowledge concerning critical and acute care nursing practice and be able to use this knowledge to care for patients and their families in a more effective manner.

Cover Art
Dental Update - George Warman Publications (UK) Ltd.
Dental Update publishes postgraduate articles covering new and established clinical treatment. All articles are peer reviewed giving the subscriber an unbiased and professional platform for continuing professional development and education in the UK.

Cover Art
Emergency Medicine - BMJ Publishing Group Ltd and the College of Emergency Medicine
Emergency Medicine Journal (EMJ) is an international peer review journal covering pre-hospital and hospital emergency medicine, and critical care. The journal publishes original research, reviews and evidence based articles on resuscitation, major trauma, minor injuries, acute cardiology, acute paediatrics, toxicology, toxinology, disasters, medical imaging, audit, teaching and reflections on clinical practice. The journal is aimed at doctors, nurses, paramedics and ambulance staff.

Cover Art
Evidence-based Nursing - RCN Publishing Company Limited and the BMJ Publishing Group
Published quarterly, the purpose of Evidence-Based Nursing is to select from the health related literature research studies and reviews that report important advances relevant to best nursing practice. The clinical relevance and rigour of the studies is assessed to identify research that is relevant to nursing. A commentary on chosen articles identifies the key findings and implications for clinical practice.

Cover Art
Heart and Lung: Journal of Acute and Critical Care - Mosby
Heart & Lung: The Journal of Acute and Critical Care, the official publication of The American Association of Heart Failure Nurses, presents original, peer-reviewed articles on techniques, advances, investigations, and observations related to the care of patients with acute and critical illness and patients with chronic cardiac or pulmonary disorders.

Cover Art
JAMA: Journal of the American Medical Association - American Medical Association
JAMA, published continuously since 1883, is an international peer-reviewed general medical journal published 48 times per year. It's key objective is to promote the science and art of medicine and the betterment of the public health.

Cover Art
Journal of Allied Health - Association of Schools of Allied Health Professions
The Journal of Allied Health is the official publication of the Association of Schools of Allied Health Professions (ASAHP). The Journal is the only interdisciplinary allied health periodical, publishing scholarly works related to research and development, feature articles, research abstracts and book reviews.

Cover Art
Journal of Clinical Periodontology - European Federation of Periodontology
This Journal's aim is to convey scientific progress in periodontology to those concerned with application of this knowledge for the benefit of the dental health of the community. It addresses itself primarily to clinicians, general practitioners, periodontists, as well as to teachers and administrators involved in the organisation of prevention and treatment of periodontal disease. The Journal publishes original contributions of high scientific merit in the field of physiology and pathology of the periodontium, diagnosis, epidemiology and prevention and therapy of periodontal disease, review articles by experts on new developments in basic and applied periodontal science, advances in periodontal technique and instrumentation, and case reports which illustrate important new information.

Cover Art
Journal of the American Dietetic Association - American Dietetic Association
The Journal of the American Dietetic Association is the premier source for the practice and science of food, nutrition, and dietetics. The monthly, peer-reviewed journal presents original articles prepared by scholars and practitioners and is the most widely read professional publication in the field. The Journal focuses on advancing professional knowledge across the range of research and practice issues such as: nutritional science, medical nutrition therapy, public health nutrition, food science and biotechnology, foodservice systems, leadership and management, and dietetics education.

Cover Art
The Journal of Emergency Medicine - Elsevier
The Journal of Emergency Medicine is an international, peer-reviewed publication featuring original contributions of interest to both the academic and practicing emergency physician. JEM, published eight times per year, contains research papers and clinical studies as well as articles focusing on the training of emergency physicians and on the practice of emergency medicine.

Cover Art
Journal of Evidence-based Dental Practice - Mosby
The Journal of Evidence-Based Dental Practice presents timely original articles, as well as reviews of articles on the results and outcomes of clinical procedures and treatment. The Journal advocates the use or rejection of a procedure based on solid, clinical evidence found in literature. The Journal's dynamic operating principles are explicitness in process and objectives, publication of the highest-quality reviews and original articles, and an emphasis on objectivity.

Cover Art
Journal of Pedicatric Nursing - Society of Pediatric Nurses and Pediatric Endocrinology Nursing Society
The Journal of Pediatric Nursing: Nursing Care of Children and Families (JPN) is interested in publishing clinical, theory, programmatic and research papers on a variety of topics. JPN is the official journal of the Society of Pediatric Nurses and Pediatric Endocrinology Nursing Society. Papers are published covering the life span from birth to adolescence. Subject matter pertinent to the nursing care needs of healthy and ill infants, children and adolescents addressing their biopsychosocial needs is disseminated in the Journal.

Cover Art
The New England Journal of Medicine - Massachusetts Medical Society
The New England Journal of Medicine is dedicated to bringing physicians the best research and key information at the intersection of biomedical science and clinical practice, and to presenting the information in an understandable and clinically useful format. A career companion for physicians, NEJM keeps practicing physicians informed on developments that are important to their patients and keeps them connected to both clinical science and the values of being a good physician.

Cover Art
The Nurse Practitioner: The American Journal of Primary Healthcare - Lippincott Williams & Wilkins
The Nurse Practitioner is the leading monthly source for clinical, practical, cutting-edge information for advanced practice nurses and other primary care clinicians. Each issue presents peer-reviewed articles that range from clinical topics and research to political and practice issues. In addition, The Nurse Practitioner provides regular features, columns, continuing education, staff development education, and more.

Cover Art
OTJR: Occupation, Participation, and Health - American Occupational Therapy Foundation, Inc.
OTJR: Occupation, Participation and Health, published quarterly by the American Occupational Therapy Foundation, Inc., offers original research articles of professional interest to the practicing occupational therapist with a focus on occupation and fostering interdisciplinary research. The Journal also features research briefs and letters to the editor.

Cover Art
Physical and Occupational Therapy in Geriatrics - Informa Healthcare
This comprehensive journal is recognized for its useful balance of research and clinical practice articles. For more than twenty five years Physical & Occupational Therapy in Geriatrics has functioned as a forum for allied health professionals as well as others with a focus on rehabilitation of the geriatric client to share information, clinical experience, research, and therapeutic practice. Each issue focuses on current practice and emerging issues in the care of the older client, including rehabilitation and long-term care in institutional and community settings, and innovative programming; the entire range of problems experienced by the elderly; and the current skills needed for working with older clients. Contributors consider the current methods of managing older people at home, in assisted living, alone or with families. Contributors address policy issues that affect the styles of living of older people, and discuss projects relating to research and teaching as they may affect practice in the field of gerontology.

Cover Art
Physical and Occupational Therapy in Pediatrics - Informa Healthcare
The highly acclaimed Physical & Occupational Therapy in Pediatrics (POTP) delivers vital information to all therapists involved in developmental and physical rehabilitation of infants, children and youth. Designed for PT and OT pediatric professionals in hospitals, rehabilitation centers, schools, and health and human services agencies, the journal provides the latest clinical research and practical applications that no professional will want to miss. Current clinical advances and research findings are important for all therapists, and each issue of this journal brings therapists the latest discoveries in therapy as related to their work with children. With an emphasis on implications and applications for therapy practice, the journal includes case reports, and reviews/critiques of new measures.

Cover Art
Prehospital Emergency Care - National Association of EMS Physicians®, the National Association of State EMS Officers (NASEMSO), the National Association of EMS Educators (NAEMSE) and the National Association of EMTs (NAEMT)
This peer-reviewed quarterly journal's mission is to foster and disseminate EMS literature of the highest quality. The journal features original research, NAEMSP Position Papers, Case Conferences, Collective Reviews and Editorials.

Cover Art
Prehospital and Disaster Medicine - World Association for Disaster and Emergency Medicine
Prehospital and Disaster Medicine (PDM) is an official publication of the World Association for Disaster and Emergency Medicine. Currently in its 25th volume, Prehospital and Disaster Medicine is one of the leading scientific journals focusing on prehospital, emergency and disaster health. It is the only peer-reviewed international journal in its field, published bi-monthly, providing a readable, usable worldwide source of research and analysis.

Cover Art
Radiologic Technology - American Society of Radiologic Technologists
Radiologic Technology is an official scholarly journal of the American Society of Radiologic Technologists. It features peer-reviewed research articles, continuing education articles and a variety of columns and departments of interest to members of the radiologic science profession.

Cover Art
Science News - Society for Science & the Public
Science News has been published since 1922. This award-winning biweekly news magazine covers important and emerging research in all fields of science. It publishes concise, accurate, timely articles that appeal to both general readers and scientists, reaching nearly 130,000 subscribers and more than one million readers.

Cover Art
Scientific American - Scientific American, a Division of Nature America, Inc.
Founded in 1845, Scientific American is the leading source and authority for science, technology information and policy for a general audience.

Cover Art
The Surgical Technologist - Association of Surgical Technologists
The Association of Surgical Technologists publishes the premier journal for practitioners, The Surgical Technologist. The monthly issue features at least one continuing education article, as well as information covering state assemblies, legislative activities and certification. Significant member updates and historical information also appear.

Librarian for Sciences

Profile Image
Pat Scott
Contact Info
(570) 320-2400, x7840
LIB139 Madigan Library
Send Email

Assisted by...

Profile Image
Helen Yoas
Contact Info
Madigan Library
LIB137
570-320-2400x7920
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip