AtlasesBiographiesDictionariesEncyclopediasGuides and HandbooksStatistics
AnimationsAssociations, Institutes and SocietiesGeneticsMicrobiologyNews FeedsPodcastsTeaching Resources
This is the "Home" page of the "Biology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Biology  

This research guide contains resources used to find information on biology-related topics.
Last Updated: Dec 4, 2013 URL: http://pct.libguides.com/biology Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome!

This guide contains links to databases containing articles, scholarly online resources, and information about print and electronic materials in the Madigan Library that can be helpful to your research.

If you have questions, contact me using the information on the right-hand side of this guide.  If I'm not available, try using our Ask a Librarian service.

 

Choosing a Topic

It may be helpful to read current news in biology to find ideas for topics that would be interesting to research.  The following is a list of journals that you can browse online.  If you find an article you wish to read, enter the journal title in Journal Locator to see if we have access to it.

Cover Art
American Journal of Human Genetics - American Society of Human Genetics
AJHG publishes cutting-edge manuscripts about an array of topics important to the human genetics community.

Cover Art
The American Midland Naturalist - University of Notre Dame
The American Midland Naturalist was founded in 1909 by Reverend Julius A. Nieuwland, C.S.C., and has been published since by the University of Notre Dame. It is a refereed, broad-spectrum journal publishing basic research in diverse disciplines in biology and varied taxa.

Cover Art
The American Naturalist - The American Society of Naturalists
Since its inception in 1867, The American Naturalist has maintained its position as one of the world's most renowned, peer-reviewed publications in ecology, evolution, and population and integrative biology research. While addressing topics in community and ecosystem dynamics, evolution of sex and mating systems, organismal adaptation, and genetic aspects of evolution, AmNat emphasizes sophisticated methodologies and innovative theoretical syntheses--all in an effort to advance the knowledge of organic evolution and other broad biological principles.

Cover Art
Biological Journal of the Linnean Society - The Linnean Society of London
The Biological Journal of the Linnean Society is a direct descendant of the oldest biological journal in the world, which published the epoch-making papers on evolution by Darwin and Wallace. The Journal specializes in evolution in the broadest sense and covers all taxonomic groups in all five kingdoms. It covers the whole range of techniques used to study evolution, including whole-organism, molecular, theoretical and practical.

Cover Art
BioScience - American Institute of Biological Sciences
Since 1964, BioScience has presented readers with timely and authoritative overviews of current research in biology, accompanied by essays and discussion sections on education, public policy, history, and the conceptual underpinnings of the biological sciences. A peer-reviewed, heavily cited, monthly journal with content written and edited for accessibility to researchers, educators, and students alike, BioScience includes articles about research findings and advances in biology education, professionally written features about the latest frontiers in biology, discussions of professional issues, book reviews, news about the American Institute of Biological Sciences, a policy column (Washington Watch), and an education column (Eye on Education). Roundtables, forums, and viewpoint articles offer the perspectives of opinion leaders and invite further commentary.

Cover Art
BMC Biology - BioMed Central Ltd.
BMC Biology is the flagship biology journal of the BMC series, now incorporating Journal of Biology, the premier biology journal of BioMed Central, and publishes peer-reviewed research and methodology articles of special importance and broad interest in any area of biology and biomedical sciences, as well as full reviews, opinion pieces, commentary and Q&As on topics of special or topical interest.

Cover Art
Cell - Elsevier
Cell is a peer-reviewed scientific journal which covers research in any area of experimental biology that is deemed significant outside its field. Areas covered include molecular biology, genetics, structural biology, biochemistry, cell biology, development, neurobiology and immunology in animals, plants, microbes, and viruses.

Cover Art
Developmental Biology - Elsevier
Developmental Biology publishes original research on mechanisms of development, differentiation, and growth in animals and plants at the molecular, cellular, and genetic levels. Areas of particular emphasis include transcriptional control mechanisms, embryonic patterning, cell-cell interactions, growth factors and signal transduction, and regulatory hierarchies.

Cover Art
Journal of Cell Biology - The Rockefeller University Press
The Journal of Cell Biology is an international peer-reviewed journal owned by The Rockefeller University and published by The Rockefeller University Press.

Cover Art
Life Sciences - Elsevier
Life Sciences is an international journal publishing articles that emphasize the molecular, cellular, and functional basis of therapy. All articles are rigorously reviewed.

Cover Art
Natural History - Natural History Magazine, Inc.
Natural History’s mission is to promote understanding and appreciation of the world around us. Our authors are an assortment of archaeologists, biologists, astronomers, anthropologists, and top science writers who delve into our origins, explore our future, offer provocative new explanations of why we act the way we do, explaining our relationships with the rest of the living world, from the tiniest microorganisms to the largest creatures that ever walked the land or swam the seas. No detail is too small to be overlooked, no question too big to be asked.

Cover Art
Nature - Nature Publishing Group
Nature is a weekly international journal publishing the finest peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology on the basis of its originality, importance, interdisciplinary interest, timeliness, accessibility, elegance and surprising conclusions. Nature also provides rapid, authoritative, insightful and arresting news and interpretation of topical and coming trends affecting science, scientists and the wider public.

Cover Art
Trends in Biotechnology - Elsevier
Trends in Biotechnology is unique in drawing together a wide readership of scientists and engineers from the many disciplines of the applied biosciences. As in the successful biotechnology companies and leading academic research groups, Trends in Biotechnology reflects the view that biotechnology is the integrated use of many biological technologies - from plant genetics to biomedical engineering. This integration is essential for the effective translation of novel research into application. The journal addresses what is new, significant and practicable.

Librarian for Sciences

Profile Image
Pat Scott
Contact Info
(570) 320-2400, x7840
LIB139 Madigan Library
Send Email

Assisted by...

Profile Image
Helen Yoas
Contact Info
Madigan Library
LIB137
570-320-2400x7920
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip