Subject-specific dictionaries are reference books that contain an alphabetical list of words with information about them that is specific to that particular subject and not necessarily generic like you would find in an average, everyday dictionary.
Claiming not to advocate the approach, the dictionary reflects the increasing tendency over the past two decades for both psychologists and neurologists to associate psychological processes such as perception, memory, and attention with underlying the brain system and processes. Contributors in both fields, almost exclusively from the English-speaking world, define the medical terms that have found their way to common use in psychology. They have undergraduates in mind as their primary readers, but acknowledge that graduates and active research scientists may find helpful information as well. The articles, most signed, are highly cross-referenced, mitigating the lack of an index. Annotation c. Book News, Inc., Portland, OR
The Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology provides a comprehensive survey of current biochemistry and molecular biology. Over the last few years, the language of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology has expanded enormously to the extent that few scientists can expect to be familiar with all aspects of it. This is partly due to the Genome projects and the successive -omics projects which have provided comprehensive information about genes, the functions of gene products, and cellular processes. At the same time, terms from other subject areas appear increasingly in the biochemical literature. The popular Dictionary has been comprehensively reviewed and updated to include many important new concepts and words. The entries are short but informative, providing up-to-date information on a broad range of topics, including definitions for selected terms from Bioinformatics, Biophysics, Cell Biology, Chemistry, Genetics, Immunology, Mathematics, Microbiology, Pharmacology, Systems Biology, and Toxicology. There are over 21,000 main entries, which give details of biochemical substances and the processes in which they are involved, define methods and concepts in molecular biology, and give definitions of biochemical symbols and abbreviations. It points out pitfalls where terms are often confused. It explains the precise syntax of biochemical terms, such as Greek letters and other formatting, which are lost when searching the Internet. In addition the dictionary is illustrated with over 900 chemical structures. The Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology will serve as an invaluable reference for biochemists and molecular biologists seeking information outside their own fields, and for those wishing to revisit fundamental principles.
Arranged in A-to-Z order, the more than 17,000 entries provide basic information about fundamental, physiochemical laws, chemical compounds, constants, and formulae. The Dictionary also describes the essential features of some 2,000 enzymes and proteins, the reactions they catalyze and the functions they perform. These entries also include filenames to facilitate the location of entries in databases of sequences and definitions of 950 abbreviations and symbols. Designed for students, teachers, researchers and other professionals in any area of the biomedical sciences, the Dictionary has been fully updated and revised to incorporate new information discovered since the original edition was published in 1997.