Anatomy & Physiology: Encyclopedias

The encyclopedia includes 670 articles written by recognized specialists, including ten Nobel laureates. Articles are about ten pages long and include the author's name and affiliation, an outline, a glossary of unusual terms, a defining statement or paragraph, an in- depth development of the subject, cross-references and a bibliography. Together they review current knowledge in the field, covering specialized subjects such as biochemistry, cytology, genetics, and immunobiology. Topics range from specific diseases, behavioral phenomena, and physiological processes to aspects of nutrition, health care technology, and human evolution. Volume nine contains a complete table of contents and a subject index for the entire work. The volumes are intended for a wide audience of scientists, researchers, undergraduate and graduate students, and general readers with some science background. Annotation c. by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR

"This encyclopedia contains signed articles with bibliographies written by an international group of distinguished academics, research scientists, and food-industry professionals. The alphabetical entries cover the scientific, political, and social aspects of nutrition. Among the subjects included are individual nutrients and foods, anatomy and physiology, nutritional therapy for diseases and conditions, and subjects such as nutritional management of refugees, nutrition education, religious customs, and folklore. Appendixes with charts of weights and measures, nutritional allowances, and nutritional content of foods appear in each volume. In-depth coverage of the scientific, political, and social aspects of nutrition set this work apart from other reference sources in the field."--"Outstanding reference sources 2000", American Libraries, May 2000. Comp. by the Reference Sources Committee, RUSA, ALA.

The concept of food as medicine has become more mainstream since the 1996 edition. A registered nurse who is also a health columnist and Therapeutic Touch and Reiki master, offers a balanced perspective on the nutrients and micronutrients that foods and supplements offer. After introducing issues often debated, she provides an A-Z directory on about 900 vitamins, minerals, and supplements. Appendices include standard and vegetarian food guides, a drug-nutrient interactions chart, the American Dietetic Association's position on "Food and Nutrition Misinformation," a national health agenda, and regulations relating to supplements and food labeling. Annotation ©2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR

The Encyclopedia of Hormones is a comprehensive reference work on hormones in vertebrate, invertebrate, and plant systems. It covers all aspects of hormones: their chemical structure and biological synthesis; the major physiological systems in which they operate; the cellular and subcellular site of their action; the nature of the signal transduction mechanisms used in the hormone's action; and the biological consequences of an excess or deficiency of the hormone.

Entries cover all aspects of the brain, from anatomy, function, and development to diseases and disorders. Discusses the functions and elements of memory, how it works, how it breaks down, and various diseases and disorders that affect it.

The Encyclopedia of the Human Brain places all information in a single source and contains clearly written summaries on what is known of the human brain. Covering anatomy, physiology, neuropsychology, clinical neurology, neuropharmacology, evolutionary biology, genetics, and behavioral science, this four-volume encyclopedia contains over 200 peer reviewed signed articles from experts around the world.

The Encyclopedia of the Neurological Sciences explores all areas of the discipline in its 1000+ focused entries on a wide variety of topics in neurology, neurosurgery, psychiatry and other related areas of neuroscience. The concise entries are all written at a level of comprehension not previously seen in existing literature by contributing authors representing an eclectic and diverse view of all aspects of neurology from many viewpoints and disciplines to provide a complete overview of the field.

This outstanding reference remains the definitive scientific resource with topics ranging across all scientific disciplines including animal science, anatomy, astronomy, atmospheric science, chemistry, chemical engineering, civil engineering, computer science, earth science, energy sources, information science, life science, materials, mathematics, mechanical engineering, medicine, mining, physics, physiology, planetary science, plant science, power technology, space science, structural engineering, and a host of other subjects.