Subject-specific dictionaries are reference books that contain an alphabetical list of words with information about them that is specific to that particular subject and not necessarily generic like you would find in an average, everyday dictionary.
The National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI) created the Talking Glossary of Genetic Terms to help people without scientific backgrounds understand the terms and concepts used in genetic research. Simply click on the term of interest to open a page with a wealth of information, including the term's pronunciation, audio information, images and additional links to related terms.
Allen Collins began this glossary project that seeks to provide basic information related to Paleobiology during May and June of 1995. The terms in this glossary are important to practicing biologists and paleontologists in various fields. Browse alphabetically by term or by volume (phylogenetics, geology, biochemistry, cell biology, ecology, life history, zoology, botany, and paleogeography).
Visual Dictionary, to learn by way of image with thematic, clear and precise pages, with concise and rigorous texts, bilingual, the InfoVisual will become a academic resource. Different from an encyclopedia or from a traditional online dictionaries, thesauri and glossaries because the images replace the words. Includes volumes on vegetal biology, biology animal, and human body.
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
The over 10,000 entries in this dictionary provide clear and concise definitions for anyone working in life sciences today. It incorporates related terms from neuroscience, genetics, microbiology, immunology, pathology, and physiology. Includes new terms that relate to the recent elucidation of underlying mechanisms of cell cycle regulation, apoptosis, relationship between mitochondria and disease, metabolic control, and stem cell biology. Provides multiple definitions, notes on word origins, and other useful features.
Includes: Pronunciation guide for every term; acronyms, cross-references, and abbreviations; appendices with conversion tables; listings of scientific, technical, and mathematical notation; tables of relevant data; and more.
The Dictionary of Bioinformatics and Computational Biology provides a vital reference for important terms, offering students and researchers a convenient summary of the core knowledge of the field. This reference work can be searched and abstracts of articles can be viewed for free via Wiley Online Library. Please use the interlibrary loan request form to order an article from another library.
This major revision of A Dictionary of Biology, including over 1,500 new entries, is the most up-to-date biology dictionary available. Including 4,000 clear and concise entries, it covers all the commonly encountered terms and concepts in biology, biophysics, and biochemistry, as well as terms from medicine and paleontology taking into account the recent advances in these fields. Conforming to the recommendations of the Institute of Biology, both in its definition of terms and system of classification, this superb dictionary offers authoritative coverage of current areas of study such as molecular biology, genetics (including genetic engineering), and biotechnology and new areas such as food technology, geomicrobiology, and glycobiology. It is the perfect reference source for anyone interested in this dynamic field.
The Encyclopedic Dictionary of Genetics, Genomics, and Proteomics includes a vast range of terms and concepts dealing with biochemistry, cell and developmental biology, immunology, hereditary diseases, and molecular evolution, as well as advances in genomics and proteomics.