From Annenberg Media: DNA is an interactive Web site where students can learn about DNA and its structure and function, the scientific history of its discovery and its development into a powerful tool in biology, technology, and medicine, and about the Human Genome Project, genetic engineering, and some of the implications and ethical issues surrounding genetic technology. Students will be introduced to genetics (the study of genes and heredity) and genetic terminology, and will learn about the history of the study of genes and genetic inheritance. They will learn the basic laws of heredity, and employ tools for the study of genetic inheritance. Several interactive activities will expand upon this knowledge and test students' understanding of the concepts. Through an interactive timeline, students will explore the history of DNA, and will learn about the Human Genome Project and its purpose, the differences between DNA, RNA, and proteins, and about genetic engineering. Interactive activities will illuminate more details about DNA transcription, RNA translation, and genetic engineering. Students will also examine some of the implications of and ethical questions raised by genetic technology such as cloning, gene therapy, and genetically modified food.
The Dolan DNA Learning Center (DNALC) is the world's first science center devoted entirely to genetics education and is an operating unit of Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, an important center for molecular genetics research. The DNALC extends the Laboratory's traditional research and postgraduate education mission to the college, precollege, and public levels. Included in their site is the Gene Almanac, which has sections on websites, features, news, and resources like the Biology Animation Library.
Gene Gateway, originally designed as a Web companion to the popular Human Genome Landmarks poster, is a collection of guides and tutorials designed to help students and other novice users get started with some of the resources that make these data available to the public. This Web site introduces various Internet tools that anyone can use to investigate genetic disorders, chromosomes, genome maps, genes, sequence data, genetic variants, and molecular structures.
The Human Genome Project (HGP) was one of the great feats of exploration in history - an inward voyage of discovery rather than an outward exploration of the planet or the cosmos; an international research effort to sequence and map all of the genes - together known as the genome - of members of our species, Homo sapiens. Completed in April 2003, the HGP gave us the ability to, for the first time, to read nature's complete genetic blueprint for building a human being.
The National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI) led the National Institutes of Health's (NIH) contribution to the International Human Genome Project, which had as its primary goal the sequencing of the human genome. This project was successfully completed in April 2003. Now, the NHGRI's mission has expanded to encompass a broad range of studies aimed at understanding the structure and function of the human genome and its role in health and disease. To that end NHGRI supports the development of resources and technology that will accelerate genome research and its application to human health. A critical part of the NHGRI mission continues to be the study of the ethical, legal and social implications (ELSI) of genome research. NHGRI also supports the training of investigators and the dissemination of genome information to the public and to health professionals.
Welcome to Nervenet.org and The Informatics Center for Mouse Neurogenetics. This server hosts the Mouse Brain Library, an expanding collection of high-resolution histological images, atlases, MRIs, and databases on brain structure of more than 120 different lines of mice. Nervenet also includes several useful genetics and gene mapping databases to download (SNP databases, Map Manager databases, and the Portable Dictionary of the Mouse Genome). The publications section includes revised, expanded, and annotated papers, tutorials, and reviews on neurogenetics, gene mapping, complex trait analysis, stereology, and the control of neuron number.
Established in 2001 by Professor Edward R. B. McCabe, MD at UCLA, the project is an interdisciplinary and multi-institutional collaboration dedicated to the documentation of preservation of the history of human genetics…With the creation of the OHHG intelligent Archive, we are designing a resource that will allow researchers now and in the future to gain new insights into history of human genetics as it developed in the second half of the twentieth century. At the core of our archive are oral histories with clinicians, scientists, theorists, ethicists, and legal experts that have been transcribed, annotated, and supplemented in an on-line searchable database accessible to researchers interested in the development of the field of human genetics.
Funded by the National Science Foundation and created by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, this Web site presents a series of experiments demonstrating the power of RNAi in the model organism, C. elegans. The curriculum begins with the observation of mutant phenotypes and basic worm 'husbandry,' progresses to simple methods to induce RNAi and to explore the mechanism of RNAi using PCR, and culminates with experimental methods to allow students to silence essentially any gene in the C. elegans genome.