Inside the Cell is a science education booklet that explores the interior design of cells and vividly describes the processes that take place within its organelles and structures. Each chapter includes a few review questions. Chapters are available online and included are a glossary and online extras, such as animations, movies, games, etc.
Produced by Baker & Simon Associates in association with Oregon Public Broadcasting and the American Society for Microbiology in 1999, this PBS documentary provides an overview of the microbial world and offers a clear and exciting picture of the field of microbiology. Meet scientists across the globe working to investigate the microbial world in diverse locations from a termite's stomach to a hospital operating room to an African village — and even outer space.
Produced by Oregon Public Broadcasting in association with Baker & Simon Associates and the American Society for Microbiology in 1999, this series helps students understand microbial functions and how microorganisms affect everything from medicine to environmental issues to global politics. Dynamic visuals — such as animations and scanning electron micrographs — and case studies including DNA testing and dramatic battles against dangerous viruses illustrate the work and effects of microorganisms. Students gain an enhanced appreciation of the field of microbiology as they meet scientists carrying on their investigations in the lab and in the field. Unseen Life on Earth is designed for general microbiology courses for majors and allied health students. It is also useful as a resource for life science courses in college and high school.
The MicrobeLibrary (ML) is a peer-reviewed, digital media center for undergraduate microbiology sponsored by the American Society for Microbiology, a professional, life science society with more than 38,000 members in the United States and abroad. The scientific scope of the library covers the microbiological sciences as outlined in the ASM curriculum guidelines updated by the ASM Task Force on Curriculum Guidelines for Undergraduate Microbiology Education in 2011. The guidelines span six overarching concepts — evolution, structure and function, pathways, information flow, systems, and impact of microorganisms. All content is peer reviewed for scientific accuracy, instructional value and visual and/or audio clarity. The primary target audience is microbiology educators, although some sections may be appropriate for students. The library features four sections:
◾Gallery (formerly the Atlas Collection) is a collection of images, videos, and animations that can be used to enhance lecture or lab presentations. Individual items include brief legends that describe the items and how they were obtained. A collection of items around a central theme (e.g., Gram stain and MacConkey agar) includes a title for the collection and a title and short description for each item (e.g., figure title and legend).
◾Visual Media Briefs (formerly the Visual Collection) consist of high-quality, short communications with digital images, animations, and videos about the microbial world. Briefs include introduction, methods, discussion, and reference sections. Briefs describe the item and how it was obtained (e.g., cultured and isolated), its significance and/or use, magnification, and references. Visual Media Briefs are similar to short research communications (or briefs) in scientific journals.
◾Laboratory Protocols are information briefs about standard laboratory tests and include the procedural steps as well as the purpose, theory, history, safety considerations, tips and comments, and references.
◾Critical Thinking Question Bank is a collection of multiple-choice questions that go beyond rote memory and regurgitation of content to requiring critical thought. The level of critical thinking is designated minimally at level three (application) in Bloom’s Taxonomy of Cognitive Levels. Designed especially for interactive learning using audience response systems, the questions are of value for pre- and post-tests or traditional exams, and may be used in the classroom or laboratory or online in blended- and distance-learning experiences.