Subject-specific dictionaries are reference books that contain an alphabetical list of words with information about them that is specific to that particular subject and not necessarily generic like you would find in an average, everyday dictionary.
This glossary of geologic terms is based on the glossary in Earth: An Introduction to Geologic Change, by S. Judson and S.M. Richardson (Englewood Cliffs, NJ, Prentice Hall, 1995). Where possible, definitions conform generally, and in some cases specifically, to definitions given in Robert L Bates and Julia A Jackson (editors), Glossary of Geology, 3rd ed., American Geological Institute, Alexandria, Virginia, 1987.
This glossary is part of the Volcano World, a collaborative higher education, K-12, and public outreach project of the North Dakota and Oregon Space Grant Consortia administered by the Department of Geosciences at Oregon State University.
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
The rapid growth of gemological sciences and mineralogy requires a comprehensive dictionary for gemologists, mineralogists, geologists, jewel dealers, industry and hobbyists. The second edition of this dictionary contains about 25,000 entries - about 9,000 more than the first edition. The comprehensive definitions are now completed by more than 1,500 charts, diagrams and figures. The author offers a one-stop reference to any matter dealing with gems and gemology.
Derived from the content of the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, 6th ed., each title provides thousands of definitions of words and phrases encountered in a specific discipline. All include: Pronunciation guide for every term; acronyms, cross-references, and abbreviations; appendices with conversion tables; listings of scientific, technical, and mathematical notation; tables of relevant data; and more. A convenient, quick-find format.
Written in clear, simple language understandable to the general reader, yet in-depth enough for scientists, educators, and advanced students, The McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Earth Science, Second Edition: Has been extensively revised, with 11,000 entries that fully define the language of the earth sciences; Includes synonyms, acronyms, and abbreviations; Provides pronunciations for all terms; Covers such topics as geology, geochemistry, geography, geodesy, geophysics, hydrology, oceanography, meteorology, and climatology; Includes an appendix containing tables of useful data and information.