Subject-specific dictionaries are reference books that contain an alphabetical list of words with information about them that is specific to that particular subject and not necessarily generic like you would find in an average, everyday dictionary.
This physics dictionary provides useful terms in exploring the subject, where sometimes a common word can have a very specific interpretation. Learning the proper terms can help you focus your time on learning the more complex aspects of physics.
HyperPhysics is an exploration environment for concepts in physics which employs concept maps and other linking strategies to facilitate smooth navigation. For the most part, it is laid out in small segments or "cards", true to its original development in HyperCard. The entire environment is interconnected with thousands of links, reminiscent of a neural network. The bottom bar of each card contains links to major concept maps for divisions of physics, plus a "go back" feature to allow you to retrace the path of an exploration. The side bar contains a link to the extensive Index, which itself is composed of active links. That sidebar also contains links to relevant concept maps. The rationale for such concept maps is to provide a visual survey of conceptually connected material, and it is hoped that they will provide some answers to the question "where do I go from here?". Whether you need further explanation of concepts which underly the current card content, or are seeking applications which go beyond it, the concept map may help you find the desired information.
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
Containing more than 3,800 entries, including extended feature entries and biographies of key scientists, this authoritative A-Z covers all the commonly encountered terms and concepts in physics. This edition has been fully revised and updated and includes recommended web links for many entries as well as a web linked appendix.
Featuring over 9,500 entries that define the language of physics, this title includes synonyms, acronyms, and abbreviations; and, provides pronunciations for these terms. It covers such topics as atomic, nuclear, particle, plasma, and solid-state physics; and fluid, quantum statistical, and general mechanics.