The Cavendish was opened in 1874 as the Laboratory of Physics at the University of Cambridge, one of the first teaching laboratories in England. Research in the Cavendish has led to a number of the most important discoveries in physics. Take a virtual tour of the museum, check out current research, and view biographies of key figures of the Cavendish.
AIP's Center for History of Physics works to preserve and make known the historical record of modern physics and allied sciences. Through documentation, archival collections and educational initiatives, the Center ensures that the heritage of modern physics is safeguarded and its story accurately told.
The Einstein Archives Online Website provides the first online access to Albert Einstein’s scientific and non-scientific manuscripts held by the Albert Einstein Archives at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem and to an extensive Archival Database, constituting the material record of one of the most influential intellects in the modern era.
The Niels Bohr Library & Archives and the Center for History of Physics are divisions of the American Institute of Physics that share a common mission: to help preserve and make known the history of modern physics and allied sciences. The Library & Archives serves both as a repository and a clearinghouse for information in the history of physics, astronomy, geophysics and allied fields. In-house holdings include an outstanding collection of textbooks, monographs, biographies, and related publications, dating mostly from ca. 1850–1950; over 30,000 photographs and other images; ca. 1,000 oral histories with many of the outstanding figures in the fields that we cover; and archival records of AIP and its Member Societies along with other archival records and personal papers of a select number of scientists. All of these materials are indexed online. As a clearinghouse, we maintain and update the International Catalog of Sources for the History of Physics and Allied Sciences (ICOS for short), which contains descriptions of over 9,000 archival and manuscript collections, oral history interviews, and other primary sources in our fields at ca. 900 repositories worldwide. We add about 200 new records to ICOS each year. And the Physics History Finding Aids Website (PHFAWS) contains cross-indexed finding aids for archival and manuscript collections at archives throughout the U.S. and the U.K.