Research Guides: Automated Manufacturing & Machining: Find Books & Videos

Why use books?

In today's online world, do books still have a part to play? Absolutely!

Books can provide you with reliable information you can count on and include in your works cited/reference page. They often provide:

Background information
In-depth coverage of topic
Chapters that can break a topic down into smaller, more easily understood pieces
Pointers to more information on the same topic

Find Books & Videos Using...

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
The Madigan Library Discovery catalog includes the largest network of content and services. Includes articles, books, eBooks, videos, and digital items.

eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text of eBooks on a variety of topics.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Full-text eBooks on a variety of topics. Users must create an account to download materials.

HathiTrust Digital Library
Digital preservation repository that provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.
The National Academies Press
The National Academies Press (NAP) was created by the National Academies to publish the reports issued by the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council, all operating under a charter granted by the Congress of the United States. The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health, capturing the most authoritative views on important issues in science and health policy. We offer more than 4,000 titles in PDF format. All of these PDFs can be downloaded for free by the chapter or the entire book.

Google Books
Search book content for previews or free full-text. If you need more content, search WorldCat and expand your search to Libraries Worldwide, then Request It from Interlibrary Loan.

The Library of Congress classification for machining and machine tool technology is TJ. More specifically, TJ is broken down as follows:

TJ1-1570 Mechanical engineering and machinery
TJ163-.13-163.25 Power resources
TJ163.26-163.5 Energy conservation
TJ170-179 Mechanics applied to machinery. Dynamics
TJ181-210 Mechanical movements
TJ210.2-211.47 Mechanical devices and figures. Automata. Ingenious mechanisms. Robots (General)
TJ212-225 Control engineering systems. Automatic machinery (General)
TJ227-240 Machine design and drawing
TJ255-265 Heat engines
TJ266-267.5 Turbines. Turbomachines (General)
TJ268-740 Steam engineering
TJ603-695 Locomotives
TJ751-805 Miscellaneous motors and engines Including gas, gasoline, diesel engines
TJ807-830 Renewable energy sources
TJ836-927 Hydraulic machinery
TJ940-940.5 Vacuum technology
TJ950-1030 Pneumatic machinery
TJ1040-1119 Machinery exclusive of prime movers
TJ1125-1345 Machine shops and machine shop practice
- TJ1180-1313 Machine tools and machining
TJ1350-1418 Hoisting and conveying machinery
TJ1425-1475 Lifting and pressing machinery
TJ1480-1496 Agricultural machinery. Farm machinery
TJ1501-1519 Sewing machines

Browsing in any of these areas may lead to the discovery of valuable material in addition to the specific items listed in this guide.

The Library of Congress classification for manufactures is TS. More specifically, TS is broken down as follows:

TS1-2301 Manufactures
TS155-194 Production management. Operations management
TS195-198.8 Packaging
TS200-770 Metal manufactures. Metalworking

Browsing in any of these areas may lead to the discovery of valuable material in addition to the specific items listed in this guide.

HD Economic History and Conditions

HD6331 Labor and machinery. Technological unemployment
HD8039 .M2 Labor. Work. Working class--Machinists. Machinery industry
HD9680-9714 Mechanical industries
- HD9700 Machine shops
- HD9703 Machine tools. Tool and die industry
- HD9705 Machinery
- HD9705.5 .A-Z Special products, A-Z (bearings, compressors, earthmoving machinery, fan machinery, fertilizer equipment, gears, hydraulic machinery, internal combustion engines, materials handling equipment, motors, parts, pneumatic machinery, pumps, separating machinery, stepping motors, turbines, ultrasonic equipment, variable speed drives, water jet cutting equipment)

HF Commerce

HF5439 .M18 Business--Selling--Machine tools
HF5439 .M2 Business--Selling--Machinery
HF65686 .M2 Business--Accounting. Bookeeping--Machine shops

TN Mining Engineering. Metallurgy

TN600-799 Metallurgy

TS Manufactures

TS200-770 Metal manufactures. Metalworking