Research Guides: Polymer Engineering Technology: Websites

Websites

Biopolymer Database
The Biopolymer Database offers comprehensive material data about biopolymers, their applications and a multitude of related aspects. Access to this system is free of charge. This database origins from a research project between M-Base and the University of Applied Sciences and Arts Hanover, supported by the Agency for Renewable Resources (FNR).
How Products Are Made
How Products Are Made explains and details the manufacturing process of a wide variety of products, from daily household items to complicated electronic equipment and heavy machinery. The site provides step by step descriptions of the assembly and the manufacturing process (complemented with illustrations and diagrams) Each product also has related information such as the background, how the item works, who invented the product, raw materials that were used, product applications, by-products that are generated, possible future developments, quality control procedures, etc.
OSHA Occupational Chemical Database
OSHA maintains this chemical database as a convenient reference for the occupational safety and health community. It compiles information from several government agencies and organizations. Information available in the report includes: Physical properties, exposure guidelines, NIOSH Pocket Guide, and emergency response information, including the DOT Emergency Response Guide. This database originally was developed by OSHA in cooperation with EPA.
Resins
DuPont is a leader in thermoplastics, elastomers, finished parts and biopolymers, combining groundbreaking material science with global access. At DuPont Performance Polymers, we are working with customers to make things better. From products and processes that work better to innovations that help make business and society better.

British Plastics Federation
Established in 1933 the British Plastics Federation is the most powerful voice in the UK plastic industry with over 400 members across the plastics industry supply chain, including polymer producers and suppliers, additive manufacturers, recyclers, services providers, end users, plastics processors and machinery manufacturers. The BPF promotes the interests of its Members principally through its four Market Sector Groups and its many common interest Business Groups. The BPF Central Expert Committees address industry wide concerns including Environment, Fire, Product Safety and Industrial Health & Safety.
Society for the Advancement of Material and Process Engineering
The Society for the Advancement of Material and Process Engineering (SAMPE®), an international professional member society, provides information on new materials and processing technology either via technical forums, journal publications, or books in which professionals in this field can exchange ideas and air their views. As the only technical society encompassing all fields of endeavor in materials and processes, SAMPE provides a unique and valuable forum for scientists, engineers, and academicians.
Society of Plastics Engineers
The objective of the Society is to promote the scientific and engineering knowledge relating to plastics.
Plastics Industry Association
Organization that supports the entire plastics supply chain.

Career Services at Penn College
No matter what your major, college is a process of career development. Career Services at Penn College is here to provide services tailored to your career development needs from your first day on campus. Whether you're still seeking that perfect major, getting ready to interview for your dream job, or applying for graduate school, we are here to support your success throughout your time at Penn College and beyond.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Use this to find career information on duties, education and training, pay, and outlook for hundreds of occupations.