Subject-specific dictionaries are reference books that contain an alphabetical list of words with information about them that is specific to that particular subject and not necessarily generic like you would find in an average, everyday dictionary.
This is a completely open and editable dictionary which utilizes a WiKi concept, so that everybody can make a contribution. Everyone is free to add and update content, so now you have a chance to add to the 60,000 terms already existing in our free dictionary. If you discover a term that you think should be in our dictionary, you can easily add it.
Bird On! is pleased to provide this authoritative dictionary of birdwatching terminology. It includes the full text of the original book and is provided with the kind permission of the author (Peter Weaver) and publisher (A & T D Poyser Ltd).
Created by Rolf R. Koford, John B. Dunning, Jr., Christine A. Ribic, and Deborah M. Finch, this glossary provides standard definitions for many of the terms used in avian conservation biology. We compiled these definitions to assist communication among researchers, managers, and others involved in the Neotropical Migratory Bird Conservation Program, also known as Partners in Flight. We used existing glossaries and recent literature to prepare this glossary. The cited sources were not necessarily the first ones to use the terms. Many definitions were taken verbatim from the cited source material. Others were modified slightly to clarify the meaning. Definitions that were modified to a greater extent are indicated as being adapted from the originals. Terms that have been used in more that one way by different authors are listed with numbered alternative definitions if the definitions differ substantially.
This is a collection of terminology, entomological and arthropodal in general, some of which you will find used on the other pages of this site, but I have included a lot more words than I have been able to use in the pages of this site, I hope you find them useful. It does not contain any animal names, insect or otherwise, and is not a checklist of any sort.
This glossary is based on a text intended to aid indexers in the production of nomenclatural entries for the Zoological Record, the index to world zoological literature published by Thomson Reuters. It covers terminology commonly encountered within publications dealing with the systematics and nomenclature of animals. This version of the glossary has recently been extended to include additional terms listed in the glossary of the new Fourth Edition of the International Code of Zoological Nomenclature published in September 1999, and Article numbers given within definitions refer to this Code.
Welcome to our Glossary. You now have the power to search or browse all the key terms within Invitation to Oceanography, Fifth Edition in three different ways: by term, alphabetically, or by chapter number.
Allen Collins began this glossary project that seeks to provide basic information related to Paleobiology during May and June of 1995. The terms in this glossary are important to practicing biologists and paleontologists in various fields. Browse alphabetically by term or by volume (phylogenetics, geology, biochemistry, cell biology, ecology, life history, zoology, botany, and paleogeography).
Visual Dictionary, to learn by way of image with thematic, clear and precise pages, with concise and rigorous texts, bilingual, the InfoVisual will become a academic resource. Different from an encyclopedia or from a traditional online dictionaries, thesauri and glossaries because the images replace the words. Includes volumes on vegetal biology, biology animal, and human body.
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
A collection of terms, names and phrases used in entomology that incorporates an estimated 43000 definitions. It covers insect anatomy, behaviour, biology, histology, molecular biology, morphology, pest management, taxonomy and systematics. It provides the origin, etymology, part of speech and definition of each term and phrase.