AmphibiaWeb is an online system enabling anyone with a Web browser to search and retrieve information relating to amphibian biology and conservation. This site was inspired by the global declines of amphibians, the study of which has been hindered by the lack of multidisplinary studies and a lack of coordination in monitoring, in field studies, and in lab studies. We hope AmphibiaWeb will encourage a shared vision for the study of global amphibian declines and the conservation of remaining amphibians. We have the ambitious goal of establishing a "home page" for every species of amphibian in the world. In order to accomplish this goal we encourage volunteers and specialists to help us prepare species accounts. If you have special interest in a particular species, please contact us. AmphibiaWeb already offers ready access to taxonomic information for recognized species of amphibian in the world. Species accounts are being added regularly by specialists and volunteers and they contain species descriptions, life history information, conservation status, literature references, photos and range maps for many species. Some species have complete accounts; others as yet have only photographs or maps. But all species can be queried for taxonomic, distributional and exact specimen data. AmphibiaWeb currently (Sep 5, 2008) contains 6,393 species. We have 2,437 species accounts for 1,902 species, 1,166 distribution maps, 4,143 literature references, 168 sound files, and 12,748 photos of 2,372 different amphibian species.
Antbase now provides for the first time access to all the ant species of the world, one of the ecologically most important groups of animals worldwide. Antbase is a collaborative effort between scientists from around the world, aiming at providing the best possible access to the wealth of information on ants, to fulfill the conservation needs of the International Union for the Study of Social Insects (IUSSI), and the Species Survival Commission of the World Conservation Union (IUCN).
This is a searchable database of verified butterfly and moth records in the United States and Mexico. This site includes dynamic distribution maps, photographs, species accounts, and species checklists for each county in the U.S. and each state in Mexico. Click on Taxonomic Groups to browse by families and subfamilies, Map Search to view checklists of records for specific regions, Species Search for scientific or common names, and Image Gallery to browse thumbnails by family.
FishBase is a global information system with all you ever wanted to know about fishes. FishBase is a relational database with information to cater to different professionals such as research scientists, fisheries managers, zoologists and many more. FishBase on the web contains practically all fish species known to science.
HerpNET is a collaborative effort by natural history museums to establish a global network of herpetological collections data, funded by the National Science Foundation (NSF No. 0132303) and a GBIF DIGIT grant. Currently, 60 institutions are participating in the HerpNET community, with an open-ended invitation to institutions who would like to join. The mission of HerpNET is to bring the accumulated knowledge from more than four million specimens in world-wide museum collections into currency for science and society by creating a distributed database with access from various portals.
The Entomology Index of Internet Resources is an attempt to organize the thousands of informational resources available to entomologists. Without a site such as this, entomologists could waste a lot of time looking for good entomological information on the internet without much success. The original compilation was done in the early 1990's by L.B. Bjostad of Colorado State University and John VanDyk of Iowa State University. View by category or search by keyword.