BBT415 Integrated Building Operation & Energy Management: Find Statistics

The National Association of Home Builders has compiled some of the most popular regional and local tables, including permit data, employment information, and HOI listings. Search the resources compiled below by title, detail, or date. Look for "Building Permits - State and Metro Areas" to find the number of building permits issued in Pennsylvania metropolitan areas, including Williamsport.

From the U.S. Census Bureau, This page provides national and regional data on the number of new housing units authorized by building permits; authorized, but not started; started; under construction; and completed. The data are for new, privately-owned housing units, excluding "HUD-code" manufactured (mobile) homes. The data are from the Building Permits Survey, and from the Survey of Construction (SOC), which is partially funded by the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). Local building permit data may be found on the Building Permits Survey webpage.

From the U.S. Census Bureau, The Value of Construction Put in Place Survey provides monthly estimates of the total dollar value of construction work done in the U.S. The United States Code, Title 13, authorizes this program. The survey covers construction work done each month on new structures or improvements to existing structures for private and public sectors. Data estimates include the cost of labor and materials, cost of architectural and engineering work, overhead costs, interest and taxes paid during construction, and contractor’s profits. Data collection and estimation activities begin on the first day after the reference month and continue for about three weeks. Reported data and estimates are for activity taking place during the previous calendar month. The survey has been conducted monthly since 1964.

The National Association of Home Builders produces in-depth economic analyses of the home building industry based on private and government data. Their economics group surveys builders, home buyers, and renters to gain insight into the issues and trends driving the industry.

From the Center for Workforce Information & Analysis, Pennsylvania Department of Labor & Industry, this site includes highlights of workforce, unemployment, employment and unemployment compensation statistics statewide and by county, "Fast Facts" snapshots of labor market data from across the state, latest news releases concerning statewide and county data detailing Pennsylvania's employment situation and jobs numbers, and research reports, booklets, fliers, and other fact sheets that detail industry, occupation and economic data from around Pennsylvania.

From the Center for Workforce Information & Analysis, Pennsylvania Department of Labor & Industry, this system offers a full range of features and services to assist labor market analysts, job seekers, and employers in their workforce development needs. Includes labor market analysis, income and wages, labor market facts, area profiles, occupation profiles, industry profiles, and historical data analysis (job data, supply and demand, employment and wages, economic indicators, and demographics).

From the U.S. Energy Information Administration, this site includes an overview by state, including data on the economy, prices, reserves & supplies, distribution & marketing, consumption & expenditures, and the environment. Also included is the State Energy Data System (SEDS), which is the source of the U.S. Energy Information Administration’s (EIA) comprehensive state energy statistics. EIA’s goal in maintaining SEDS is to create historical time series of energy production, consumption, prices, and expenditures by state that are defined as consistently as possible over time and across sectors for analysis and forecasting purposes.

From the U.S. Fire Administration, this site includes reports, fire estimates, death rate trends, etc.

From the National Fire Protection Association, this site includes the U.S. fire problem: home, residential, non-residential, and structure fires; quick fire statistics pulled from Fire Analysis and Research Division reports; and statistical reports showing overall fire statistics, major causes, appliances & equipment, economic impacts, fire protection systems, occupancies, regional/community patterns, and non-fire incidents.

Injury Facts is designed as a tool for everyone - the data on this site provides reliable information to help you communicate the trends of the past, and the ones we see right now, to anticipate the future and change it for the better on injury facts in the workplace and beyond. Beginning in 2018, Injury Facts will an online-only resource. It includes basic overview to detailed interactive charts and tables.

Interactive, online database that provides fatal and nonfatal injury, violent death, and cost of injury data. Researchers, the media, public health professionals, and the public can use WISQARS™ data to learn more about the public health and economic burden associated with unintentional and violence-related injury in the United States.

Covers inflation and prices, employment, unemployment, pay and benefits, spending and time use, productivity, and workplace injuries.

The National Association of Home Builders provides Remodeling Market Index information from additions to repairs. See the resources on future expectations or learn more about the maintenance levels of existing homes. Search the resources compiled below by title, detail, or date.