Research Guides: Electrical Technology: Find Articles

Find Articles Using...

Career & Technical Education Database This link opens in a new window
Research on virtually any technical topic, including: computing science; healthcare; building trades; auto mechanics; sales and retail; accounting; graphic design; and photography.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Covers human impact to the environment. Subjects include environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments, climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling.
Gale In Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window
Offers authoritative content on emerging green technologies and issues on the environment and sustainability. Includes international newspapers, magazines, referred journals, videos, podcasts, images, and searchable case studies.
Materials Science Database This link opens in a new window
Publications involving aircraft engineering, automotive engineering, bonding, brazing, welding, bioengineering and biotechnology, biomaterials and biomedical engineering, casting and molding, ceramics, electrochemical properties, and chemical engineering.
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, trade publications, market research reports, and key periodicals such as the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, and Economist.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of peer-reviewed, scholarly journals in social sciences, business, humanities, science, medicine, dentistry, radiology, nursing, emergency medicine, biology, materials science, engineering, and sports medicine.

List of Databases
A-Z list of the library's databases. Filter the list by subject as well as by database type (articles, books, standards, etc.)

ASCE Library
From the American Society of Civil Engineers, the ASCE Library is a comprehensive online tool for locating articles of interest across all disciplines of civil engineering. It includes journal articles as well as papers from proceedings.
NTRL
As one of the world's largest repositories of U.S. Government-sponsored research results, the new National Technical Reports Library (NTRL Public Access) offers fast and easy access to more than 3 million titles, with links to over 700,000 corresponding digitized full-text technical reports. Public access does require free registration.
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect hosts over 3,800 journals and more than 37,000 books—over 15 million peer-reviewed publications (and growing) from Elsevier, their imprints and their society partners.
SpringerLink
Offers free access to search tables of content, abstracts, and alerting services of a variety of journals and books published by Springer.
Wiley Online Library
Access one of the world’s most extensive multidisciplinary collections of online resources, covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.
List of Databases
A-Z list of the library's databases. Filter the list by subject as well as by database type (articles, books, standards, etc.)

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search across many disciplines and sources for scholarly articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other reputable websites.

What are "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles?

Written by experts in that field
Content has been critically evaluated by other experts
Contains bibliography/reference list of other sources used

For a more extensive list of characteristics, see the following guide:

Periodicals Research Guide

Cabling Installation & Maintenance by PennWell Corporation
Cabling Installation & Maintenance provides practical and technical business intelligence to professionals who specify, design, install, and manage structured cabling systems.
Consulting - Specifying Engineer by CFE Media
Each monthly issue of Consulting-Specifying Engineer provides readers with in-depth information on issues ranging from sustainability to safety; from design and specification to lifecycle performance; from strip malls to pharmaceutical plants. Included are sections on trends, new products, power, fire/life safety, electrical/lighting, building types, codes and standards, HVAC, and education and training.
EC&M: Electrical Construction & Maintenance by Penton
Provides expertise and insights into the latest electrical systems products, solutions and technologies being used in commercial, industrial and institutional building applications.
EDN by UBM Electronics
EDN.com is a comprehensive information source for the EOEM (electronics original equipment manufacturer) segment, providing in-depth technical information for electronics design engineers and news and strategic business insight for executives.
Electrical Apparatus by Barks Publications, Inc.
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the fields of electromechanical and electronic application and maintenance--the "electrical aftermarket" that serves as the electrical industry's "field laboratory" and is its second-largest market (after OEMs).
Electrical Business by Annex Business Media
Electrical Business is a national business publication serving the Canadian electrical market through print and digital media.
Electrical Contractor
Electrical Contractor magazine serves the field of electrical construction, including inside, line work, lighting, maintenance, control, electrical work, voice/data systems, security, fire and life safety, fiber optics, home and building automation systems, integrated building systems applications and others applicable to the field. The magazine is part of the National Electrical Contractors Association, but serves the entire electrical construction industry. The 85,000+ readers include business owners, partners, presidents, engineers, estimators, purchasing agents, project managers, supervisors, foremen, electricians and others. Electrical Contractor magazine is the Official Publication of the National Electrical Contractors Association (NECA).
Electrical Line Magazine
Electrical Line Magazine is a Canadian bi-monthly electrical trade publication with a qualified national circulation in excess of 20,000, directed to the decision makers at all buying levels, from purchasing agent to end user. Electrical Line reaches the resource industries (sawmills, pulp mills, mining, petroleum), building trades (industrial, commercial, and residential electrical contractors), consulting engineers, architects, manufacturers, federal, provincial and municipal governments. It has been designed as an economical and cost effective vehicle targeted to reach those responsible for the purchase of electrical equipment, materials, supplies, and services.
Electrical Marketing by Penton
- This link opens in a new window
Electrical Marketing is a newsletter for the electrical industry professional.
Electrical Wholesaling by Penton
- This link opens in a new window
Electrical Wholesaling magazine is the electrical industry's leading monthly publication for distributors of electrical supplies. Each month, the magazine brings nearly 22,000 readers the information they need to run their businesses more profitably and sell more electrical supplies.
Electricity Today T&D Magazine
Electricity Today is a leading electrical transmission and distribution magazine distributed subscribe free of charge to North American T&D electric utility engineering, construction and maintenance personnel, and high voltage T&D consulting engineers.
Building Performance Journal by BPA Connections
Provides insight into the building performance and weatherization communities.
IAEI Magazine by International Association of Electrical Inspectors
IAEI Magazine provides educational forums, updates on electrical codes and reports of innovative research to facilitate the development and enforcement of practices designed to drive efficiency and compliance with the highest standards of product development and safety—for the public as well as for electrical personnel. IAEI Magazine was established in 1928 as the official organ of International Association of Electrical Inspectors. The magazine reaches authorities with power of product specification, approval and acceptance.
Insights Magazine by Independent Electrical Contractors
Insights Magazine is where electrical and systems contractors go to discover the latest developments and best business practices in the electrical industry.
Plant Engineering by CFE Media
Plant Engineering provides strategic manufacturing knowledge to help the plant manager operate his business efficiently, effectively and safely. Information on automation, electrical systems, mechanical operations and maintenance gives the plant manager and plant engineer the knowledge he needs to do his job in a modern manufacturing plant. Included are sections on trends, new products, maintenance, electrical, mechanical, energy management, plant automation, and safety.
tED Magazine by The Electrical Distributor
ED Magazine is the voice for the top distributors in North America. From national chains to successful independents, tED is read by the top distribution companies in the industry. While targeted to the distributor salesperson, tED is also read by key executives. The publication is known for addressing the tough issues within the channel. If you have a message or product to get in front of the electrical channel, tED’s readers are the top performers and decision makers you need to reach.
Wiring Matters by The Institution of Engineering and Technology
A magazine for electrical installation contractors from the IET.

Building Services Engineering Research and Technology by SAGE
Building Services Engineering Research & Technology is one of the foremost, international peer reviewed journals that publishes the highest quality original research relevant to today’s Built Environment. Published in conjunction with CIBSE, this impressive journal reports on the latest research providing you with an invaluable guide to recent developments in the field. BSER&T covers the full range of energy and environmental services in buildings, including: heating, ventilation, air conditioning, building, electrical services, building acoustics, water supply and sanitation, and vertical transport.
Building Simulation by Springer
Building Simulation: An International Journal publishes original, high quality, peer-reviewed research papers and review articles dealing with modeling and simulation of buildings including their systems. The goal is to promote the field of building science and technology to such a level that modeling will eventually be used in every aspect of building construction as a routine instead of an exception. Of particular interest are papers that reflect recent developments and applications of modeling tools and their impact on advances of building science and technology. Paper submission is solicited for the following five fixed sections: A: Building thermal, lighting, and acoustics modeling B: Building systems and components C: Indoor/outdoor airflow and air quality D: Architecture and human behavior E: Advances in modeling and simulation tools The above scope will develop as the field of building simulation evolves. Authors are encouraged to contribute papers from different angles of interest, making Building Simulation: An International Journal a dynamic channel and valuable resource for new scientific findings and engineering applications.
LEDs Magazine by PennWell Corporation
LEDs Magazine is the leading information resource for the global LED community, serving tens of thousands of readers that specify, design and manufacture LED-based products for a wide range of end-use applications, particularly solid-state lighting.
LEUKOS: The Journal of the Illuminating Engineering Society of North America by Illuminating Engineering Society
Leukos , the journal of the Illuminating Engineering Society (IES), is an international venue for technical developments, scientific discoveries, and experimental results of current interest or lasting importance in the applied use of light. Topics of interest include visual and non-visual responses to optical radiation, all aspects of the technologies employed in the generation, control, measurement, and computation of light and color, the lighting design of interior and exterior environments, and crosscutting topics that include daylighting, energy management, economics, and sustainability.
Lighting Research & Technology by SAGE
Publishes the original research on the subject of light and lighting including articles ranging from the human response to light to all aspects of the science of light generation, light control and measurement. It also covers all aspects of lighting design including equipment for both interior and exterior environments, as well as daylighting, energy efficiency and sustainability.
Residential Lighting by Scranton Gillette Communications, Inc.
Residential Lighting has been serving the lighting showroom market for more than 20 years — the only consistent monthly print publication in the industry and the only audited magazine for residential lighting, with a circulation of more than 10,000. It was founded in December 1992 by Vance Publishing Corp. and acquired in April 2009 by Scranton Gillette Communications.

IEEE/ASME Transactions on Mechatronics by IEEE
Published jointly by the IEEE and ASME, this journal encompasses all practical aspects of the theory and methods of mechatronics, the synergetic integration of mechanical engineering with electronic and intelligent computer control in the design and manufacture of industrial products and processes. The ten technical areas included are: Modeling and Design, Manufacturing, Motion Control, System Integration, Vibration and Noise Control, Actuators and Sensors, Micro Devices and Opto-Electronics Systems, Intelligent Control, Automotive Systems, Robotics, and Other Applications.
International Journal of Advanced Mechatronic Systems by Inderscience Publishers
Research and experiments in the synergistic integration of mechanical engineering, electronic control and systems concepts have contributed significantly to the design of systems, devices, processes and products. IJAMechS provides concise and quantitative expressions of the theoretical and practical developments in mechatronic systems and is set up to reflect the relevant generic studies.
International Journal of Mechatronics and Automation by Inderscience Publishers
IJMA is a fully refereed international journal that presents state-of-the-art research in the area of mechatronics and industrial automation. The intention of IJMA is to provide an international forum to report latest developments from interdisciplinary theoretical studies, computational algorithm development and practical applications. It particularly welcomes those emerging methodologies and techniques which bridge theoretical studies and applications and have significant potential for real-world applications.
International Journal of Mechatronics and Manufacturing Systems by Inderscience Publishers
IJMMS covers the broad field of mechatronics (computers, sensors, machines, controls) related to manufacturing processes and systems, highlighting R&D in the modern engineering of advanced mechatronics and manufacturing technology. It addresses all manufacturing equipment, processes and systems, including machining systems, metal forming, joining, lasers and electrically enhanced processes, additive manufacturing processes, hybrid and microfabrication processes. IJMMS also reports work on broad industrial applications, e.g. discrete product manufacturing systems with applications in automotive, aerospace, machine tool, computer, biomedical and other industries.
International Journal of Mechatronics, Electrical and Computer Technology by Universal Scientific Organization
International Journal of Mechatronics, Electrical and Computer Technology (IJMEC) is a free, open access and peer-reviewed Quarterly Journal, which is related to Austrian E-Journals of Universal Scientific Organization and its objective is to discuss through papers, new theoretical developments, techniques and demonstrate the scientific results in the field of Mechatronics, Robotic, Electrical, Computer technology and their application to real world problems. The Journal welcomes the manuscripts (previously unpublished) which meet the criteria of Significance and Scientific for all Original papers, Review papers and Short Communication papers, from the research centers, universities and industries. The papers will be published after acceptance by Universal Scientific Organization.
International Journal of Optomechatronics by Taylor & Francis
International Journal of Optomechatronics is a multidisciplinary forum for the publication of the latest research results in the integrated field of optomechatronics which combines optical, mechanical, and electrical engineering. Peer-reviewed articles focus on the interaction between those fields, but also on the analysis and design of these integrated systems. The journal covers various aspects of the fundamental engineering principles of integrating optics/photonics and mechatronics. The aspects include the interaction phenomena between optics and mechatronics, the nature of the integration combining the functions of optical, mechanical, and electronic elements, the functional behavior of the integrated devices and systems, optomechatronic interfaces and embedded characteristics, and the application of optomechatronics to create innovative functionalities for new and advanced systems.
Mechatronics: The Science of Intelligent Machines by International Federation of Automatic Control
Mechatronics is the synergistic combination of precision mechanical engineering, electronic control and systems thinking in the design of products and manufacturing processes. It relates to the design of systems, devices and products aimed at achieving an optimal balance between basic mechanical structure and its overall control. The purpose of this journal is to provide rapid publication of topical papers featuring practical developments in mechatronics. It will cover a wide range of application areas including consumer product design, instrumentation, manufacturing methods, computer integration and process and device control, and will attract a readership from across the industrial and academic research spectrum. Particular importance will be attached to aspects of innovation in mechatronics design philosophy which illustrate the benefits obtainable by an a priori integration of functionality with embedded microprocessor control. A major item will be the design of machines, devices and systems possessing a degree of computer based intelligence. The journal seeks to publish research progress in this field with an emphasis on the applied rather than the theoretical. It will also serve the dual role of bringing greater recognition to this important area of engineering.

Advanced Energy Materials by Wiley
Established in 2011, Advanced Energy Materials is an international, interdisciplinary, English-language forum of original peer-reviewed contributions on materials used in all forms of energy harvesting, conversion and storage.
Advances in Building Energy Research by Taylor & Francis
- This link opens in a new window
Advances in Building Energy Research ( ABER ) aims to provide expert and authoritative reviews and analyses of the most important developments across the rapidly expanding fields of energy efficiency and environmental performance of buildings. It also provides a unique forum by bringing together invited contributions from the foremost international experts, to examine new technologies and methodologies with the latest research on systems, simulations and standards. Published bi-annually and peer-reviewed, ABER delivers an invaluable resource for architects, building engineers, environmental engineers, industry professionals, students, teachers and researchers in building science.
Energy and Buildings: An International Journal Devoted to Investigations of Energy Use and Efficiency in Buildings by Elsevier
Energy and Buildings is an international journal publishing articles with explicit links to energy use in buildings. The aim is to present new research results, and new proven practice aimed at reducing energy needs of a building and improving indoor environment quality.
Energy Efficiency by Springer
- This link opens in a new window
The journal Energy Efficiency covers wide-ranging aspects of energy efficiency in the residential, tertiary, industrial and transport sectors. Coverage includes a number of different topics and disciplines including energy efficiency policies at local, regional, national and international levels; long term impact of energy efficiency; technologies to improve energy efficiency; consumer behavior and the dynamics of consumption; socio-economic impacts of energy efficiency measures; energy efficiency as a virtual utility; transportation issues; building issues; energy management systems and energy services; energy planning and risk assessment; energy efficiency in developing countries and economies in transition; non-energy benefits of energy efficiency and opportunities for policy integration; energy education and training, and emerging technologies.
Energy Engineering by Association of Energy Engineers
- This link opens in a new window
Energy Engineering Online Journal, which is issued six times a year, is an 80-page energy management technical journal. The journal is edited by noted author and instructor Dr. Wayne Turner and covers a variety of energy management, building systems, HVAC, lighting, financing, performance contracting, energy efficiency, smart metering, distributed generation, plant engineering, facility management, energy service, and energy procurement issues. Case studies which highlight real world applications are typically featured.
Energy for Sustainable Development by International Energy Initiative
Energy for Sustainable Development is the journal for decision makers, managers, consultants, policy makers, planners and researchers in both government and non-government organizations. It publishes original research and reviews about energy in developing countries, sustainable development, energy resources, technologies, policies and interactions.
Energy Journal by International Association for Energy Economics
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"The Energy Journal" is the official quarterly journal of the IAEE. It was founded in 1980 to promote the advancement and dissemination of new knowledge concerning energy and related topics. The editors strive to publish a blend of theoretical, empirical and policy related papers in energy economics. Articles published in the Energy Journal provide rigorous and innovative analyses of interest to academics, energy industry professionals, civil servants and regulators, and the financial community such as Wall Street analysts.
Energy: The International Journal by Elsevier
Energy is an international, multi-disciplinary journal in energy engineering and research. The journal aims to be a leading peer-reviewed platform and an authoritative source of information for analyses, reviews and evaluations related to energy. The journal covers research in mechanical engineering and thermal sciences, with a strong focus on energy analysis, energy modelling and prediction, integrated energy systems, energy planning and energy management. The journal also welcomes papers on related topics such as energy conservation, energy efficiency, biomass and bioenergy, renewable energy, electricity supply and demand, energy storage, energy in buildings, and on economic and policy issues, provided such topics are within the context of the broader multi-disciplinary scope of Energy.
Frontiers in Energy by Springer
- This link opens in a new window
Frontiers in Energy, an interdisciplinary and peer-reviewed international journal launched in January 2007, seeks to provide a rapid and unique platform for reporting the most advanced research on energy technology and strategic thinking in order to promote timely communication between researchers, scientists, engineers, and policy makers in the field of energy.
IEEE Transactions on Sustainable Energy by IEEE
The IEEE Transactions on Sustainable Energy is intended to be a cross disciplinary and internationally archival journal aimed at disseminating results of research on sustainable energy that relates to, arises from, or deliberately influences energy generation, transmission, distribution and delivery.
IET Renewable Power Generation by The Institution of Engineering and Technology
IET Renewable Power Generation (RPG) brings together the topics of renewable energy technology, power generation and systems integration, with techno-economic issues. All renewable energy generation technologies are within the scope of the journal.
Journal of Cleaner Production by Elsevier
The Journal of Cleaner Production serves as a transdisciplinary, international forum for the exchange of information and research concepts, policies, and technologies designed to help ensure progress towards making societies and regions more sustainable. It aims to encourage innovation and creativity, new and improved products, and the implementation of new, cleaner structures, systems, processes, products and services. It is also designed to stimulate the development and implementation of prevention oriented governmental policies and educational programmes.
Journal of Renewable and Sustainable Energy by AIP Publishing LLC
The purpose of Journal of Renewable and Sustainable Energy (JRSE) is to publish papers dealing with one or more of the multiple sub areas of renewable and sustainable energy. The sub areas covered by the journal are, solar power, including photovoltaics and solar cooling technologies; fuel cells; energy storage devices, such as batteries, supercapacitors; biofuels, including sources like ethanol, biodiesel, and anaerobic digestion and gasification of biomaterials; nuclear power, including fusion and fission research; wind energy; geothermal energy; mechanical and thermal energy from the ocean; and hydropower.
Renewable and Sustainable Energy Reviews by Elsevier
Renewable & Sustainable Energy Reviews publishes review articles designed to bring together under one cover, current advances in the ever broadening field of renewable and sustainable energy. The coverage of the journal includes the following areas: energy resources (geothermal, solar, wind, etc.), applications and services (buildings, industry, etc.), policy (energy planning, trends, etc.), environmental impact and sustainability.
Renewable Energy: An International Journal by The World Renewable Energy Network (WREN)
The scope of the journal encompasses the following:
Photovoltaic Technology Conversion, Solar Thermal Applications, Biomass Conversion, Wind Energy Technology, Materials Science Technology, Solar and Low Energy Architecture, Energy Conservation in Buildings, Climatology and Meteorology (Geothermal, Wave and Tide, Ocean Thermal Energies, Mini Hydro Power and Hydrogen Production Technology), Socio-economic and Energy Management.
Solar Energy by International Solar Energy Society®
Solar Energy welcomes manuscripts presenting information not previously published in journals on any aspect of solar energy research, development, application, measurement or policy. The term "solar energy" in this context includes the indirect uses such as wind energy and biomass. Because of the international character of Solar Energy, articles that deal solely with the solar radiation or wind data base of a specific country are not normally considered suitable for Solar Energy. Submitted manuscripts may take the form of reports of original studies or reviews of significant prior work in a given area. All manuscripts are subject to reviews to assure accuracy, clarity, and long-term value.
Solar Energy Materials and Solar Cells: An International Journal Devoted to Photovoltaic, Photothermal, and Photochemical Solar Energy Conversion by Elsevier
Solar Energy Materials & Solar Cells is intended as a vehicle for the dissemination of research results on materials science and technology related to photovoltaic, photothermal and photoelectrochemical solar energy conversion. Materials science is taken in the broadest possible sense and encompasses physics, chemistry, optics, materials fabrication and analysis for all types of materials.
Wind Energy by Wiley
Wind Energy offers a major forum for the reporting of advances in this rapidly developing technology with the goal of realising the world-wide potential to harness clean energy from land-based and offshore wind. The journal aims to reach all those with an interest in this field from academic research, industrial development through to applications, including individual wind turbines and components, wind farms and integration of wind power plants. Contributions across the spectrum of scientific and engineering disciplines concerned with the advancement of wind power capture, conversion, integration and utilisation technologies are essential features of the journal.

Electrical Technology: Find Articles

Find Articles Using...

Work from Anywhere!

Do we own it?

We don't own it...but we can get it for you!