CAD Journals
CAD Call Numbers
BiographiesDictionariesGuides and Handbooks
Associations, Institutes and Societies
This is the "Find Articles" page of the "Engineering Design Technologies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Engineering Design Technologies  

This research guide contains resources used to find information on engineering design and computer-aided drafting (CAD)-related topics.
Last Updated: May 29, 2014 URL: http://pct.libguides.com/cad Print Guide RSS Updates

Find Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 

Find Articles Using Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can search across many disciplines and sources: scholarly articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other Websites.

Many articles are freely available in Google Scholar.  If you are on-campus, Google Scholar will show you journals that the Madigan Library pays for by using the Get It @ Madigan Library link. If you are off-campus, you can set Google Scholar to see all of Madigan Library access to full-text articles or use our Journal Locator to find out if Penn College students have access to the journal.



 

Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed Journals

What are "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles?

  • Written by experts in that field
  • Content has been critically evaluated by other experts
  • Contains bibliography/reference list of other sources used

For a more extensive list of characteristics, see the Periodicals Library Guide.

 

Library Databases

Cover Art
ACM Digital Library - Association for Computing Machinery  Icon
Publication Date: 1951-date
ACM Digital Library contains the full-text of every article ever published by the Association of Computing Machinery.

Cover Art
Career and Technical Education - ProQuest LLC  Icon
Publication Date: 1975-date
ProQuest® Career and Technical Education is the definitive source for vocational information. The database includes over 790 titles, with more than 700 available in full text. Both students and instructors can access the database to research virtually any technical topic, including: computing science; healthcare; building trades; auto mechanics; sales and retail; accounting; graphic design; and photography.

Cover Art
ProQuest Computing™ - ProQuest LLC  Icon
Publication Date: 1990-date
ProQuest Computing™ is the premium resource for those who need access to comprehensive coverage of computer topics. The database includes over 510 titles, with over 400 available in full text. Whether you’re an expert in the field or an undergraduate, ProQuest Computing delivers vital information directly to your desktop from scholarly journals and trade publications as well as consumer titles. The database includes product reviews, database design and management, software, hardware, e-commerce, Web site development, intranets and extranets, and technology management.

Cover Art
ProQuest Science Journals™ - ProQuest LLC  Icon
Publication Date: 1986-date
ProQuest Science Journals covers science, technology, computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation.

 

Other Databases

Because full-text may not be freely available in these databases, students, faculty and staff who need an article may request a copy using our interlibrary loan service, ILLiad.

Cover Art
ASM Store - ASM International
The ASM Store search includes citations to articles in the ASM Handbook, books, conference papers, data sheets, journals, magazines, and phase diagrams.

Cover Art
CUMINCAD: Cumulative Index of Computer Aided Architectural Design - Designed and created by Prof. Bob Martens, Vienna University of Technology, Austria and Prof. Ziga Turk, University of Ljubljana, Slovenia
This is a cumulative index of publications about computer aided architectural design. It includes bibliographic information about over 11,000 records from journals and conferences such as ACADIA, ASCAAD, CAADRIA, eCAADe, SiGraDi, CAAD Futures, DSS and others. All papers include full abstracts. Full texts, in PDF, of some 8,100 papers are also available, however, to access full texts one needs to be a member of a CAAD association. Guests may search the database but will only see citation information.

Cover Art
ICCAD Archive - International Conference on Computer-Aided Design
ICCAD archive is a historical reference for the CAD community. From 2008-2010 the archive includes the speakers' papers along with their PowerPoint presentations. ICCAD does not provide slides within the archive for Tutorial, Workshop, or Panel sessions. You may contact the speaker directly in order to obtain these presentation materials. ICCAD 2011 speaker PowerPoint presentations are now available under the proceedings area. All published papers for 2011 can be found on the IEEE Xplore site or ACM's website.

Cover Art
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. There are currently more than 11 million articles/chapters, a content base that is growing at a rate of almost 0.5 million additions per year.

Cover Art
SpringerLink
SpringerLink is an integrated full-text database for journals and books published by Springer. SpringerLink offers free access to search tables of content, abstracts, and alerting services.

Cover Art
Wiley Online Library
Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals, almost 10,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases.

 

Do we own it?

Cover Art
Journal Locator
Many times, the full-text of an article you find is available right away in PDF or full-text format. However, if the full-text is not available in the database you are using, LinkSource can check if it's available in another database. Look for "Find a copy," or "Check for availabilty in other Penn College resources" to see if the article you need is full-text in another database or here in the Madigan Library in print or on microfilm. Do you have a citation and want to see if we have the article? Use Journal Locator to search the title of the journal to see if it is full-text or here in the library.

 

Interlibrary Loan

Cover Art
ILLiad
Can't find the article or the book you want in one of our databases or in the Madigan Library collection? Use ILLiad, our interlibrary loan system, to request what you need from another library. ILLiad is incorporated into many of our databases (like ProQuest and WorldCat). Look for the blue button or the words "Get on Interlibrary Loan" to request a copy of the article or book from another library.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip