Welcome!
This guide contains links to databases containing articles, scholarly online resources, and information about print and electronic materials in the Madigan Library that can be helpful to your research.
If you have questions, contact me using the information on the right-hand side of this guide. If I'm not available, try using our Ask a Librarian service.
Comments (0)
Choosing a Topic
It may be helpful to read current news in chemistry to find ideas for topics that would be interesting to research. The following is a list of journals that you can browse online. If you find an article you wish to read, enter the journal title in Journal Locator to see if we have access to it.
Accounts of Chemical Research
Accounts of Chemical Research presents short, concise and critical articles offering easy-to-read overviews of basic research and applications in all areas of chemistry and biochemistry.
Analytical Chemistry
Analytical Chemistry is a peer-reviewed research journal that is devoted to the dissemination of new and original knowledge in all branches of analytical chemistry. Fundamental Articles, Letters to Analytical Chemistry, and Technical Notes may address the general principles of chemical measurement science and need not directly address existing or potential analytical methodology. Manuscripts may be entirely theoretical with regard to analysis, or they may report experimental results that bear on theory. They may contribute to any phase of analytical measurements and concepts thereof, including but not limited to: sampling, bioanalysis, electrochemistry, mass spectrometry, microscale and nanoscale systems and structures, environmental analysis, separations, spectroscopy, chemical reactions and selectivity, instrumentation, imaging, surface analysis, and data processing. In addition, the journal publishes Features and news articles about major advances, trends, and challenges in analytical chemistry. These articles include peer-reviewed Features written by researchers and news stories that discuss novel analytical concepts and instruments. Both the Features and news stories draw upon scientific literature published in a wide range of related journals.
Biochemistry
The purpose of Biochemistry is to publish the results of original research that contribute significantly to the understanding of the mechanism of biological phenomena in terms of molecular structure and/or function. Submission of manuscripts in emerging areas in biophysics, cellular and molecular biology, chemical biology, proteomics, model studies and structures, computational chemistry, and new methods development is also encouraged if they address basic biochemical mechanisms. Manuscripts that are primarily theoretical in nature or in the field of bioinformatics must be directed toward explaining important results previously not understood, making important predictions that can be experimentally tested, or developing significant advances in theory of molecular structure and function.
Chemical & Engineering News
Chemical & Engineering News is a weekly magazine published by the American Chemical Society. C&EN editors and reporters based in Europe, the U.S., and Asia cover science and technology, business and industry, government and policy, education, and employment aspects of the chemistry field.
Industrial & Engineering Chemistry Research
Industrial & Engineering Chemistry Research is a bi-monthly publication that reports industrial and academic research in the broad fields of applied chemistry and chemical engineering with special focus on fundamentals, processes, and products. Papers may be based on work that is experimental or theoretical, mathematical or descriptive, chemical or physical. In addition to fundamental research (in such areas as thermodynamics, transport phenomena, chemical reaction kinetics and engineering, catalysis, separations, interfacial phenomena, and materials), papers may deal with process design and development (for example, synthesis and design methods, systems analysis, process control, schemes for data correlation, modeling and scale-up procedures, etc.) and product research and development involving chemical and engineering aspects (for example, catalysts, plastics, elastomers, fibers, adhesives, coatings, paper, membranes, lubricants, ceramics, aerosols, etc.).
Inorganic Chemistry
Inorganic Chemistry publishes fundamental studies in all phases of inorganic chemistry. Coverage includes experimental and theoretical reports on quantitative studies of structure and thermodynamics, kinetics, mechanisms of inorganic reactions, bioinorganic chemistry, and relevant aspects of organometallic chemistry, solid-state phenomena, and chemical bonding theory. Emphasis is placed on the synthesis, structure, thermodynamics, reactivity, spectroscopy, and bonding properties of significant new and known compounds.
Journal of Chemical Education
The Journal of Chemical Education is the official journal of the Division of Chemical Education of the American Chemical Society, co-published with the American Chemical Society Publications Division. Launched in 1924, the Journal of Chemical Education is the world’s premier chemical education journal. The journal publishes peer-reviewed articles and related information as a resource to those in the field of chemical education and to those institutions that serve them. JCE typically addresses chemical content, activities, laboratory experiments, instructional methods, and pedagogies. The Journal serves as a means of communication among people across the world who are interested in the teaching and learning of chemistry. This includes instructors of chemistry from middle school through graduate school, professional staff that support these teaching activities, as well as some scientists in commerce, industry, and government.
The Journal of Organic Chemistry
The Journal of Organic Chemistry (JOC) welcomes original contributions of fundamental research in all branches of the theory and practice of organic chemistry.
The Journal of Physical Chemistry A
The Journal of Physical Chemistry A (Dynamics, Kinetics, Environmental Chemistry, Spectroscopy, Structure, Theory) publishes studies on dynamics, clusters, and excited states; kinetics, and spectroscopy; atmospheric, environmental, and green chemistry; and molecular structure, quantum chemistry, and general theory.
The Journal of Physical Chemistry B
The Journal of Physical Chemistry B (Soft Condensed Matter and Biophysical Chemistry) publishes studies on macromolecules, and soft matter, surfactants, and membranes, statistical mechanics, thermodynamics, and medium effects, and biophysical chemistry.
The Journal of Physical Chemistry C
The Journal of Physical Chemistry C (Nanomaterials, Interfaces, and Hard Matter) publishes original experimental and basic research targeted to scientists in physical chemistry of nanoparticles, and nanostructures, surfaces, interfaces, and catalysis, electron transport, optical and electronic devices, and hard matter; and energy conversion and storage.
The Journal of Physical Chemistry Letters
Journal of Physical Chemistry Letters will cover all topic areas currently included in Journal of Physical Chemistry A, B, and C. By combining letters from the three sections of the journal into Journal of Physical Chemistry Letters, scientists from all areas can view the important, upcoming topics at the forefront of physical chemistry research from a convenient, timesaving, single source.
Journal of the American Chemical Society
The Journal of the American Chemical Society, founded in 1879, is the flagship journal of the American Chemical Society and the preeminent journal in the field. This periodical is devoted to the publication of fundamental research papers in all areas of chemistry and publishes approximately 16,000 pages of Articles, Communications, Book Reviews, and Computer Software Reviews a year. Published weekly, JACS provides research essential to the field of chemistry.
Langmuir
Langmuir is an interdisciplinary journal publishing articles in the following subject categories:
•Colloids: surfactants and self-assembly, dispersions, emulsions, foams
•Interfaces: adsorption, reactions, films, forces
•Biological Interfaces: biocolloids, biomolecular and biomimetic materials
•Materials: nano- and mesostructured materials, polymers, gels, liquid crystals
•Electrochemistry: interfacial charge transfer, charge transport, electrocatalysis, electrokinetic phenomena, bioelectrochemistry
•Devices and Applications: sensors, fluidics, patterning, catalysis, photonic crystals
•Colloids: surfactants and self-assembly, dispersions, emulsions, foams
•Interfaces: adsorption, reactions, films, forces
•Biological Interfaces: biocolloids, biomolecular and biomimetic materials
•Materials: nano- and mesostructured materials, polymers, gels, liquid crystals
•Electrochemistry: interfacial charge transfer, charge transport, electrocatalysis, electrokinetic phenomena, bioelectrochemistry
•Devices and Applications: sensors, fluidics, patterning, catalysis, photonic crystals
Organometallics
Organometallics records progress in one of the most active fields for organometallic, inorganic, organic, and materials chemists. Articles, communications, mini-reviews, and notes detail the synthesis, structure, bonding, chemical reactivity and reaction mechanisms, and applications of organometallic and organometalloidal compounds. Applications coverage includes organic and polymer synthesis, catalytic processes, and synthetic aspects of materials science and solid-state chemistry.
My Profile |
Contact Info Madigan Library LIB138 570-320-2400, ext. 7828 Summer office hours May 28-July 2: Tuesdays 8:30-4:30 Send Email |























Loading...
