Civil Engineering and Surveying Journals
Civil Engineering and Surveying Call Numbers
BiographiesDictionariesEncyclopediasGuides and HandbooksPE ExamStatisticsTechnical Standards
Associations, Institutes and SocietiesBridges and BuildingsCalculators and ConvertersCareer InformationComponents and SuppliersEthicsGeographyGovernment SitesHistoryMaterials PropertiesPatentsTeaching ResourcesTools
This is the "Find Articles" page of the "Civil Engineering & Surveying" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Civil Engineering & Surveying  

Last Updated: Oct 22, 2014 URL: http://pct.libguides.com/civil_engineering Print Guide RSS Updates

Find Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 

Find Articles in

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can search across many disciplines and sources: scholarly articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other Websites.

Many articles are freely available in Google Scholar.  If you are on-campus, Google Scholar will show you journals that the Madigan Library pays for by using the Get It @ Madigan Library link. If you are off-campus, you can set Google Scholar to see all of Madigan Library access to full-text articles or use our Journal Locator to find out if Penn College students have access to the journal.



 

Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed Journals

What are "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles?

  • Written by experts in that field
  • Content has been critically evaluated by other experts
  • Contains bibliography/reference list of other sources used

For a more extensive list of characteristics, see the Periodicals Library Guide.

 

Library Databases

Cover Art
Career and Technical Education - ProQuest  Icon
Publication Date: 1975-date
ProQuest® Career and Technical Education is the definitive source for vocational information. The database includes over 790 titles, with more than 700 available in full text. Both students and instructors can access the database to research virtually any technical topic, including: computing science; healthcare; building trades; auto mechanics; sales and retail; accounting; graphic design; and photography.

Cover Art
ProQuest Science Journals™ - ProQuest  Icon
Publication Date: 1986-date
ProQuest Science Journals covers science, technology, computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation.

 

Other Databases

Because full-text may not be freely available in these databases, students, faculty and staff who need an article may request a copy using our interlibrary loan service, ILLiad.

Cover Art
ASCE Library
The ASCE Library is a comprehensive online tool for locating articles of interest across all disciplines of civil engineering. It includes journal articles as well as papers from proceedings.

Cover Art
ASM Store - ASM International
The ASM Store search includes citations to articles in the ASM Handbook, books, conference papers, data sheets, journals, magazines, and phase diagrams.

Cover Art
Bureau of Mines Publications and Journal Articles - National Technical Information Service
Publication Date: 1910-1996
The United States Bureau of Mines of the Department of the Interior was established in 1910 by the Department of the Interior and abolished on March 30, 1996. NTIS maintains the entire collection of the Bureau's publications, some 5,000 documents. This page lists the printed indexes that are available to locate these publications as well as providing a search box to locate publications in the NTIS collection. The Bureau was established to conduct inquiries and scientific and technological investigations on mining and the preparation, treatment, and use of mineral substances; to promote health and safety in the mineral industries; to conserve material resources; to promote economic development; to increase efficiency in the mining, metallurgical, quarrying, and other mineral industries; and to inquire into the economic conditions affecting those industries.

Cover Art
Civil Engineering Database (CEDB) - ASCE
Publication Date: early 1900s-date
ASCE's Civil Engineering Database (CEDB) is designed to provide easy bibliographic access to all ASCE publications. The database covers all the journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines, and newspapers. Journal papers with abstracts go back to 1970. Non-abstract journal records go back to 1958. The book records are complete dating back to the early 1900s.

Cover Art
E-print Network - Office of Scientific & Technical Information, U.S. Department of Energy
The E-print Network is a gateway to over 35,300 websites and databases worldwide, containing over 5.5 million e-prints in basic and applied sciences, primarily in physics but also including subject areas such as chemistry, biology and life sciences, materials science, nuclear sciences and engineering, energy research, computer and information technologies, and other disciplines of interest to DOE.

Cover Art
Earthquake Engineering Online Archive - National Information Service for Earthquake Engineering (NISEE) by the Civil and Environmental Engineering Department of the University of California, Berkeley
The Earthquake Engineering Online Archive is a database of significant, publicly-funded research and development literature, photographs, data, and software in earthquake, structural, and geotechnical engineering. It includes full text for EERC, SEMM, and PEER reports published at UC Berkeley, the NISEE software library, and images from EQIIS, including the Steinbrugge, Godden, and Kozak collections.

Cover Art
Energy Citations Database - Office of Scientific and Technical Information, U.S. Department of Energy
Publication Date: 1943-date
Developed by the U.S. Department of Energy Office of Scientific and Technical Information, the database includes scientific and technical research results in disciplines of interest to DOE such as chemistry, physics, materials, environmental science, geology, engineering, mathematics, climatology, oceanography, and computer science. It also includes bibliographic citations to report literature, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents.

Cover Art
Envirofacts - United States Environmental Protection Agency
Envirofacts is a single point of access to select U.S. EPA environmental data. This Web site provides access to several EPA databases to provide you with information about environmental activities that may affect air, water, and land anywhere in the United States. With Envirofacts, you can learn more about these environmental activities in your area or you can generate maps of environmental information.

Cover Art
IEEE Xplore - IEEE
Publication Date: 1872-date
IEEE Xplore is a digital library providing access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. IEEE Xplore contains abstracts from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) publications.

Cover Art
Information Bridge: DOE Scientific and Technical Information - Office of Scientific & Technical Information, U.S. Department of Energy
Publication Date: 1991-date
The Information Bridge: DOE Scientific and Technical Information provides free public access to full-text documents and citations of Department of Energy research report literature. The Information Bridge contains documents and citations in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, renewable energy, and other topics of interest related to DOE's mission.

Cover Art
International Concrete Abstracts Portal - American Concrete Institute
Use ACI’s International Concrete Abstracts Portal to search for and and view abstracts of publications, including ACI Structural Journal, ACI Materials Journal, Concrete International, as well as technical documents, journal proceedings, and special/symposium publications.

Cover Art
National Transportation Safety Board - National Technical Information Service
The National Transportation Safety Board is the world's premier independent accident investigation agency. Their responsibility is to make transportation safer, to determine the probable cause of accidents, and to develop safety recommendations aimed at preventing similar accidents. The reports contain, in a narrative form, the Board's actual findings and analysis leading to a probably cause. From this search page, full summaries (abstracts) only are provided for selected publications.

Cover Art
Public Technical Reports - Defense Technical Information Center
Provides access to citations of unclassified unlimited documents that have been entered into DTIC's Technical Reports Collection, as well as the full-text of many of these documents. It provides access to the Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals, Staff College Automated Military Periodical Index, DoD Index to Specifications and Standards, and Research and Development Descriptive Summaries.

Cover Art
Research in Progress (RiP) - Transportation Research Board
The Transportation Research Board's Research in Progress (RiP) website contains the Research In Progress (RiP) Database and a data-entry system to allow users in State Departments of Transportation, the U.S. Department of Transportation, and University Transportation Centers to add, modify and delete information on their current research projects. The RiP database now contains over 8400 current or recently completed transportation research projects.

Cover Art
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. There are currently more than 11 million articles/chapters, a content base that is growing at a rate of almost 0.5 million additions per year.

Cover Art
SPIE Digital Library - SPIE
Publication Date: 1962-date
The SPIE Digital Library is the most extensive resource available on optics and photonics, providing unprecedented access to more than 370,000 technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings from 1962 to the present. More than 18,000 new technical papers are added annually. A Digital Library subscription is not required to use the search and browse features or to view tables of contents and abstracts. Downloading full-text digital papers is available only to subscribers.

Cover Art
SpringerLink
SpringerLink is an integrated full-text database for journals and books published by Springer. SpringerLink offers free access to search tables of content, abstracts, and alerting services.

Cover Art
Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) Program - United States Environmental Protection Agency
The Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) Program compiles the data on toxic chemical releases and waste management activities reported annually by certain industries as well as federal facilities and makes it available through data files and database tools. The goal is to provide communities with information about toxic chemical releases and waste management activities and to support informed decision making at all levels by industry, government, non-governmental organizations, and the public.

Cover Art
TOXNET - United States National Library of Medicine
TOXNET is a collection of toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases databases that includes the Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB®), a database of potentially hazardous chemicals, TOXLINE® (containing references to the world's toxicology literature), and ChemIDplus (a chemical dictionary and structure database).

Cover Art
TRID: The TRIS and ITRD Database - Transportation Research Board of the National Academies
TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than one million records of transportation research worldwide.

Cover Art
Wiley Online Library
Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals, almost 10,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases.

 

Work from Anywhere!

Relaxed at deskThe Madigan Library's databases can be accessed from wherever you are, 24 hours a day/7 days a week.

Once you click on a link to a database, you need to login with your network ID & password - the same you use to login to any campus computer.

 

Do we own it?

Cover Art
Journal Locator
Many times, the full-text of an article you find is available right away in PDF or full-text format. However, if the full-text is not available in the database you are using, LinkSource can check if it's available in another database. Look for "Find a copy," or "Check for availabilty in other Penn College resources" to see if the article you need is full-text in another database or here in the Madigan Library in print or on microfilm. Do you have a citation and want to see if we have the article? Use Journal Locator to search the title of the journal to see if it is full-text or here in the library.

 

Interlibrary Loan

Cover Art
ILLiad
Can't find the article or the book you want in one of our databases or in the Madigan Library collection? Use ILLiad, our interlibrary loan system, to request what you need from another library. ILLiad is incorporated into many of our databases (like ProQuest and WorldCat). Look for the blue button or the words "Get on Interlibrary Loan" to request a copy of the article or book from another library.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip