AlmanacsAtlasesBiographiesDictionariesEncyclopediasGuides and HandbooksStatistics
Associations, Institutes and SocietiesCalculators and ConvertersGlobal Warming and Climate ChangeGovernment SitesHistoryNatural DisastersOceansSnow and IceTeaching Resources
This is the "Home" page of the "Climate and Weather" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Climate and Weather  

This research guide contains resources used to find information on climate and weather-related topics.
Last Updated: Sep 2, 2014 URL: http://pct.libguides.com/climate Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome!

This guide contains links to databases containing articles, scholarly online resources, and information about print and electronic materials in the Madigan Library that can be helpful to your research.

If you have questions, contact me using the information on the right-hand side of this guide.  If I'm not available, try using our Ask a Librarian service.

 

Choosing a Topic

It may be helpful to read current news about climate and weather to find ideas for topics that would be interesting to research.  The following is a list of journals that you can browse online.  If you find an article you wish to read, enter the journal title in Journal Locator to see if we have access to it.

Cover Art
Atmospheric Science Letters - Royal Meteorological Society
Atmospheric Science Letters (ASL) is a wholly electronic journal. Its aim is to provide a fully peer reviewed publication route for new shorter contributions in the field of atmospheric and closely related sciences. Through its ability to publish shorter contributions more rapidly than conventional journals, ASL offers a framework that promotes new understanding and creates scientific debate - providing a platform for discussing scientific issues and techniques.

Cover Art
Bulletin of the American Meteorological Society - American Meteorological Society
The official organ of the society, devoted to editorials, topical reports to members, articles, professional and membership news, conference announcements, programs and summaries, book reviews, and society activities.

Cover Art
Climate Research - Inter-Research Science Center
A major environmental journal, CR invites papers on all aspects of the interactions of climate with organisms, ecosystems and human societies.

Cover Art
Climatic Change - Springer
Climatic Change is dedicated to the totality of the problem of climatic variability and change - its descriptions, causes, implications and interactions among these. The purpose of the journal is to provide a means of exchange among those working in different disciplines on problems related to climatic variations. This means that authors have an opportunity to communicate the essence of their studies to people in other climate-related disciplines and to interested non-disciplinarians, as well as to report on research in which the originality is in the combinations of (not necessarily original) work from several disciplines. The journal also includes vigorous editorial and book review sections.

Cover Art
Earth Interactions - American Meteorological Society
Earth Interactions is an electronic journal dealing with the interactions between the lithosphere, hydrosphere, atmosphere, and biosphere in the context of global issues or global change. It exploits the capabilities of electronic communications technology and provides its authors the opportunity to use animations and other visualization techniques that traditional publications cannot accommodate.

Cover Art
International Journal of Climatology - Royal Meteorological Society
The International Journal of Climatology aims to span the well established but rapidly growing field of climatology, through the publication of research papers, major reviews of progress and reviews of new books and reports in the area of climate science. The Journal’s main role is to stimulate and report research in climatology, from the expansive fields of the atmospheric, biophysical, engineering and social sciences.

Cover Art
International Journal of Global Warming - Inderscience Publishers
IJGW publishes high-quality original papers, review articles, and technical notes in the area of global warming, covering a diverse range of topics and problems related but not limited to energy, environment, ecology, climate, economy, fuels, social and physical infrastructure, clean and green technologies, sustainable development, policy and strategy development, etc., with a common goal of addressing an issue or bringing a solution to the issue. Those pertaining to modelling, theory, analysis, computational methods and simulations, design, experiments, visualisation and measurement techniques are also appropriate for the journal. IJGW will also include letters to the editor, book reviews, an events calendar, etc.

Cover Art
Journal of Applied Meteorology and Climatology - American Meteorological Society
Applied meteorological research related to physical meteorology, weather modification, satellite meteorology, radar meteorology, boundary layer processes, air pollution meteorology (including dispersion and chemical processes), agricultural and forest meteorology, and applied meteorological numerical models. Also, applied climatology research related to the use of climate information in decision making, impact assessments, seasonal climate forecast applications and verification, climate risk and vulnerability, development of climate monitoring tools, urban and local climates, and climate as it relates to the environment and society.

Cover Art
Journal of Atmospheric and Oceanic Technology - American Meteorological Society
Research describing instrumentation and methodologies used in atmospheric and oceanic research, including remote sensing instruments, measurements, validation, and data analysis techniques from satellites, aircraft, balloons, and surface-based platforms; in situ instruments, measurements, and methods for data acquisition, analysis, and interpretation; and information systems and algorithms.

Cover Art
Journal of Climate - American Meteorological Society
Climate research concerned with large-scale variability of the atmosphere, oceans, and land surface, including the cryosphere; past, present and projected future changes in the climate system (including those caused by human activities); climate simulation and prediction. Occasionally the Journal of Climate will publish review articles on particularly topical areas. Such reviews must be approved by the Chief Editor prior to submission.

Cover Art
Journal of Hydrometeorology - American Meteorological Society
Research related to the modeling, observing, and forecasting of processes related to water and energy fluxes and storage terms, including interactions with the boundary layer and lower atmosphere, and including processes related to precipitation, radiation, and other meteorological inputs.

Cover Art
Journal of Physical Oceanography - American Meteorological Society
Research related to the physics of the ocean and to processes operating at its boundaries. Observational, theoretical, and modeling studies are all welcome, especially those that focus on elucidating specific physical processes. Papers that investigate interactions with other components of the earth system (e.g., ocean-atmosphere, physical-biological and physical-chemical interactions) as well as studies of other fluid systems (e.g., lakes and laboratory tanks) are also invited, as long as their focus is on understanding the ocean or the ocean's role in the earth system.

Cover Art
Journal of the Atmospheric Sciences - American Meteorological Society
Basic research related to the physics, dynamics, and chemistry of the atmosphere of Earth and other planets, with emphasis on the quantitative and deductive aspects of the subject.

Cover Art
Journal of Water and Climate Change - IWA Publishing
Journal of Water and Climate Change publishes refereed research and practitioner papers on all aspects of water science, technology, management and innovation in response to climate change.

Cover Art
Meteorological Applications - Royal Meteorological Society
The aim of Meteorological Applications is to serve the needs of applied meteorologists, forecasters and users of meteorological services by publishing papers on all aspects of meteorological science.

Cover Art
Meteorology and Atmospheric Physics - Springer
Meteorology and Atmospheric Physics publishes original research papers discussing physical and chemical processes in both clear and cloudy atmospheres. The following topic areas are particularly emphasized: atmospheric dynamics and general circulation; synoptic meteorology; weather systems in specific regions, such as the tropics, the polar caps and the oceans; atmospheric energetics; numerical modeling and forecasting; physical and chemical processes in the atmosphere, including radiation, optical effects, electricity, and atmospheric turbulence and transport processes, and mathematical and statistical techniques applied to meteorological data sets.

Cover Art
MeteoWorld - World Meteorological Organization
News and information about the World Meteorological Organization.

Cover Art
Monthly Weather Review - American Meteorological Society
Research results relevant to the analysis and prediction of observed atmospheric circulations and physics, including technique development, data assimilation, model validation, and relevant case studies. This includes papers on numerical and data assimilation techniques that apply to the atmosphere and/or ocean environments as well as socioeconomic analyses of the impacts of weather and weather forecasts. MWR focuses on phenomena having seasonal and subseasonal time scales. Reviews of climatological aspects of high-impact events such as hurricanes, as well as review articles, are occasionally published.

Cover Art
Quarterly Journal of the Royal Meteorological Society - Royal Meterological Society
The Quarterly Journal is acknowledged as one of the world’s leading meteorological journals and contains papers, notes and correspondence by leading meteorologists presenting the results of their research. This includes original research in the atmospheric sciences, applied meteorology and physical oceanography in a journal which is published eight times a year with additional special issues. Comprehensive review articles, short articles describing minor investigations, or comments on published papers are also considered.

Cover Art
Theoretical and Applied Climatology - Springer
Theoretical and Applied Climatology covers climate modeling, climatic changes and climate forecasting, micro- to mesoclimate, applied meteorology as in agro- and forestmeteorology, biometeorology, building meteorology and atmospheric radiation problems as they relate to the biosphere; effects of anthropogenic and natural aerosols or gaseous trace constituents; hardware and software elements of meteorological measurements, including techniques of remote sensing, among other topics of current interest.

Cover Art
Weather - Royal Meteorological Society
The aim of Weather is to act as a bridge between the interests of those having a professional and a general interest in the weather, as well as between meteorologists and others working in related sciences such as climatology, hydrology and geography. Articles and regular features are written for a wide range of readers, from professional meteorologists to amateur weather observers. While technical language and mathematical content are kept to a minimum, Weather also seeks to inform and to give readers an opportunity to update their subject knowledge.

Cover Art
Weather and Forecasting - American Meteorological Society
Research on forecasting and analysis techniques, forecast verification studies, and case studies useful to forecasters. This includes submissions that report on changes to the suite of operational numerical models and statistical postprocessing techniques, demonstrate the transfer of research results to the forecast community, or illustrate the societal use and value of forecasts. Contributions that focus on forecasting and analysis techniques from the very short range out to seasonal time scales are welcome.

Cover Art
Weather, Climate, and Society - American Meteorological Society
Weather, Climate, and Society, a quarterly journal of the American Meteorological Society, publishes scientific research and analysis on the interactions of weather and climate with society. The journal encompasses economic, policy, institutional, social, behavioral, and international research, including mitigation and adaptation to weather and climate change. Articles may focus on a broad range of topics at the interface of weather and/or climate and society, including the socioeconomic, policy, or technological influences on weather and climate, the socioeconomic or cultural impacts of weather and climate, ethics and equity issues associated with weather, climate, and society, and the historical and cultural contexts of weather, climate, and society. Because of the interdisciplinary subject matter, articles that involve both natural/physical scientists and social scientists are particularly encouraged.

Cover Art
Weatherwise - Heldref Publications
Weatherwise features fascinating articles and spectacular color photographs that showcase the power, beauty, and excitement of weather. Weatherwise articles present the latest discoveries and hottest issues in meteorology and climatology and focus on the relation of weather to technology, history, culture, art, and society. In each issue, our expert columnists answer reader questions about the weather; discuss current events and people in the news; review new weather-related books and videos; test reader forecast skills with analysis of weather maps; and summarize recent weather events in the United States and Canada.

Cover Art
WIREs Climate Change - John Wiley & Sons, Ltd.
Climate change has become one of the most visible phenomena in the world today, recognized through the changes occurring to physical climates, natural and managed environments and social organizations, and also through deliberations about ethical responsibility and public policy.Wiley Interdisciplinary Reviews: Climate Change offers a unique platform for exploring current and emerging knowledge from the many disciplines that contribute to our understanding of this phenomenon – environmental history, the humanities, physical and life sciences, social sciences, engineering and economics. This publication has been developed in association with the Royal Meteorological Society and the Royal Geographical Society (with IBG) in the UK and provides an important new encyclopedic reference for climate change scholarship and research. It also acts as a forum for gaining a wider set of perspectives about how climate change is understood, analyzed and contested around the world.

Cover Art
WMO Bulletin - World Meteorological Organization
The WMO Bulletin is the official journal of the World Meteorological Organization. The Bulletin has been in existence since 1952, and is produced in English, French, Russian and Spanish. The target readership is the WMO scientific community, with extended outreach to the broader informed public. The aim is to inspire readers to improve their own operations and outreach to their user communities, by providing insight, cases and practices related to weather, climate and water. The target audience is therefore global and interdisciplinary.

Librarian for Sciences

Profile Image
Pat Scott
Contact Info
(570) 320-2400, x7840
LIB139 Madigan Library
Send Email

Assisted by...

Profile Image
Helen Yoas
Contact Info
Madigan Library
LIB137
570-320-2400x7920
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip