BiographiesDictionariesEncyclopediasGuides and Handbooks
Animations and DrawingsAssociations, Institutes and SocietiesStatisticsTeaching Resources
This is the "Home" page of the "Ecology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Ecology  

This research guide contains resources used to find information on ecology-related topics.
Last Updated: Aug 28, 2014 URL: http://pct.libguides.com/ecology Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome!

This guide contains links to databases containing articles, scholarly online resources, and information about print and electronic materials in the Madigan Library that can be helpful to your research.

If you have questions, contact me using the information on the right-hand side of this guide.  If I'm not available, try using our Ask a Librarian service.

 

Choosing a Topic

It may be helpful to read current news in ecology to find ideas for topics that would be interesting to research.  The following is a list of journals that you can browse online.  If you find an article you wish to read, enter the journal title in Journal Locator to see if we have access to it.  For a comprehensive list of titles, see http://ekolojinet.com/journals.html.

Cover Art
Agriculture, Ecosystems & Environment - Elsevier
Agriculture, Ecosystems & Environment publishes scientific articles dealing with the interface between agroecosystems and the natural environment, specifically how agriculture influences the environment and how changes in that environment impact agroecosystems. Preference is given to papers from experimental and observational research at the field, system or landscape level, complemented as appropriate by dynamic and statistical modelling, that bridge scientific disciplines, integrate knowledge, and are placed in an international or wide comparative context.

Cover Art
The American Midland Naturalist: An international Journal of Ecology, Evolution, and the Environment - University of Notre Dame
The American Midland Naturalist has entered the 21st Century publishing a broad spectrum of field and experimental biology in an era of fundamental changes in scientific publishing. Its diversity and significance are evident in that it is among the most frequently cited sources in journals of botany, general ecology, mammalogy, zoology, herpetology, behavior, vegetation, wildlife management, parasitology, ornithology, aquatic biology and other disciplines. Recent concern about biodiversity has long been evident in the journal.

Cover Art
The American Naturalist - American Society of Naturalists
Since its inception in 1867, The American Naturalist has maintained its position as one of the world's most renowned, peer-reviewed publications in ecology, evolution, and population and integrative biology research. While addressing topics in community and ecosystem dynamics, evolution of sex and mating systems, organismal adaptation, and genetic aspects of evolution, AmNat emphasizes sophisticated methodologies and innovative theoretical syntheses--all in an effort to advance the knowledge of organic evolution and other broad biological principles.

Cover Art
Basic and Applied Ecology - Ecological Society of Germany, Austria and Switzerland
Characteristic features of this scientific society include a broad spectrum of disciplines, so plant and animal ecologists, agroecologists, forest ecologists, tropical ecologists, soil ecologists, geoecologists, limnologists, conservationists, and landscape ecologists will shape the journal's contents. Basic and Applied Ecology actively solicits papers that strive to integrate the various disciplines and issues within the broad field of ecology.

Cover Art
Ecology - Ecological Society of America
Ecology publishes articles that report on the basic elements of ecological research. Emphasis is placed on concise, clear articles documenting important ecological phenomena. The journal publishes a broad array of research that includes a rapidly expanding envelope of subject matter, techniques, approaches, and concepts: paleoecology through present-day phenomena; evolutionary, population, physiological, community, and ecosystem ecology, as well as biogeochemistry; inclusive of descriptive, comparative, experimental, mathematical, statistical, and interdisciplinary approaches.

Cover Art
Journal of Applied Ecology - British Ecological Society
Journal of Applied Ecology publishes novel papers that apply ecological concepts, theories, models and methods to the management of biological resources in their widest sense. The editors encourage contributions that use applied ecological problems to test and develop basic ecological theory, although there must be clear potential for improving management. The journal includes all major themes in applied ecology: conservation biology, global change, environmental pollution, wildlife and habitat management, land use and management, aquatic resources, restoration ecology, and the management of pests, weeds and disease. Articles that interact with related fields are welcomed providing that their relevance to applied ecology is clear.

Cover Art
Journal of Freshwater Ecology - Taylor & Francis
The Journal of Freshwater Ecology is intended to be a vehicle for the reasonably rapid dissemination of current limnological information. The Journal publishes refereed manuscripts dealing with a wide variety of original ecological studies, observations, and techniques. Extensive mongraphs will not normally be published.

Cover Art
Nature - Nature Publishing Group
Nature is a weekly international journal publishing the finest peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology on the basis of its originality, importance, interdisciplinary interest, timeliness, accessibility, elegance and surprising conclusions. Nature also provides rapid, authoritative, insightful and arresting news and interpretation of topical and coming trends affecting science, scientists and the wider public.

Cover Art
Science - American Association for the Advancement of Science
Founded in 1880 on $10,000 of seed money from the American inventor Thomas Edison, Science has grown to become the world's leading outlet for scientific news, commentary, and cutting-edge research, with the largest paid circulation of any peer-reviewed general-science journal. Through its print and online incarnations, Science reaches an estimated worldwide readership of more than one million.

Cover Art
Trends in Ecology & Evolution - Cell Press
Trends in Ecology & Evolution contains polished, concise and readable reviews, opinions and letters in all areas of ecology and evolutionary science. It serves as an invaluable source of information for researchers, lecturers, teachers, field workers and students. Trends in Ecology & Evolution keeps these scientists informed of new developments and ideas across the full range of ecology and evolutionary biology - from the pure to the applied, and from molecular to global. Now, more than ever before, is it necessary for life scientists to be aware of research from a wide range of disciplines, especially in the face of the gathering momentum of global environmental change and destruction. More than any other journal, Trends in Ecology & Evolution is the major forum for coverage of all the important issues concerning organisms and their environments.

Librarian for Sciences

Profile Image
Pat Scott
Contact Info
(570) 320-2400, x7840
LIB139 Madigan Library
Send Email

Assisted by...

Profile Image
Helen Yoas
Contact Info
Madigan Library
LIB137
570-320-2400x7920
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip