AtlasesBiographiesDictionariesEncyclopediasGuides and Handbooks
AnimationsAssociations, Institutes and SocietiesEarthquakesGovernment SitesHistoryPaleontologyStatisticsTeaching ResourcesVolcanoes
APA StyleCSE Style
This is the "Home" page of the "Geology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Geology  

This research guide contains resources used to find information on geology-related topics.
Last Updated: Jun 25, 2013 URL: http://pct.libguides.com/geology Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome!

This guide contains links to databases containing articles, scholarly online resources, and information about print and electronic materials in the Madigan Library that can be helpful to your research.

If you have questions, contact me using the information on the right-hand side of this guide.  If I'm not available, try using our Ask a Librarian service.

 

Choosing a Topic

It may be helpful to read current news in geology to find ideas for topics that would be interesting to research.  The following is a list of journals that you can browse online.  If you find an article you wish to read, enter the journal title in Journal Locator to see if we have access to it.

Cover Art
Environmental and Engineering Geoscience - Association of Environmental & Engineering Geologists
Environmental & Engineering Geoscience is published quarterly by the Association of Environmental & Engineering Geologists and the Geological Society of America.

Cover Art
Field Guides - Geological Society of America
Field Guides of field trips held during GSA annual and section meetings as well as special meetings held in conjunction with other organizations are published under the guidance of experienced scientists who serve as ad hoc volume editors.

Cover Art
Geochemistry: Exploration, Environment, Analysis - Geological Society of London
The Journal covers all aspects of the application of geochemistry to the exploration and study of mineral resources, and related fields, including the geochemistry of the environment. Topics include: the description and evaluation of new and improved methods of geochemical exploration: sampling and analytical techniques and methods of interpretation; geochemical distributions in and around mineralized environments; and processes of geochemical dispersion in rocks, soils, vegetation, water and the atmosphere. Papers that seek to integrate geological, geochemical and geophysical methods of exploration are particularly welcome. Given the many links between exploration and environmental geochemistry, the journal encourages the exchange of concepts and data; in particular, to develop mineral resources while protecting the environment. Submission of Letters to the Editor is encouraged. This provides a means of commenting on papers that have been published in this journal.

Cover Art
Geological Society of America Bulletin - Geological Society of America
The GSA Bulletin is the Society's premier scholarly journal, published continuously since 1890. Fully refereed, each bimonthly issue includes 16–20 papers reporting major research in the traditional, documented, research-paper style. Topics cover the entire range of the earth sciences. GSA Bulletin is profusely illustrated with occasional color and large inserts. A "Discussion and Reply" section facilitates dialog among authors and readers.

Cover Art
Geology - Geological Society of America
Geology, published since 1973, features rapid publication of about 23 refereed short (four-page) papers each month. Articles cover all earth-science disciplines and include new investigations and provocative topics. Professional geologists and university-level students in the earth sciences use this widely read journal to keep up with scientific research trends. The online forum section facilitates author-reader dialog. Includes color and occasional large-format illustrations on oversized loose inserts.

Cover Art
Geosphere - Geological Society of America
Geosphere is an online-only journal that targets an international audience and publishes high-quality research results from all fields of the geosciences. It particularly seeks papers that take advantage of the electronic format.

Cover Art
GSA Today - Geological Society of America
GSA Today is the Society's science and news magazine published for members and other earth scientists. GSA Today lead science articles are refereed and should present the results of exciting new research or summarize and synthesize important problems or issues, and they must be understandable to all in the earth science community. Issues often feature a "hot-topic" "Groundwork" article - tightly focused papers on issues of import to earth science policy, planning, funding, and education (also refereed). Periodic articles include reports from the GSA-USGS Congressional Science Fellow, Rock Stars biographical features, and news and information about the Society, its activities, and the geological community at large.

Cover Art
Journal of Micropaleontology - The Micropalaeontological Society
The scope of the journal has always been broad, especially to show the application of microfossils to solving geological problems, but with an emphasis on taxonomy. The principal fields of interest are: biostratigraphy; evolution; palaeobiology; palaeoenvironments; reviews; taxonomic studies.The emphasis will be on applications. Our aim is to attract high-quality papers that will prove to be influential in the development of our science.

Cover Art
Journal of the Geological Society - Geological Society of London
Journal of the Geological Society (JGS) aims to publish the most topical and highest quality papers, summarizing the results of recent research across the full range of the Earth Sciences. Papers are frequently interdisciplinary in nature, often refer to regional studies and should emphasize the development of understanding of fundamental geological processes. The implications of regional studies should extend beyond their geographical context. Alternatively more specialized papers can be submitted, but they should be written in a style that is easily understood by non-specialists to illustrate the progress being made in that specific area of the Earth Sciences. Reviews on topics of current interest are also welcome, but they too should be written to cater for non-specialist readers. Specials are short papers on topical or controversial issues in Earth Sciences and receive fast-track reviewing procedures, allowing publication in less than 6 months.

Cover Art
Lithosphere - Geological Society of America
Lithosphere, a peer-reviewed journal launched in 2009, focuses on processes that affect the crust, upper mantle, landscapes, and/or sedimentary systems at all spatial and temporal scales. The journal particularly welcomes, but is not limited to, submissions that document the feedback relationships among geomorphic, lithospheric, and upper mantle processes.

Cover Art
Memoirs of the Geological Society of America - Geological Society of America
In the early 1930s, a generous bequest by Richard Alexander Fullerton Penrose, Jr., allowed GSA to begin publishing books in the Memoir and Special Paper series. Memoirs, first published in 1934, are intended to present thorough, well-illustrated treatments of topics, providing the authoritative reference on a subject for a decade or more. Volumes are chosen for publication by GSA science editors for their comprehensive coverage of a topic and their lasting value to researchers worldwide.

Cover Art
Pennsylvania Geology - Pennsylvania Department of Conservation and Natural Resources
Pennsylvania Geology is a free publication of the Bureau of Topographic and Geologic Survey and is currently published four times per year. The magazine includes articles on the geology of Pennsylvania, earth science education, and topographic mapping, and announcements of new publications, conferences, and other geologic and topographic items of interest. The magazine will be full color, online only, starting with Spring 2009 (v. 39, no. 1).

Cover Art
Quarterly Journal of Engineering Geology and Hydrogeology - Geological Society of London
Quarterly Journal of Engineering Geology & Hydrogeology (QJEGH) is published by the Geological Society and is an established international journal with a circulation of 4000 in 47 countries. Papers are invited from, and about, all areas of the world on engineering geology and hydrogeology topics including all relevant aspects of the approach of geology to civil engineering, mining practice and water resources. This includes but is not limited to: applied geophysics, engineering geomorphology, environmental geology, hydrogeology, groundwater quality, contaminated land, waste management, land use planning, geotechnics, rock mechanics, geomaterials and geological hazards. The journal includes the prestigious Glossop and Ineson lectures, research papers case histories, review articles, technical notes, photographics features, book reviews and periodic reports.

Cover Art
Reviews in Engineering Geology - Geological Society of America
GSA Reviews in Engineering Geology volumes, published since 1962, summarize geological theory or present case histories pertaining to engineering practice. This series is produced in cooperation with members of the GSA Environmental and Engineering Geology Division, who are responsible for the selection, review, and acceptance of manuscripts.

Cover Art
Special Papers of the Geological Society of America - Geological Society of America
Special Papers, first published in 1934, were originally developed for articles that were too long to be published in the society’s journal, The Geological Society of America Bulletin. The series has evolved over the years and now includes monographs, symposium-based volumes, and longer, multi-author volumes with dedicated volume editors. Special Papers present state-of-the-art treatments of rapidly evolving subjects, the results of which may be altered or augmented by subsequent research. Many Special Papers have made lasting and significant contributions to the science, and all are vetted by science editors, who choose proposals and completed volumes that are of high quality and broad interest. A wide range of topics is covered from regions throughout the world.

Librarian for Sciences

Profile Image
Pat Scott
Contact Info
(570) 320-2400, x7840
LIB139 Madigan Library
Send Email

Assisted by...

Profile Image
Helen Yoas
Contact Info
Madigan Library
LIB137
570-320-2400x7920
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip