Research Guides: HTH310 Health Issues & Transitions: Find Articles

Interlibrary Loan
Can't find the article or the book you want? Use Tipasa, our interlibrary loan system, to request what you need from another library. Tipasa is incorporated into many of our databases. Look for the button or words Request It from Interlibrary Loan to request a copy of the article or book from another library. This service is free of charge for students.

Issues in Context

Gale In Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Focuses on broad issues, such as war, genocide, terrorism, human rights, poverty, famine, globalization, world trade, nuclear proliferation, and global warming, as well as more specific events and topics in the news.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Covers social issues and includes pro and con viewpoint articles, reference articles, full-text magazines, academic journals, newspapers, primary source documents, government and organizational statistics, multimedia, and links to pertinent websites.

Other Databases

Science Database This link opens in a new window
Covers physics, engineering, astronomy, biology, earth science, chemistry, materials science, computing, telecommunications, transportation, aerospace, climate, and more.
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Covers a range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology.

Medical Literature

General Search Tip Reminders

Use quotation marks around phrases, e.g. "health care" (except in PubMed)
Use an asterisk to truncate search words, e.g., gerontolog* = gerontology, gerontological, gerontologist, etc.
Use AND to connect keywords and phrases, e.g., "health care" AND elderly
Use synonyms to see if you get different results, e.g. elderly, geriatric, old, senior, aged, etc.

CINAHL® Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides broad content coverage including 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more.

CINAHL Search Tips

Use Advanced Search
Limit by Age Groups selecting Aged: 65+ years

Gale Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Consumer health resource that provides information on a range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets, as well as hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries. Intended for informational purposes only.
Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to academic journals and other reference content covering all aspects of the nursing profession, from direct patient care to health care administration.
Gale OneFile: Psychology This link opens in a new window
Academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind.
Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and more. Designed for researchers at healthcare facilities as well as nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions.
ProQuest Health & Medicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search 13 ProQuest health and medicine databases at once.
Psychology Database This link opens in a new window
Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains citations to journal articles, books, chapters in books, and dissertations published as far back as 1806, in the field of psychology, as well as related disciplines like education, medicine, psychiatry, law, and social work.

PsycINFO Search Tips

Use the Advanced Search option
Limit by Age Group selecting Aged (65 Yrs & Older) or Very Old (85 Yrs & Older)

Using PsycINFO on the ProQuest Platform

PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprises more than 35 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Be sure to use this link to see full-text options available through Madigan Library.

PubMed Search Tips

Once you do a search, click on Show additional filters
Check the box next to Ages, then click Show
Click on Aged: 65+ years
Do not use quotation marks

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search across many disciplines and sources for scholarly articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other reputable websites.