Welcome!
This guide contains links to databases containing articles, scholarly online resources, and information about print and electronic materials in the Madigan Library that can be helpful to your research.
If you have questions, contact me using the information on the right-hand side of this guide. If I'm not available, try using our Ask a Librarian services.
Comments (0)
Choosing a Topic
It may be helpful to read current news on machining and toolmaking technology to find ideas for topics that would be interesting to research. The following is a list of journals that you can browse online. If you find an article you wish to read, enter the journal title in Journal Locator to see if we have access to it.
American Machinist - Penton Media, Inc.
American Machinist serves manufacturing plants in industries primarily engaged in the production of durable goods and other metal products.
American Tool, Die & Stamping News - Eagle Publications, Inc.
For 38 years American Tool Die & Stamping News has been the leading publication reporting on the industry. Published six times a year beginning each January / February. The journal is mailed free only to those qualified individuals directly engaged in production, research and development, sales, marketing and purchasing in the Tool, Die and Stamping industry.
Canadian Industrial Machinery (CIM) - FMA Communications, Inc.
CIM is the only national monthly magazine targeted at Canada's metalworking industry. CIM delivers leading edge editorial topics relating to all facets of the entire metalworking industry, including machine tools, software, quality and cutting tools. Subject matter deals with topical issues facing the automotive and aerospace industries, from major manufacturing to today's highly competitive job shops.
CNC West - Arnold Publications, Inc.
CNC West is the only regional magazine serving Western Metalworking Manufacturers. Offers national recognition, western impact, the best of both worlds. CNC West offers editorial coverage designed specifically to serve the needs of Western businesses and reaches Western businesses ranging in size from 1 to 5000 employees.
Cutting Tool Engineering - CTE Publications Inc.
Was established in 1955 and has been the primary business of CTE Publications Inc. since its purchase 21 years ago. The magazine's sole purpose is to provide timely, practical information on the procurement, use and maintenance of cutting and grinding equipment, tools and accessories.
Digital Machinist - Village Press, Inc.
Digital Machinist includes articles on the basics of programming G-code, various CNC hobby projects, CNC retrofits, robotics, CNC techniques, and much, much more.
Fabricating & Metalworking (F&M) - Cygnus Publishing
Fabricating & Metalworking (F&M) magazine serves two distinct manufacturing niches, offering a cost-effective solution for advertisers to reach both. As equipment crossover becomes more apparent in metalworking and fabricating, the need to reach a growing customer base becomes essential. New technologies are needed to compete and professionals require product information and analysis in order to compete in a global marketplace.
Gear Solutions - Media Solutions, Inc.
Gear Solutions is a high quality, editorially driven monthly magazine that services the gear industry. This book covers all areas in gear manufacturing; from tooling to machines and services, all vital to both the gear manufacturer and the OEM.
Gear Technology: The Journal of Gear Manufacturing - Randall Publications LLC
Gear Technology is well respected for its work with technical publishing because of our rigorous
editorial and technical review process. We don’t just republish papers we find. Our goal is to produce gear-related articles that provide practical, useful information; are educational; contain no commercial bias; are technically sound; or shed new light on gear technology. In order to accomplish this, we fully vet each potential article, whether we find it in published proceedings or it is author-submitted.
editorial and technical review process. We don’t just republish papers we find. Our goal is to produce gear-related articles that provide practical, useful information; are educational; contain no commercial bias; are technically sound; or shed new light on gear technology. In order to accomplish this, we fully vet each potential article, whether we find it in published proceedings or it is author-submitted.
Industrial Machinery Digest - Industrial Machinery Digest
Industrial Machinery Digest is a leader among industrial publications with over 226,800 copies mailed annually to machine shops, fabricating shops, job shops, machinery dealers and wholesalers, pipe and tube manufacturers, industrial warehouses and distribution centers, and retrofitting & rebuilding machine maintenance. In addition, the magazine is also sent to professionals who work in finishing, robotics and material handling. Magazines are sent out 18 times a year to potential buyers pre-qualified by industry type and buying power. Our lists are rotated every issue to ensure that you reach the most responsive buyer available. This allows continued success when running in consecutive issues. Distributing thousands of magazines each year at national trade shows and special issues featuring different products or services is just another part of our formula for success.
Journal of Vibration and Control - SAGE
The Journal of Vibration and Control is a peer-reviewed journal of analytical, computational and experimental studies of vibration phenomena and their control. The scope encompasses all linear and nonlinear vibration phenomena and covers topics such as: vibration and control of structures and machinery, signal analysis, aeroelasticity, neural networks, structural control and acoustics, noise and noise control, waves in solids and fluids and shock waves.
Machine Design - Penton Media, Inc.
For more than 80 years Machine Design's experienced team of engineering degreed editors have provided the news, applications, in-depth technical information, new products and vendor information engineers need and trust.
Machine Tools West - Arnold Publications, Inc.
Since 1977 Machine Tools West has been providing western buyers of Metalworking equipment and related products the best source to find these products.
Machinery Lubrication - Noria Corporation
Machinery Lubrication offers insightful information on proper use of lubricants for industrial machinery, fleets and off-highway equipment. Maintenance, reliability and engineering professionals read each issue.
Machining Science & Technology - Taylor & Francis
Machining Science and Technology publishes original scientific and technical papers and review articles on topics related to machining and traditional and nontraditional machining processes performed on all materials-metals, polymers, ceramics, and composites. In addition, this high-quality journal covers novel concepts for machining of advanced materials; measurement of surface quality and metrology including detection and characterization of machining damage; special cutting tools, coated inserts, new grinding wheels, special coolants, and cutting fluids; and design and implementation of in-process sensors for monitoring and control of surface quality and integrity.
Machinist's Workshop - Village Press, Inc.
Machinist's Workshop, formerly Projects in Metal, is the sister publication of The Home Shop Machinist. What sets this magazine apart is its emphasis on shorter, less involved projects for the beginning machinist. Machinist's Workshop also covers other forms of metalworking not necessarily related to machining, such as welding, foundry work, and fabrication work. Machinist's Workshop also contains articles on gunsmithing.
Mechanics Based Design of Structures and Machines - Taylor & Francis
Emphasizing contemporary research of immediate and potential application to mechanical, civil, aerospace, and automotive engineering as well as naval architecture, Mechanics Based Design of Structures and Machines contains analytical, numerical, and experimental contributions of permanent interest to research engineers. In addition to classical applications such as structures and machine analysis and design, the journal encourages submission of new fundamental and interdisciplinary contributions of mechanics and mechanics-based design in emerging application areas such as robotics, automotive, space structures, smart structures, and micromachines. Other technical areas of interest include high-speed computing, numerical methods, structural optimization, variational methods, stability, fatigue and fracture mechanics, plasticity, and related basic applied mechanics and mechanics-based design.
Metal Finishing - Elsevier
Metal Finishing, the technical magazine for the electroplating and coating industries, is the go-to source for the global surface finishing community. From job shops serving a multitude of end-use sectors to dedicated captive operations, tens of thousands of readers regularly consult Metal Finishing magazine for: answers to their finishing questions; up-to-date information on the latest products and technologies; and pertinent industry news and announcements impacting surface finishers.
MetalForming - Precision Metalforming Association
MetalForming strives to serve the needs of its readers--engineers, technicians, managers, designers and others working in facilities that add value to sheetmetal. We do so by producing the industry's leading editorial package that combines staff-written and contributed feature articles, expert commentaries, industry news and state-of-the-art product updates.
Modern Machine Shop - Gardner Publications, Inc.
Modern Machine Shop is published monthly and is sent free of charge within the United States, Canada and Mexico to selected production, engineering and company management personnel employed in manufacturing plants where metalworking operations are performed.
Modern Metals - Trend Publishing
Modern Metals approach to metalworking continues to be unique. Unlike other vertical or niche market publications, which tend to focus on a specific aspect or audience withing metalworking, Modern Metals' coverage takes the recipient through an ever-changing process of a metal's journey from the mill to the OEM/end-user. Along the way, MM emphasizes the critical role metal service centers play, as well as the fabricating and forming stages. No matter what your business is, each linkn in the metal supply chain either directly or indirectly impacts the other. It is the "sum-of-all-parts" approach to metalworking that Modern Metals has adapted in this ever-changing industry.
Production Machining - Gardner Publications, Inc.
Covers the whole Screw Machine Market. It's the only magazine looking at all of today's high volume production technology, traditional and CNC. And it's the only one that addresses both job shop and captive machining operations. Production Machining looks at all the technology relevant to today's precision, high-volume machining environment and explains that technology in a practical context. It's the one magazine that speaks about what matters most to volume parts suppliers today, and what they need to know to secure their futures in this increasingly nimble and technologically complex industry. Reach your market. Your whole market.
Sound & Vibration
S&V is circulated monthly to individually qualified personnel who are concerned with noise and vibration control, automotive NVH, dynamic measurements, modal analysis, machinery reliability, acoustical engineering and dynamic testing. Qualified individuals perform: design engineering, testing and evaluation, management, research and development, consulting and engineering services, equipment reliability/PM/PdM, occupational safety and health, and other functions related to the fields served.
The Fabricator - Fabricators & Manufacturers Association
Is North America's leading magazine for the metal forming and fabricating industry. Published monthly with more than 55,000 subscribers, it covers technology for the worldwide metal fabricating industry. Serving the industry since 1971, The Fabricator's goal is to disseminate objective information about modern metal forming and fabricating techniques, machinery, tooling, and management concepts. Feature articles include how-to, case studies, and trends & technologies content.
The Home Shop Machinist - Village Press, Inc.
Founded in 1982, we've been the best source of techniques, projects, and information for the hobby machinist. What kind of features will you see in The Home Shop Machinist? In each issue, we present interesting how–to articles, machine modifications, fun projects, accessories for your shop metalworking equipment, shop improvement articles, and more.
Today's Machining World - Today's Machining World
Today’s Machining World is a Business to Business monthly magazine and Web publication which delves into the issues of concern to the people of the precision-parts industry. As new manufacturing technologies and processes evolve, Today’s Machining World will continue to inform and intrigue the reader about them.
Tooling & Production - Nelson Publishing, Inc.
Tooling & Production is a monthly magazine dedicated to manufacturing in the metalworking industries. T&P's editors provide their 80,000 readers, primarily metalworking operations management, with reliable work-a-day solutions in the form of reports on leading-edge technologies, product developments, shop floor applications, and business trends.
Tribology Transactions - Society of Tribologists and Lubrication Engineers
Tribology Transactions contains experimental and theoretical papers on friction, wear, lubricants, lubrication, materials, machines and moving components, from the macro- to the nano-scale.
Virtual & Physical Prototyping - Taylor & Francis
Virtual and Physical Prototyping provides an international forum for professionals and academics to exchange novel ideas and disseminate knowledge covering the full range of activities related to the multi-disciplinary area of virtual and rapid prototyping. Areas of focus include but are not limited to: CAD and 3D data acquisition technologies; Virtual environments; Rapid prototyping; Rapid tooling and manufacturing; Advanced rapid prototyping materials, biomaterials for medical applications; and Concurrent engineering.
My Profile |

































Loading...
