CINAHL® Complete is the most comprehensive research reference tool for nursing & allied health professionals. It provides full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL, including publications from the American Occupational Therapy Association and the American Diabetes Association, some dating back to 1937. It also has indexing for more than 5,000 journals, includes over 130 evidence-based care sheets, 170 quick lessons providing overviews of disease and conditions, 170 Continuing Education modules, and the full text for 360 research instrument records. It covers additional disciplines, such as biomedicine, alternative and complementary medicine and consumer health.
Health & Wellness Resource Center provides information on a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative and complementary medical practices. Designed for researchers at all levels, it includes magazine, journal and newspaper articles, definitions, directories, videos and reference information. Spanish language videos are available. The material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.
Health Reference Center Academic provides access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets, as well as hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries. The database is designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.
Search thirteen ProQuest health and medicine databases at once with this link: Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (Health & Medicine), Career & Technical Education Database (Health & Medicine), Family Health Database, Health & Medical Collection, Health Management Database, India Database (Health & Medicine), MEDLINE®, Nursing & Allied Health Database, PILOTS: Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress; Psychology Database, PsycINFO; Public Health Database, and Research Library (Health & Medicine).
Psychology Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind. The database offers content of interest to both researchers and general users.
This database provides abstracts and indexing for more than 640 titles, with over 540 titles available in full text. Many titles are indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.
PsycINFO contains citations to journal articles, books, chapters in books, and dissertations published as far back as 1806, in the field of psychology, as well as related disciplines like education, medicine, psychiatry, law, and social work.
Full text coverage of peer-reviewed, scholarly journals in social sciences, business, humanities, science, medicine, dentistry, radiology, nursing, emergency medicine, biology, materials science, engineering, and sports medicine.
This database offers indexing and full-text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology.
PubMed comprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can search across many disciplines and sources: scholarly articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other Websites.
Many articles are freely available in Google Scholar. If you are on-campus, Google Scholar will show you journals that the Madigan Library pays for by using the Get It @ Madigan Library link. If you are off-campus, you can set Google Scholar to see all of Madigan Library access to full-text articles by using the PDF directions below, or use Journal Locator to find out if Penn College students have access to the journal.
Contains abstracts of systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions. On the Advanced Search screen, change "Any Field" to "Method," and then choose either "Randomised controlled trial" or "Systematic Review."
Not all scholarly journals are peer-reviewed
Scholarly and peer-reviewed (or refereed) journals publish articles written by experts in that field for an audience of other experts and researchers. The difference between the two is that peer-reviewed/refereed journals review/critique the content of the articles using a panel/board of peers in that field before the article is accepted for publication. Some of the library's databases allow you to limit your searches to scholarly articles and/or peer-reviewed articles, however...
Not everything published in a peer-reviewed journal is peer-reviewed
Things like Letters to the Editor, Book Reviews, Commentary, News, items signed by anonymous, some or all of which may be found in an issue of a peer-reviewed journal, do not go through the peer-review process. Most of our databases have tools that allow you to refine your search to exclude this type of content from your list of results.
For a more extensive list of characteristics, as well as directions for how to tell if a journal is peer-reviewed, see the following guide:
It may be helpful to read current news in occupational therapyto find topics that would be interesting to research. The following is a list of journals that you can browse online through the publishers' Websites. If a title is available in one of our databases, click on the database icon included with the title and publisher information. If a title is not available in one of our databases, and you cannot access an article for free on the publisher's Website, please request a copy via interlibrary loan.
The American Journal of Occupational Therapy (AJOT) is an official publication of the American Occupational Therapy Association, Inc. and is published 7 times per year (includes 1 online supplement). This peer reviewed journal focuses on research, practice, and health care issues in the field of occupational therapy.
The Asian Journal of Occupational Therapy (AsJOT) publishes articles for the promotion of occupational therapy in Japan and Asian countries. This journal is particularly aimed at disseminating clinical, research and educational aspects of occupational therapy in Japan as well as other Asian regions to the rest of the world.
The Australian Occupational Therapy Journal is the official journal of Occupational Therapy Australia, and welcomes manuscripts relevant to the theory, research, practice and education of occupational therapy. The Journal aims to promote research and interdisciplinary communication, and provide a forum for discussion of issues relevant to occupational therapists. The Journal is dedicated to promoting occupational therapy internationally.
British Journal of Occupational Therapy (BJOT) is the official journal of the College of Occupational Therapists. Its purpose is to publish articles with international relevance that advance knowledge in research, practice, education, and management in occupational therapy. It is a monthly peer reviewed publication that disseminates evidence on the effectiveness, benefit, and value of occupational therapy so that occupational therapists, service users, and key stakeholders can make informed decisions. BJOT publishes research articles, critical reviews, practice analyses, opinion pieces, editorials, letters to the editor and book reviews. It also regularly publishes special issues on topics relevant to occupational therapy.
Consistent with its mission and vision, the principal content of the journal depicts empirical findings and theoretical/conceptual arguments pertaining to occupation-based, client-centred enablement with relevance to Canadian occupational therapy practitioners. The majority of the papers present full-length empirical studies across the full range of methodologies. Registered RCT protocols and theoretical papers and conceptual reviews that provide a new and critical perspective on a topic of relevance to occupation-based, client-centred practice are also encouraged. The journal also publishes brief reports presenting preliminary empirical findings or theoretical/conceptual arguments that have the potential to inform future research in occupational therapy. As CJOT is an English/French bilingual journal, articles are published in the language of submission with the title, key words, and abstract translated into the other language.
Clinical Rehabilitation is a highly ranked, peer reviewed scholarly journal. It is a multi-professional journal covering the whole field of disability and rehabilitation, publishing research and discussion articles which are scientifically sound, clinically relevant and sometimes provocative. The leading journal in its field, Clinical Rehabilitation combines clinical application of scientific results and theoretical aspects in an ideal form. It gives high priority to articles describing effectiveness of therapeutic interventions and the evaluation of new techniques and methods.
The purpose of HAND is to provide an international peer-reviewed journal that combines multidisciplinary expertise from surgical, medical, hand therapy, and other health care professional specialties to advance the quality of care and health of patients with hand and upper extremity pathologies. HAND is a quarterly multidisciplinary peer-reviewed journal that publishes original clinical and basic science articles, comprehensive critical reviews, and unique case reports related to the management of pathologies in the hand and upper extremity.
Hand Therapy is a peer-reviewed journal aimed at hand therapists and surgeons, occupational therapists and physiotherapists and other hand specialists. Its purpose is to publish original articles and short reports on the theory and practice of hand therapy and related fields. Suitable material is not limited to the practice of physiotherapy and occupational therapy for the hand, but includes related fields where these are a matter of interest to those in the practice of hand therapy.
The Journal of Hand Therapy is designed for hand therapists, occupational and physical therapists, and other hand specialists involved in the rehabilitation of disabling hand problems. The Journal functions as a source of education and information by publishing scientific and clinical articles. Regular features include original reports, clinical reviews, case studies, editorials, and book reviews.
The Journal of Occupational Rehabilitation is an international forum for the publication of peer-reviewed original papers on the rehabilitation of the disabled worker. The journal offers investigations of clinical and basic research; theoretical formulations; literature reviews; case studies; discussions of public policy issues and book reviews. Papers, both clinical and theoretical, derive from a broad array of fields: rehabilitation medicine, physical and occupational therapy, health psychology, orthopedics, neurology, and social work, ergonomics, biomedical and rehabilitation engineering, disability management, law and more.
Musculoskeletal Care is a peer-reviewed journal for all health professionals committed to the clinical delivery of high quality care for people with musculoskeletal conditions and providing knowledge to support decision making by professionals, patients and policy makers. This journal publishes papers on original research, applied research, review articles and clinical guidelines. Regular topics include patient education, psychological and social impact, patient experiences of health care, clinical up dates and the effectiveness of therapy
Occupational Therapy International is a peer-reviewed journal, publishing manuscripts that reflect the practice of occupational therapy throughout the world. Research studies or original concept papers are considered for publication. Priority for publication will be given to research studies that provide recommendations for evidence-based practice and demonstrate the effectiveness of a specific treatment method. Single subject case studies evaluating treatment effectiveness are also encouraged. Other topics that are appropriate for the journal include reliability and validity of clinical instruments, assistive technology, community rehabilitation, cultural comparisons, health promotion and wellness, surveys of treatment practices, historical reviews and meta-analyses that demonstrate treatment efficacy.
Occupational Therapy International is a peer-reviewed journal, publishing manuscripts that reflect the practice of occupational therapy throughout the world. Priority for publication will be given to research articles that provide recommendations for evidence-based practice and demonstrate the effectiveness of a specific treatment method. Other topics that are appropriate for the journal include reliability and validity of clinical instruments, assistive technology, community rehabilitation, cultural comparisons, health promotion and wellness, surveys of treatment practices, historical reviews and meta-analyses that demonstrate treatment efficacy.
This international peer-reviewed journal offers empirical, theoretical and review articles to readers interested in factors of human participation and how such factors influence health and well-being. Content includes: articles from social, psychological, medical and rehabilitation sciences that advance understanding of everyday activities as they influence participation and health; original research from occupational therapy that supports evidence based practice to enable participation; and qualitative and/or mixed methods research from occupational science and other disciplines that provides insight into how humans engage, participate and interact within their cultures and society.
Sports Health: A Multidisciplinary Approach is an indispensable resource for all medical professionals involved in the training and care of the competitive or recreational athlete, including primary care physicians, orthopaedic surgeons, physical therapists, athletic trainers and other medical and health care professionals. The journal publishes review articles, original research articles, case studies, images, short updates, legal briefs, editorials, and letters to the editor. Topics include: Sports injury and treatment; care of the athlete; athlete rehabilitation; medical issues in the athlete; surgical techniques in sports medicine; case studies in sports medicine; images in sports medicine; legal issues; pediatric athletes; general sports trauma; and sports psychology.
Work from Anywhere!
The Madigan Library's databases can be accessed from wherever you are, 24 hours a day/7 days a week.
Once you click on a link to a database, you need to login with your network ID & password - the same you use to login to any campus computer.
In our databases, click on "Find a copy," or "Check for availability in other Penn College resources" to see if the article you need is full-text in another database or here in the Madigan Library collection. If you are not in a database, use the link above to look up the title of the journal, magazine, or newspaper.
Can't find the article or the book you want? Use ILLiad, our interlibrary loan system, to request what you need from another library. ILLiad is incorporated into many of our databases (like ProQuest and WorldCat). Look for the button or words "Request It from Interlibrary Loan" to request a copy of the article or book from another library. This service is FREE OF CHARGE for students.