Health & Wellness Resource Center provides information on a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative and complementary medical practices. Designed for researchers at all levels, it includes magazine, journal and newspaper articles, definitions, directories, videos and reference information. Spanish language videos are available. The material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.
Health Reference Center Academic provides access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets, as well as hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries. The database is designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.
Search thirteen ProQuest health and medicine databases at once with this link: Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (Health & Medicine), Career & Technical Education Database (Health & Medicine), Family Health Database, Health & Medical Collection, Health Management Database, India Database (Health & Medicine), MEDLINE®, Nursing & Allied Health Database, PILOTS: Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress; Psychology Database, PsycINFO; Public Health Database, and Research Library (Health & Medicine).
CINAHL® Complete is the most comprehensive research reference tool for nursing & allied health professionals. It provides full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL, including publications from the American Occupational Therapy Association and the American Diabetes Association, some dating back to 1937. It also has indexing for more than 5,000 journals, includes over 130 evidence-based care sheets, 170 quick lessons providing overviews of disease and conditions, 170 Continuing Education modules, and the full text for 360 research instrument records. It covers additional disciplines, such as biomedicine, alternative and complementary medicine and consumer health.
Full text coverage of peer-reviewed, scholarly journals in social sciences, business, humanities, science, medicine, dentistry, radiology, nursing, emergency medicine, biology, materials science, engineering, and sports medicine.
PubMed comprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites.
After you search, see the left sidebar for Free full text articles, Publication Dates, Case Reports, Clincial Trials, Randomized Controlled Trials, and more.
Use Advanced search, to narrow your topic further. e.g. find an article with your keywords in a Title/Abstract (All Fields).
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can search across many disciplines and sources: scholarly articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other Websites.
Many articles are freely available in Google Scholar. If you are on-campus, Google Scholar will show you journals that the Madigan Library pays for by using the Get It @ Madigan Library link. If you are off-campus, you can set Google Scholar to see all of Madigan Library access to full-text articles by using the PDF directions below, or use our Journal Locator to find out if Penn College students have access to the journal.
Scholarly and peer-reviewed (or refereed) journals publish articles written by experts in that field for an audience of other experts and researchers. The difference between the two is that peer-reviewed/refereed journals review/critique the content of the articles using a panel/board of peers in that field before the article is accepted for publication. Some of the library's databases allow you to limit your searches to scholarly articles and/or peer-reviewed articles, however...
Not everything published in a peer-reviewed journal is peer-reviewed
Things like Letters to the Editor, Book Reviews, Commentary, News, items signed by anonymous, some or all of which may be found in an issue of a peer-reviewed journal, do not go through the peer-review process. Most of our databases have tools that allow you to refine your search to exclude this type of content from your list of results.
For a more extensive list of characteristics, as well as directions for how to tell if a journal is peer-reviewed, see the following guide:
It may be helpful to read current news in dental hygieneto find topics that would be interesting to research. The following is a list of journals that you can browse online through the publishers' Websites. If a title is available in one of our databases, click on the database icon included with the title and publisher information. If a title is not available in one of our databases, and you cannot access an article for free on the publisher's Website, please request a copy via interlibrary loan.
Annals of Surgical Innovation and Research is a forum for publication of exciting findings to support advances in the understanding, diagnosis, and treatment of surgical problems. As an open access journal, ASIR provides a platform to promote the exchange of ideas, concepts and findings amongst different surgical specialities.
Bariatric Surgical Practice and Patient Care is the essential peer-reviewed journal delivering clinical best practices and quality updates for achieving optimal bariatric surgical outcomes. Bariatric Surgical Practice and Patient Care coverage includes: quality outcomes measurement and reporting; process innovations and care delivery; short- and long-term surgical complications; pre-surgical diagnosis and consultation; pre-op, peri-op, and post-op standards of practice; patient access; patient safety issues; nutritional and dietary support; bariatric surgical emergencies; best practices and current standards for bariatric surgery; culture and ethics; body contouring and reconstructive surgery; and bariatric teamwork and communication.
Features original clinical and experimental papers, condensed reviews of new knowledge relevant to surgical research, and short technical notes serving the information needs of investigators in various fields of operative medicine. Coverage includes surgery, surgical pathophysiology, drug usage, and new surgical techniques. Special consideration is given to information on the use of animal models, physiological and biological methods as well as biophysical measuring and recording systems. The journal is of particular value for workers interested in pathophysiologic concepts, new techniques and in how these can be introduced into clinical work or applied when critical decisions are made concerning the use of new procedures or drugs.
International Journal of Surgical Pathology (IJSP) is a peer-reviewed quarterly journal offering original research and observations covering all major organ systems, timely reviews of new techniques and procedures, discussions of controversies in surgical pathology, case reports, and images in pathology.
JAMA Surgery (formerly Archives of Surgery), which began publication in 1920, is an international peer-reviewed journal. JAMA Surgery is the official publication of the Pacific Coast Surgical Association and the Association of VA Surgeons. The journal's mission is to promote the art and science of surgery by publishing relevant peer-reviewed research to assist the surgeon in optimizing patient care. JAMA Surgery will also serve as a forum for the discussion of issues pertinent to surgery, such as the education and training of the surgical workforce, quality improvement, and the ethics and economics of healthcare delivery.
The application of anatomical research to clinical problems requires selectivity in choosing from numerous publications. Surgical and Radiologic Anatomy, the first international journal of Clinical anatomy operates in the spirit that meaningful progress remains to be made. Each issue includes: Original papers, review articles, articles on the anatomical bases of medical, surgical and radiological techniques, articles of normal radiologic anatomy, brief reviews of anatomical publications of clinical interest. Surgical and Radiologic Anatomy is a journal written by anatomists for clinicians with a special interest in anatomy.
Surgical Endoscopy represents the surgical aspects of interventional endoscopy, ultrasound, and other techniques in the fields of gastroenterology, obstetrics, gynecology, and urology, as well as in gastroenterologic, thoracic, traumatic, orthopedic, and pediatric surgery. It offers a worldwide forum for discussion of aspects of interventional endoscopy and ultrasound as integral elements of surgical practice. It also affords the international surgical community a focal point for the exchange of information on practice, theory, and research in various medical and surgical disciplines. This is the official journal of the Society of American Gastrointestinal and Endoscopic Surgeons (SAGES) and European Association for Endoscopic Surgery (EAES).
Surgical Innovation (SRI) is a peer-reviewed bi-monthly journal focusing on minimally invasive surgical techniques, new instruments such as laparoscopes and endoscopes, and new technologies. SRI prepares surgeons to think and work in "the operating room of the future" through learning new techniques, understanding and adapting to new technologies, maintaining surgical competencies, and applying surgical outcomes data to their practices.
Surgical Oncology is a peer reviewed journal publishing reviews, systematic reviews and meta-analyses that contribute to the advancement of knowledge in surgical oncology and related fields of interest. Articles represent a spectrum of current technology in oncology research as well as those concerning clinical trials, surgical technique, methods of investigation and patient evaluation. Surgical Oncology publishes comprehensive reviews which examine individual topics in considerable detail, in addition to editorials and commentaries which focus on selected papers. The journal also publishes special issues which explore topics of interest to surgical oncologists in great detail - outlining recent advancements and providing readers with the most up to date information.
Daily, weekly, and monthly, Surgical Products provides timely and comprehensive coverage of the latest procedures and products that drive surgical advancements and positive outcomes, as well as promote patient safety. Surgical Products is the only brand both electronically and in print featuring new products as they come to market. Our online and print resources offer a wide variety of content – everything from news, products, best practices, case studies, and social commentary – in an easy-to-read format.
Surgical Science is a peer reviewed international journal dedicated to the latest advancements in surgery. The goal of this journal is to keep a record of the state-of-the-art research and to promote study, research and improvement within its various specialties.
In our databases, click on "Find a copy," or "Check for availability in other Penn College resources" to see if the article you need is full-text in another database or here in the Madigan Library collection. If you are not in a database, use the link above to look up the title of the journal, magazine, or newspaper.
Can't find the article or the book you want? Use ILLiad, our interlibrary loan system, to request what you need from another library. ILLiad is incorporated into many of our databases (like ProQuest and WorldCat). Look for the button or words "Request It from Interlibrary Loan" to request a copy of the article or book from another library. This service is FREE OF CHARGE for students.