Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What are guides & handbooks?
Guides and handbooks are reference manuals usually consulted for basic information or instruction, quick fact-finding, or for a concise and authoritative survey of a topic.
Find Guides and Handbooks...
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized reference sources. Most subjects are covered.
Ladner Pennsylvania Real Estate Law, 6th ed. by
Call Number: LAW KFP126 .L34 2013 v.1-2--Law Collection--2nd Fl.
Publication Date: 2013
This newly revised two-volume treatise by renowned real estate author Ronald M. Friedman. Ladner, which celebrated its 100th birthday in 2013, has been the standard for Pennsylvania real estate law and practice since 1913. It contains case law, discussion, analysis, and forms on all aspects of buying or selling real estate, including: Agreements of Sale, Mortgages, Judgments, Liens, Deeds, Easements, Estates and Tenancies, Title Insurance, Real Estate Licensing and Settlement. By evolving with the law, lawyers, and the real estate practitioners it serves, this well-known and revered real estate publication is as relevant to today's practitioners as it was to the barristers of 1913.
Legal Aspects of Architecture, Engineering and the Construction Process, 9th ed. by
Call Number: LAW KF902 .S93 2013--Law Collection--2nd Fl.
Publication Date: 2013
The primary focus of this text is to provide a bridge for students between the academic world and the real world. This bridge is built through an understanding of what is law, how law is created, how law affects almost every activity of human conduct, and how legal institutions operate. Intended mainly for architectural and engineering students, but increasingly for those in business schools and law schools, this text features a clear, concise, and jargon-free presentation. It probes beneath the surface of legal rules and uncovers why these rules developed as they did, outlines arguments for and against these rules, and examines how they work in practice. Updated with the most recent developments in the legal aspects of architectural, engineering, and the construction processes, this text is also a valuable reference for practitioners and has been cited in over twenty-five court decisions.
Real Estate Handbook, 6th ed. by
Call Number: REF HD1375 .H349 2005
Publication Date: 2005
A comprehensive reference book for real estate professionals, business students, and everybody who buys or sells property. Presents A-Z definitions of more than 2,500 commercial and residential real estate terms, supplemented with illustrations of architectural styles and details. Also features financial tables, typical contract forms, diagrams, illustrations, and a website directory.
Standard Pennsylvania Practice 2d by
Call Number: Law Alcove Collection--2nd Fl.
This updated edition is designed as a “how to” comprehensive discussion of criminal and civil practice and procedures. It incorporates statutory changes, constitutional amendments, court rule amendments, and relevant supplementary materials in the main body of the text. Additionally, a large quantity of new text covers criminal and civil procedures: foreign judgments, relief and execution, appeals, personal property, municipal improvements, orphans’ court practice, estates, wills, and state and federal inheritance and estate taxes.