The Arnold Arboretum of Harvard University is the oldest public arboretum in North America and one of the world's leading centers for the study of plants. A unique blend of beloved public landscape and respected research institution, we provide and support world-class research, horticulture and education programs that foster the understanding, appreciation and preservation of trees.
The Harvard University Herbaria, with more than 5 million specimens, are one of the 10 largest Herbaria in the world in number of specimens, and along with the library, form the world's largest university owned herbarium. Includes links to digital collections, databases, current and past research projects, the botany library, and their publication, Harvard Papers in Botany.
The mission of the Jepson Herbarium is to understand and conserve the California flora through systematic, floristic, and conservation biology studies and to communicate knowledge of the flora through publications and instructional programs.
The Lyon Arboretum and Botanical Garden is the only University botanical garden located in a tropical rainforest in the United States. It is also the only easily accessible tropical rainforest on the island of O'ahu. It currently consists of almost 200 acres at the top of the Manoa watershed with a set of small cottages and greenhouses used for research and community education about plants and the natural environments of Hawai'i. As a branch of the University of Hawai'i, it serves as a center for educational activities on plants, arts, culture, geography, and a range of other sciences. Currently, scholars from Anthropology, Biology, Botany, Culinary Arts, Engineering, Geography, Hawaiian Studies, Horticulture, and Zoology use the Arboretum in parts of their research or teaching.
At two and a half acres the University of Washington's Medicinal Herb Garden is one of the largest public gardens of its kind. It houses over 1,000 species from all over the world used in historic and modern times for treating a wide array of ailments, from colds to heart disease, as well as for food, fiber, dye, spices, and ceremonial purposes.
Founded in 1859, the Missouri Botanical Garden is one of the oldest botanical institutions in the country and a National Historic Landmark. The Garden is a center for botanical research and science education, as well as an oasis in the city of St. Louis-79 acres of beautiful horticultural display, including a 14-acre Japanese strolling garden, the Climatron® conservatory, and Garden founder Henry Shaw's original 1850 estate home.
The Morton Arboretum is an internationally recognized nonprofit organization dedicated to the planting and conservation of trees. Its 1,700 acres hold collections of more than 4,000 kinds of trees, shrubs, and other plants from around the world.
The National Herb Garden began as a gift to the people of the United States from the Herb Society of America. Members of the society also lobbied successfully for matching funds from Congress, and the National Herb Garden was constructed and dedicated in 1980 as a result. It is the largest designed herb garden in the nation that includes annual, perennial, and woody herbal plants.
The National Tropical Botanical Garden (NTBG) is a not-for-profit institution, dedicated to discovering, saving, and studying the world's tropical plants and to sharing what is learned...NTBG's gardens encompass varied ecosystems and environmental conditions, which permit the cultivation and preservation of a broad range of tropical plants. These gardens are located in the only tropical climate zones in the United States. While others can grow tropical plants in greenhouses 'under glass,' NTBG's nearly 1,800 acres of gardens and preserves afford a natural open-air environment in which these species flourish.
Founded in 1891, the Garden is one of the world’s great collections of plants, the region’s leading educational center for gardening and horticulture, and an international center for plant research. The Garden pursues its mission through its role as a museum of living plant collections arranged in gardens and landscapes across its National Historic Landmark site; through its comprehensive education programs in horticulture and plant science; and through the wide-ranging research programs of The International Plant Science Center.
RSABG is the largest botanical garden dedicated exclusively to our state's native plants. Visitors are welcome to enjoy the meandering pathways of this 86 acre natural setting which offers panoramic mountain views throughout the year.
The mission of the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew is to inspire and deliver science-based plant conservation worldwide, enhancing the quality of life. Included are links to science and horticulture, the collections, conservation and wildlife, education, and data and publications.
The Royal Botanic Gardens Board administers the Royal Botanic Gardens Melbourne, the Royal Botanic Gardens Cranbourne, the National Herbarium of Victoria, the State Botanical Collection and the Australian Research Centre for Urban Ecology (ARCUE). Patron of the RBG is Dame Elisabeth Murdoch AC DBE, a valued supporter of the RBG for many years.
Established in 1927 by an Act of Congress, the Arboretum is administered by the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Agricultural Research Service. Its mission is to serve the public need for scientific research, education, and gardens that conserve and showcase plants to enhance the environment.