Use this part of the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service’s Web site to find information on endangered plant species, including a current report of all listed animals and plants from TESS (our Threatened and Endangered Species Database System).
From the United States Environmental Protection Agency, this is one of their main topic pages with an overview of the topic and links to other EPA pages on that topic. There are also several sub-topics with which to browse.
FEIS provides up-to-date information about fire effects on plants, lichens, and animals. It was developed at the United States Department of Agriculture, Forest Service, Rocky Mountain Research Station, Fire Sciences Laboratory in Missoula, Montana. The FEIS database contains literature reviews, taken from current English-language literature of about 900 plant species, 7 lichen species, about 100 wildlife species, 17 Research Project Summaries, and 16 Kuchler plant communities of North America. The emphasis of each review and summary is fire and how it affects species. Background information on taxonomy, distribution, basic biology, and ecology of each species is also included. Reviews are thoroughly documented, and each contains a complete bibliography. Managers from several land management agencies (United States Department of Agriculture, Forest Service, and United States Department of Interior, Bureau of Indian Affairs, Bureau of Land Management, Fish and Wildlife Service, and National Park Service) choose the species included in the database. Those agencies funded the original work and continue to support maintenance and updating of the database. Search by lichen species, plant species, or invasive plants.
The Global Invasive Species Database (GISD) aims to increase awareness about invasive alien species and to facilitate effective prevention and management activities. It is managed by the Invasive Species Specialist Group (ISSG) of the Species Survival Commission of the IUCN-World Conservation Union. The GISD was developed as part of the global initiative on invasive species led by the Global Invasive Species Programme (GISP) and is supported through partnerships with the National Biological Information Infrastructure, Manaaki Whenua-Landcare Research, the Critical Ecosystem Partnership Fund, the University of Auckland and private donations. The Global Invasive Species Database focuses on invasive alien species that threaten native biodiversity and covers all taxonomic groups from micro-organisms to animals and plants in all ecosystems. Species information is either supplied by or reviewed by expert contributors from around the world.
Invasive.org has been under development for a number of years, and is the result of the efforts of a large number of people. In the mid-1990's we recognized a need for quality photographs of forest insects and disease organisms to use in information technology applications. The overall objective of Invasive.org is: to provide an accessible and easily used archive of high quality images related to invasive and exotic species, with particular emphasis on educational applications.
NISC provides high-level interdepartmental coordination of federal invasive species actions and works with other federal and non-federal groups to address invasive species issues at the national level. Includes a link to the National Invasive Species Information Center, a gateway to invasive species information; covering Federal, State, local, and international sources.
The Invasive Species Specialist Group (ISSG) aims to reduce threats to natural ecosystems and the native species they contain by increasing awareness of invasive alien species, and of ways to prevent, control or eradicate them.
The IUCN Red List of Threatened Species™ provides taxonomic, conservation status and distribution information on plants and animals that have been globally evaluated using the IUCN Red List Categories and Criteria. This system is designed to determine the relative risk of extinction, and the main purpose of the IUCN Red List is to catalogue and highlight those plants and animals that are facing a higher risk of global extinction (i.e. those listed as Critically Endangered, Endangered and Vulnerable). The IUCN Red List also includes information on plants and animals that are categorized as Extinct or Extinct in the Wild; on taxa that cannot be evaluated because of insufficient information (i.e., are Data Deficient); and on plants and animals that are either close to meeting the threatened thresholds or that would be threatened were it not for an ongoing taxon-specific conservation programme (i.e., are Near Threatened).