AlgaeBase is a database of information on algae that includes terrestrial, marine and freshwater organisms. At present, the data for the marine algae, particularly seaweeds, are the most complete. For convenience, we have included the sea-grasses even though they are flowering plants.
The Andean Botanical Information System (ABIS) presents information from floristic and systematic investigations of the flowering plants (phanerogams) of Andean South America. Topics include selected geographic regions and groups of Andean plants, flora of coastal Peru and Chile, floristic inventories from a variety of habitats in northern Peru, bibliographic resources, and searchable databases.
This presentation of the plants classification is neither complete nor without any errors. The classification used here is mainly based on the classification of the Angiosperm Phylogeny Group (AGP) The Families of Flowering Plants by L. Watson and M.J. Dallwitz (2000), updated with APG II (2003).
The Catalogue of New World Grasses (CNWG) is an on-going project led by agrostologists from five institutions to database, using TROPICOS, and link all nomenclature, types, synonymy, current taxonomy, and distribution for grasses occurring from Alaska and Greenland to Tierra del Fuego. This is presented in the context of a new suprageneric classification.
This Web site provides access to the published family, genera, and species accounts from A Catalogue of the Vascular Plants of Madagascar; Annotated Checklist of the Flowering Plants of Nepal; Flora of Chile; Flora of China; Flora of Missouri; Flora of North America; Flora of Pakistan; Moss Flora of China; and Trees and Shrubs of the Andes of Ecuador.
The data provided here have been extracted from the digital version of the Flora Europaea, the full version of which is held in the PANDORA taxonomic data base system at the Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh.
The first major regional flora ever written in Spanish, Flora Mesoamericana is a collaborative effort of the Missouri Botanical Garden the Instituto de Biología of the National Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM), the Natural History Museum, London, and numerous specialists world-wide. In Spanish, the Flora describes, for the first time, all the vascular plants growing in the southeasternmost states of Mexico (including the Yucatán Peninsula) and all the Central American republics.
FNA presents for the first time, in one published reference source, information on the names, taxonomic relationships, continent-wide distributions, and morphological characteristics of all plants native and naturalized found in North America north of Mexico.
The Germplasm Resources Information Network (GRIN) web server provides germplasm information about plants, animals, microbes and invertebrates. This program is within the U.S. Department of Agriculture's Agricultural Research Service.
Managed by the International Organization for Plant Information (IOPI), the Global Plant Checklist (GPC) is a cooperative international project designed to help humanity manage the earth's biodiversity efficiently and sustainably.
The Gymnosperm Database was established as an online entity in the summer of 1997 and has since grown steadily, getting its own URL (Conifers.org) in the summer of 1999. Currently the Database provides basic information (sometimes only a name) for all species and higher-ranked taxa of the gymnosperms, i.e., conifers, cycads, and their allies. You enter the taxonomic tree at the Family level and then navigate to the Genus, Species or sometimes Variety levels. At each level, information on the taxon at hand is provided, along with bibliographic citations that will take you to more detailed information about the taxon.
The Index Fungorum, the global fungal nomenclator coordinated and supported by the Index Fungorum Partnership, contains names of fungi (including yeasts, lichens, chromistan fungi, protozoan fungi and fossil forms) at species level and below. Funding from GBIF (2003-2004) under the ECAT work programme enabled the addition of most missing author citations and year of publication and the linking of most homotypic names. New names from the Index of Fungi, compiled at CABI-UK and published by CABI, are added every three months.
Index Hepaticarum, a list of all specific and infra-specific hornwort and liverwort names published between the effective dates of 01.01.1853 and 31.12.1973, was started at G in the 1950's by the then curator of bryophytes Charles Bonner. The aim of the project was to collate together all published hornwort and liverwort names and make these available to the scientific community to facilitate systematic research on these two groups of plants. Since this database is in French, use this helpful blog entry for tips on how to search it.
For the past three centuries, scientists have documented the earth’s plant and fungal diversity through dried reference specimens maintained in collections known as herbaria. There are approximately 3,990 herbaria in the world today, with approximately 10,000 associated curators and biodiversity specialists. Collectively the world’s herbaria contain an estimated 350,000,000 specimens that document the earth’s vegetation for the past 400 years. Index Herbariorum is a guide to this crucial resource for biodiversity science and conservation.
Also known as W3MOST, this database of moss names was prepared as part of the Index of Mosses project at the Missouri Botanical Garden. The Index of Mosses project produces guides to newly published nomenclature for mosses.
The Index to Plant Chromosome Numbers is an NSF funded project that aims to extract and index original plant chromosome numbers of naturally occurring and cultivated plants published throughout the world. A committee of voluntary contributing editors, located in various parts of the world, reviews sets of serial titles assigned to them and returns the information to the editors for collation in the Index and database. Chromosome indexes are published at two or three year intervals. The Index to Plant Chromosome Numbers project has been based at the Missouri Botanical Garden since 1978. Data from published indexes from 1979 onward are available for consultation through this facility.
The International Plant Names Index (IPNI) is a database of the names and associated basic bibliographical details of seed plants, ferns and fern allies. Its goal is to eliminate the need for repeated reference to primary sources for basic bibliographic information about plant names. The data are freely available and are gradually being standardized and checked. IPNI will be a dynamic resource, depending on direct contributions by all members of the botanical community. IPNI is the product of a collaboration between The Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, The Harvard University Herbaria, and the Australian National Herbarium.
The Jepson Manual Online treats the nearly 8,000 vascular plant taxa native or naturalized in California. It represents the most comprehensive guide to the state flora and includes special information such as horticultural requirements, endangerment, toxicity, weed status, and notes on the management of sensitive species.
A bibliography of over 200,000 publications published since 1971 and relating to the taxonomy of flowering plants, gymnosperms, and ferns. The Kew Record database contains references to all publications relating to the taxonomy of flowering plants, gymnosperms and ferns. It also includes references on phytogeography, nomenclature, chromosome surveys, chemotaxonomy, floras and botanical institutions, along with articles of taxonomic interest in the fields of anatomy and morphology, palynology, embryology and reproductive biology, and relevant bibliographies and biographies.
The database has been generated from word processor files used for producing the camera-ready copy of the printed volume of NCU-3. Numerous corrections of detail have already been effected, so that the e-version in some respects represents an update of the printed version. We hope that in the current version (1.0) we have succeeded in eliminating most of the errors introduced in the conversion process.
The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. It includes names, plant symbols, checklists, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, crop information, automated tools, onward Web links, and references. This information primarily promotes land conservation in the United States and its territories, but academic, educational, and general use is encouraged.
The goal of the Species 2000 project is to create a validated checklist of all the world's species (plants, animals, fungi and microbes). This is being achieved by bringing together an array of global species databases covering each of the major groups of organisms. Each database covers all known species in the group, using a consistent taxonomic system. The participating databases are widely distributed throughout the world and currently number 52. The existing global species databases presently account for some 60% of the total known species, so substantial investment in new databases will be needed for full coverage of all taxa to be achieved.
SEPASAL is a database and enquiry service about useful "wild" and semi-domesticated plants of tropical and subtropical drylands, developed and maintained at the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew. By "useful" we mean plants which humans eat, use as medicine, feed to animals, make things from, use as fuel, and many other uses. We focus on drier parts of the world because these are home to one sixth of the world's population, in some of the poorest countries. To search this database requires free registration.
TROPICOS® was originally created for internal research but has since been made available to the world’s scientific community. All of the nomenclatural, bibliographic, and specimen data accumulated in MBG’s electronic databases during the past 25 years are publicly available here. This system has over one million scientific names and 3.5 million specimen records.
This Checklist gives information on the accepted scientific names and synonyms of selected plant families. It allows you to search for all the scientific names of a particular plant, or the areas of the world in which it grows (distribution). The checklist includes 151 Seed Plant families (View list of included families or reviewers). Different families are in different stages of review as indicated in the family list.