Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Reference Collection houses an assortment of dictionaries, encyclopedias, directories, guides, and handbooks. The collection is located on the 1st floor of the Madigan Library.
Reference sources include dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, directories, and other materials providing general information about a variety of subjects. When you need the "backstory" on a subject, reference sources are the main source for who, what, when, where and why questions. Search the library catalog for reference materials or ask a librarian to direct you to these sources in the Reference Collection.
Detailed description or account of someone's life and the times, which is told by a different author. A biography is more than a list of impersonal facts (education, work, relationships, and death); it also portrays the subject's experience of those events.
Subject-specific reference books that contain an alphabetical list of words with information about them that is specific to that particular subject and not necessarily generic like you would find in an average, everyday dictionary.
A list of names, addresses, etc., of specific classes of people or organizations, often in alphabetical order or in some classification.
Subject-specific encyclopedias (or encyclopedic sets) are a single (or multi-volume) reference work that provides background information on a more specialized discipline.
Guides & Handbooks
Reference manuals usually consulted for basic information or instruction, quick fact-finding, or for a concise and authoritative survey of a topic.
A materials property is an intensive, often quantitative, property of some material.
Intellectual property rights granted by a government to an inventor to exclude others from making, using, offering for sale, or selling the invention throughout that country or importing the invention into that country for a limited time in exchange for public disclosure of the invention when the patent is granted.
The PE exam tests your ability to practice competently in a particular engineering discipline. It is designed for engineers who have gained at least four years’ post-college work experience in their chosen engineering discipline.
Items in a statistical study, or a quantity calculated from the data in a sample, which characterizes an important aspect in the sample (such as a mean or an average).
Established norms or requirements about technical systems. They are usually formal documents that establish uniform engineering or technical criteria, methods, processes and practices.
A style of writing used in fields as diverse as computer hardware and software, engineering, chemistry, the aerospace industry, robotics, finance, consumer electronics, and biotechnology.