Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What are guides & handbooks?
Guides and handbooks are reference manuals usually consulted for basic information or instruction, quick fact-finding, or for a concise and authoritative survey of a topic.
Find Guides & Handbooks
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized reference sources. Most subjects are covered.
A Concise Handbook of Mathematics, Physics, and Engineering Sciences by
Call Number: REF QA40 .C65 2011
Publication Date: 2011
A Concise Handbook of Mathematics, Physics, and Engineering Sciences takes a practical approach to the basic notions, formulas, equations, problems, theorems, methods, and laws that most frequently occur in scientific and engineering applications and university education. The authors pay special attention to issues that many engineers and students find difficult to understand. The first part of the book contains chapters on arithmetic, elementary and analytic geometry, algebra, differential and integral calculus, functions of complex variables, integral transforms, ordinary and partial differential equations, special functions, and probability theory. The second part discusses molecular physics and thermodynamics, electricity and magnetism, oscillations and waves, optics, special relativity, quantum mechanics, atomic and nuclear physics, and elementary particles. The third part covers dimensional analysis and similarity, mechanics of point masses and rigid bodies, strength of materials, hydrodynamics, mass and heat transfer, electrical engineering, and methods for constructing empirical and engineering formulas. The main text offers a concise, coherent survey of the most important definitions, formulas, equations, methods, theorems, and laws. Numerous examples throughout and references at the end of each chapter provide readers with a better understanding of the topics and methods. Additional issues of interest can be found in the remarks. For ease of reading, the supplement at the back of the book provides several long mathematical tables, including indefinite and definite integrals, direct and inverse integral transforms, and exact solutions of differential equations.
Civil Engineering Handbook, 2nd ed. by
Call Number: REF TA151 .C57 2003
Publication Date: 2003
This hefty, comprehensive handbook presents information on nearly every aspect of civil engineering, including design techniques, construction methods, instrumentation, material properties, and calculations. Stressing applications, each topic's coverage includes both the fundamentals as well as ready-to-use materials. Traditional as well as new and innovative practices are covered, and modern CAD/CAE tools and approaches are featured throughout. The 67 chapters are divided into eight sections on construction, environmental, structural, geotechnical, surveying, hydraulic, materials, and transportation engineering. The second edition adds three chapters on value improvement methods, the quality of urban runoff, and composite steel-composite structures. Editors Chen (U. of Hawaii) and Liew is (National University of Singapore) have brought together the work of many contributors and have carefully edited and integrated the many components of this reference. Annotation c. Book News, Inc., Portland, OR
Engineering Handbook, 2nd ed. by
Call Number: REF TA151 .E424 2005
Publication Date: 2005
This hefty handbook provides a reference for practicing engineers in industry, government, and academia. Material is divided into 30 sections that offer information on classical fields, such as mechanical, electrical civil, chemical, and environmental engineering, as well as the underlying fields of mathematics, materials, biomedical engineering, and nanotechnology. Focus is on key concepts, models, and equations. For this third edition, Dorf (electrical and computer engineering, University of California-Davis) has included 20 new chapters on areas such as bioinstrumentation, control systems, image and signal processing, and structural systems. Section and chapter tables of contents are included to aid in searching for specific topics. Annotation ©2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR
Eshbach’s Handbook of Engineering Fundamentals, 5th ed. by
Call Number: REF TA151 .E8 2009
Publication Date: 2009
With specialization now the norm in engineering, students preparing for the FE and PE exams and practitioners going outside their specialty need a general reference with material across a number of disciplines. Since 1936, Eshbach's Handbook of Engineering Fundamentals has been the bestselling reference covering the general principles of engineering; today, it's more relevant than ever. For this Fifth Edition, respected author Myer Kutz fully updates and reshapes the text, focusing on the basics, the important formulas, tables, and standards necessary for complete and accurate knowledge across engineering disciplines. With chapters on mathematical principles, physical units and standards as well as the fundamentals of mechanical, aerospace, electrical, chemical, and industrial engineering, this classic reference is more relevant than ever to both practicing engineers and students studying for the FE and PE exams.
Engineering Formulas, 8th ed. by
Call Number: REF TA151 .G4713 2006
Publication Date: 2006
This newly revised pocket guide provides engineers, scientists, technicians and students with thousands of essential technical and mathematical formulas, including hundreds of diagrams to simplify and speed their calculations. Now Engineering Formulas, 8th Edition, includes a new section on control engineering.
Standard Handbook of Heavy Construction, 3rd ed. by
Call Number: REF TA151 .S814 1996
Publication Date: 1996
The Standard Handbook of Heavy Construction, Third Edition, by James O'Brien et al, contains all the changes in materials and methods over the last 25 years, making this the best, most up-to-date problem-solver you can own. Divided into 5 huge sections--project management, equipment, materials, construction types, and case studies--this huge reference puts 1,000 pages of essential data at your fingertips, including: excavation; safety; paving; equipment economics; loaders; timber/steel construction; belt conveyors; marine equipment; scapers; cranes; partnering; engineering fundamentals; contracts; scheduling; hauling; soil surfacing; quality control; much more.
Standard Handbook for Civil Engineers, 5th ed. by
Call Number: REF TA151 .S8 2004
Publication Date: 2004
The fifth edition of this reference in civil engineering features coverage of recent code changes, including AIC, ASTM, and NDS for Wood Structures, and current EPA and OSHA regulations, plus expanded information on design build delivery systems and increased coverage of stormwater runoff. There is also new information on three-dimensional modeling of pile groups, cracking in high strength steel beams, intelligent transportation, and various types of wharf designs. Coverage encompasses fundamentals of civil engineering and the latest changes in design, construction, materials, and equipment in 23 different disciplines including systems design, geotechnical engineering, and community and regional planning. Ricketts is a consulting engineer. Annotation ©2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR
Handbook of Civil Engineering Calculations, 2nd ed. by
Call Number: REF TA332 .H35 2007
Publication Date: 2007
Covering all aspects of civil engineering calculations in an easy-to-understand format, the new edition of the 'Handbook of Civil Engineering Calculations' has been revised and updated with over 500 key calculations that show you exactly how to compute the desired values for a particular design-going quickly from data to finished result. Using both customary and SI units, this comprehensive engineer's resource is what you need to solve the civil engineering problems that come your way. From structural steel to reinforced concrete, from bridges and dams to highways and roads, Handbook of Civil Engineering Calculations, 2e, lets you handle all of these design calculations quickly-and more importantly, correctly.
Formulas for Stress, Strain, and Structural Matrices, 2nd ed. by
Call Number: REF TA407.2 .P55 2005
Publication Date: 2005
The first edition was published in 1994, comprising formulas, equations, and figures for stress analysis and the design of structural elements. Among the key areas covered: formulas for displacements, buckling loads, natural frequencies, and transient responses for beams, torsional systems, extension bars, frames, thin-walled beams, curved bars, rotors, plates, thick shells, and thin shells, together with mechanical properties and testing of engineering material. The second edition provides new content in such areas as biomechanics, biomaterials, viscoelasticity, nanotechnology, MEMS, and material selection. Annotation ©2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR
Structural Engineering Formulas, 2nd ed. by
Call Number: REF TA636 .M55 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Thoroughly revised with more than 300 new formulas, this compact yet comprehensive compilation puts essential data related to the design and analysis of engineering structures at your fingertips. Structural Engineering Formulas, Second Edition covers a wide range of topics, including statics, soils, foundations, retaining structures, pipes, and tunnels, and explains the use and application of each ready-to-use formula. This time-saving reference for civil engineers is also invaluable to students and those studying for licensing exams.