Research Guides: Human Services: Dictionaries

What is a dictionary?

Subject-specific dictionaries are reference books that contain an alphabetical list of words with information about them that is specific to that particular subject and not necessarily generic like you would find in an average, everyday dictionary.

Online Dictionaries

Glossary of Selected Social Science Computing Terms and Social Science Data Terms
more...less...
This glossary includes terms which you may find useful in managing data collections and providing basic data services. It does not attempt to cover all social science research terms or all computer terms. The definitions used are meant to be helpful in a data library environment.
Online Dictionary of the Social Sciences
more...less...
This dictionary is an electronic (database) version of a 900+ item dictionary authored by by Gary Parkinson, Ph.D. and Robert Drislane, Ph.D. The electronic version is fully searchable (both terms and definition text). Conversion was undertaken by ICAAP for Athabasca University. This dictionary is being offered free of charge to students, instructors, and anyone else interested in learning more about the social sciences.

Dictionaries in the Library Collection

The Counseling Dictionary, 4e by Samuel T. Gladding
Publication Date: 2018
Features 4,000 commonly used terms and abbreviations in counseling. Highlights the professional contributions of prominent counselors, both historical and contemporary, and includes a current chronology of the evolution of counseling.
Human Services Dictionary, 2e by Howard Rosenthal
Call Number: REF HV12 .R67 2020
Publication Date: 2020
Key features include reader-friendly definitions with accompanying examples and extensive cross-referencing, as well as short biographies of important figures in the field, a short history of human services, summaries of popular research experiments, and specialized and slang terms specific to the human service profession.
Social Work Dictionary, 5th ed. by Barker, Robert L.
Call Number: REF HV12 .B37 2003
ISBN: 087101355X
Publication Date: 2003
Provides the social worker with an abbreviated interpretation of the words, concepts, organizations, historical events, and values that are relevant to the profession. Covers some 8,000 terms, including 2,000 that are new to this edition. Other features include a list of frequently-used acronyms; a list of milestones in the development of social work and social welfare; the NASW Code of Ethics; and resources. Annotation copyrighted by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR