Skip to main content

How to Search Madigan Library Databases: Where to start researching

Work from anywhere!

Relaxed at deskMadigan Library's databases can be accessed from wherever you are, 24 hours a day/7 days a week.

Once you click on a database, you will login with your network ID & password - the same you use to login to any campus computer.

Our most popular databases

ProQuest is one of the biggest article databases the library has. You can find something on almost any topic in here.

  • Nothing good in your results list? Under "Sort results by:" change your option to Relevance
  • Need a citation for the article? Use the Cite link and choose your style to get a ready-made citation 
  • Looking for only scholarly or peer-reviewed articles? Check any of the full-text, peer-reviewed or scholarly journals boxes underneath where you typed your search

Newspaper articles and trade newsletters can be found in Nexis Uni. Newspapers are for larger cities within the U.S., not for local newspapers (like the Williamsport Sun-Gazette). Transcripts for news shows on CNN may also be found here.

JSTOR is great for searching for full-text, scholarly articles, but it's important to remember that JSTOR is an archive and specializes in going back in time, not in being current.

Search for articles in multiple databases all at once. This will also search for books as well. You can use the list of formats on the left of your results to limit to only articles. Don't forget there's citation help available when you click on the "Cite/Export" link when looking at the details of any book or article.

Books and monitorFor more databases, see the library's full list by subject.

Search Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar provides a simple way to search for scholarly literature on the internet. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

Many articles are freely available in Google Scholar. Also, if you are on campus, Google Scholar will go directly to journals that the Madigan Library pays for using the Get It @ Madigan Library link. If you are off campus, you can set Google Scholar to see all of Madigan Library access to full text articles or use our Journal Locator to find out if Penn College students have access to the journal. 

Search Inside Books

Using Google books, you can search inside every page of the books in their database. You can then use the Find in a Library link to find out if we have the book you need in the Madigan Library

 
Google Book Search