Research Guides: Graphic Novels: Research

Books about comics

Graphic Novels and Comic Books by Kat Kan (Editor); H. W. Wilson (Editor)
Call Number: PN6710 .G736 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Graphic Novels: Everything You Need to Know by Paul Gravett
Call Number: PN6710 .G738 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Japanese Fantasy Manga by Ali Ueda; RicoRico Staff
Call Number: PN6790 .J3 R49 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Graphic Novels Now: Building, Managing, and Marketing a Dynamic Collection by Francisca Goldsmith
Call Number: Z692 .G7 G65 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Graphic Novels: A Genre Guide to Comic Books, Manga, and More by Michael Pawuk; Brian K. Vaughan (Foreword by)
Call Number: Z5956 .C6 P38 2007
Publication Date: 2007

Recommended library databases and internet resources

These databases are available through Madigan library. They were chosen as some of the more relevant databases for research on graphic novels, comics, or manga. If accessing off-campus, you will have to login through PCT in order to access. (Hover your cursor over the blue link to see a description of each database.)

ERIC This link opens in a new window
Provides access to education literature and resources of full-text documents from ERIC back to 1966.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Digitized back runs of scholarly journals dating back to the 1600s. The past 1-5 years of current titles may not be available. Subjects include arts, business and economics, history, humanities, law, medicine and health, science and mathematics, and more.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes core journals, books, research reports, and proceedings. Subjects include librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, and biographies to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Search the majority of our ProQuest databases at one time. Subjects include the arts, business, health & medicine, history, literature, science & technology, and social sciences.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search across many disciplines and sources for scholarly articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other reputable websites.

ImageText
ImageTexT is a peer-reviewed, open access journal dedicated to the interdisciplinary study of comics and related media. We are published by the English Department at the University of Florida with support from the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. Our content is available free of charge, and regular issues of ImageTexT will be published three times per year.

Create your own!

This list of books is a good place to start if you wish to study the artistic and design aspects of comics or if you want to create a graphic novel or manga of your own! Each can be found in Madigan library, in the catalog under manga or graphic novel and the sub-category Illustration, design, drawing.