Research Guides: MGT115 Principles of Management: Statistical Sources

FYI-Stats

When analyzing and interpreting information you may choose to include statistical information (data) to lend credibility to your findings. Be sure to use statistical information from authoritative sources. Check the Madigan Library catalog or ask a librarian for help.

Print Statistical Resources

Business Statistics of the United States 2012 by Cornelia J. Strawser (Editor); Mary Meghan Ryan (Editor)
Call Number: REF HC103 .B8 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Business Statistics of the United States is a comprehensive and practical collection of data that reflects the nation’s economic performance since 1929. It provides over 80 years of annual data in regional, demographic and industrial detail for key indicators such as: gross domestic product, personal income, spending, saving, employment, unemployment, the capital stock and more.

Online Statistical Resources

Statista This link opens in a new window
Market and consumer data and all things statistics. Downloadable data, numbers, and facts in various formats on various topics and industries.

Bureau of Labor Statistics
Covers inflation and prices, employment, unemployment, pay and benefits, spending and time use, productivity, and workplace injuries.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics: Career Outlook
Career Outlook articles provide data and information on a variety of topics—including occupations and industries, pay and benefits, and more. These articles are helpful for students, career counselors, jobseekers, and others planning careers.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics: Occupational Outlook Handbook
The Occupational Outlook Handbook is the government's premier source of career guidance featuring information on hundreds of occupations.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics: Occupational Outlook Handbook A-Z Job Index
Browse within this Occupational Outlook Handbook's A-Z Index to find information on thousands of different jobs
Data.gov
Use this site to find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
Pennsylvania State Data Center
The Commonwealth’s official source for demographic and economic data.
Population Reference Bureau
A private, nonprofit organization specializing in collecting and supplying statistics necessary for research and/or academic purposes focused on the environment, and health and structure of populations.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations.
U.S. Census Bureau
Provides statistical resources for people and households, business and industry, and geography. Included are links to state and county QuickFacts and Statistical Abstract of the United States.
U.S. Census Bureau NAICS Search
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.

Subject Guide

Elizabeth Waugh

Email Me

Contact:

Madigan Library - LIB138
Sunday - Wednesday 1:00 - 9:00 pm
Thursday 8:30 am - 4:30 pm
Librarian for the School of Engineering Technologies and the School of Business, Arts & Sciences

570.320.2400 ext. 7742

Subjects: Baking & Culinary, Business Administration, Electrical, Electronics & Computer Engineering, Engineering & Industrial Design, Hospitality, Information Technology, Marketing, Sport & Event Management