Skip to main content

Nagy: Finding Articles

Provides information to assist students in Mr. Nagy's ENL111 class in performing library research, using the results for composition assignments, and citing their sources.

Find Articles in

Use the Google Scholar search box to search for articles on your topic, and then use the library's Journal Locator (under Databases) to get the full-text of those articles. If you use Google Chrome as your browser, there may be links which will take you directly to full text at Madigan Library.

Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed Journals

What are "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles?

  • Written by experts in that field
  • Content has been critically evaluated by other experts
  • Contains bibliography/reference list of other sources used

Do we own it?

Do you have a citation and want to see if we have the article?  Search for journal titles to see if we have the journal in full-text online or in print here in the library.

Interlibrary Loan

Library Databases

Use the “Database Directory (A-Z)” list if you know which database you want to use, and use the "All Subjects" drop-down menu to help you decide on a database if you’re not sure. You can narrow down your choices using its ten categories. Click on the database name on either list to find out the contents of the database and what years it covers.

If you became somewhat familiar with ProQuest when you took the Library Tutorial, you’ll be glad to know that there are other ProQuest databases in most subject categories, so you’ll already know how to search them. Each of these databases may appear in other categories as well as those below.

More Databases

Subject Guide

Helen Yoas's picture
Helen Yoas
Contact:
Madigan Library, LIB137
M-F 8:30AM-5:00PM
570-320-2400 x7920

Digital access to the New York Times

You can get full access to the New York Times from any device. Just log in to any computer on campus and go to nytimes.com/grouppass, then create an account. From then on, you'll be able to use your account anywhere you have internet access.

When to Use Magazine Articles

When you need very recent information, and when you want full-text articles to read on your own computer.