While the resources below will help you in the Makerspace, use our library catalog to find the newest articles, books, videos, and more with your project.
Research on virtually any technical topic, including: computing science; healthcare; building trades; auto mechanics; sales and retail; accounting; graphic design; and photography.
Full-text database which includes aircraft design, automotive design, bridges and tunnels, buildings, towers and tanks; civil engineering for air and space transportation, coastal and offshore structures, construction materials, and construction machinery.
Publications involving aircraft engineering, automotive engineering, bonding, brazing, welding, bioengineering and biotechnology, biomaterials and biomedical engineering, casting and molding, ceramics, electrochemical properties, and chemical engineering.
3D Printing by
Based on articles and projects from MAKE's print and online publications, this book arms you with everything you need to know to understand the exciting but sometimes confusing world of 3D Printing.
3D Printing: A Revolutionary Process for Industry Applications by
3D Printing: A Revolutionary Process for Industry Applications examines how some companies have already adopted 3D printing, gives guidance on critical areas such as manufacturing supply, and traces the lifecycle of 3D printing as well as cost drivers and influences. The author leverages his experience in leading engineering firms to bring together an industry-by-industry guide to the potentials of 3D printing for large-scale manufacturing and engineering. The book provides all the skills and insights that a Chief Engineer would need to address complex manufacturing problems in the real-world using 3D printing technology. As 3D printing is a rapidly growing area with the potential to transform industries, the potential for large-scale adoption involves complex systems crossing engineering disciplines. In order to use 3D printing to solve manufacturing problems in this context, an array of expertise and knowledge about technology, suppliers, the uses of 3D printing by industry, 3D printing lifecycle and cost drivers must be assembled. This book accomplishes that by introducing 3D printing technology with specific references to 18 industry sectors.
3D Printing: An Introduction by
This book is designed as an introduction to the field of 3Dprinting. It includes an overview of 3D printing technology in industry,education, and the exploding area of Do-It-Yourself. It contains a detailedlook at the common 3D printers, materials, and software. Using full-colorimages throughout, the book guides you on setting up your own printer andperforming calibration tasks, including descriptions of printing methods, bestpractices, pitfalls to avoid, and how to finish a completed project. Dividedinto three parts, the book covers a brief history and evolution of 3D printers,along with their use in industry and in personal consumer use in Part 1. Part 2gets you started with the set up and use of a common 3D printer, from initialhardware and material calibration and safety, to how the software functions work,and how to acquire 3D objects to print. It then showcases three differentprojects from start to finish. Part 3 concentrates on buying your own printer,the common features of personal 3D printers, and includes sections for theadventurous on post-market modifications. Companion files are included withvideos, applications, and examples of 3D printing. Features: Companion files are included with printable 3D objects in common formats, additional lessons, checklists, figures from the text, and videos showing time-lapse, printing, and print refinement Provides an overview of the technology, applications, and design issues associated with 3D printing technology Includes review questions, discussion/essay questions and "Applying What You've Learned" in every chapter
3D Printing for Construction with Alternative Materials by
This book explores the latest achievements and design possibilities that 3D printing for construction (DPC) can offer, the alternative materials to natural aggregates or cement and even the 4th dimension that is already starting in this area. DPC materiality is starting to be explored in architecture as a new design language to reach not only outrageous forms but also to leverage the building process and its performance. Like Corbusier explored the concrete potentiality of concrete to release the façade and the plan, 3DPC is allowing to straighten design freedom with building performance. Industry and Scientific research are offering design professionals possibilities to start a new design movement. New paths are also starting to be tracked to reduce even more this building system footprint, stalking alternatives to Portland cement (PC). Today is already possible to build with the soil from the buildings' ground. Leftovers from various industries are opening possibilities to decrease the PC and natural aggregates rate in printable mortars. From the industry, salt is becoming a possibility to be used in 3DPC. Sugar can ashes are improving the mortar performance reducing adjuvants. Construction and demolition waste can substitute natural aggregates and even offer new textures and color possibilities. Finally, to close this edition, the latest steps on the use of Phase Change Materials in additive manufacturing are collected to raise awareness to the next step of AM, the 4D printing.
3D Printing for Dummies by
Print out whatever you can dream up 3D Printing For Dummies is an easy reference for anyone new to the process of taking a digital file and turning it into an object in the real world. (Pretty amazing stuff, right?) It's also a handy guide for more experienced users looking to learn the latest and greatest in additive manufacturing. Updated for the latest generation of machines and materials, this book walks you through creating models and printing 3D objects. You'll get the scoop on the impact of these versatile machines in production and manufacturing, reuse and recycling, intellectual property design controls, and more. It's an exciting time to get into 3D printing, and this friendly Dummies guide is here to help you do it. Wrap your mind around the technology of 3D printing Understand how 3D printing is transforming industries Get an intro to making your own digital models Consider the pros and cons of 3D printing for your hobby or business needs 3D Printing For Dummies is a perfect resource for anyone interested in learning about and taking advantage of 3D printing technology.
3D Printing for Energy Applications by
Explores current and future perspectives of 3D printing for the fabrication of high value-added complex devices 3D Printing for Energy Applications delivers an insightful and cutting-edge exploration of the applications of 3D printing to the fabrication of complex devices in the energy sector. Covers aspects related to additive manufacturing of functional materials with applicability in the energy sector. It reviews both the technology of printable materials and 3D printing strategies itself, and its use in energy devices or systems.
3D Printing for Product Designers by
3D Printing for Product Designers closes the gap between the rhetoric of 3D printing in manufacturing and the reality for product designers. It provides practical strategies to support the adoption and integration of 3D printing into professional practice. 3D printing has evolved over the last decade into a practical proposition for manufacturing, opening up innovative opportunities for product designers. From its foundations in rapid prototyping, additive manufacturing has developed into a range of technologies suitable for end-use products. This book shows you how to evaluate and sensitively understand people, process and products and demonstrates how solutions for working with additive manufacturing can be developed in context. It includes a practical, step-by-step plan for product designers aimed at supporting the successful implementation of 3D printing by stakeholders at all levels of a manufacturing facility, tailored to their stage of technology integration and business readiness. It features a wide range of real-world examples of practice illustrated in full colour, across industries such as healthcare, construction, and film, aligning with the strategic approach outlined in the book. The book can be followed chronologically to guide you to transform your process for a company, to meet the unique needs of a specific client, or to be used as a starting point for the product design entrepreneur. Written by experienced industry professionals and academics, this is a fundamental reference for product designers, industrial designers, design engineers, consultants and makers.
3D Printing: Technology, Applications, and Selection by
3D Printing is a faster, more cost-effective method for building prototypes from three-dimensional computer-aided design (CAD) drawings. 3D Printing provides a fundamental overview of the general product design and manufacturing process and presents the technology and application for designing and fabricating parts in a format that makes learning easy. This user-friendly book clearly covers the 3D printing process for designers, teachers, students, and hobbyists and can also be used as a reference book in a product design and process development.
Fusion 360 for Makers by
Learn how to use Autodesk Fusion 360 to digitally model your own original projects for a 3D printer or a CNC device.
High Resolution Manufacturing from 2D to 3D/4D Printing by
Provides a comprehensive presentation of the most frequently used high resolution manufacturing techniques available, as well as the polymeric materials used for each of the techniques.
Getting Started with 3D Printing by
The book is written in a casual, conversational style. It is easily accessible to those who have no prior knowledge in 3D printing, yet the book's message is solidly practical, technically accurate, and consumer-relevant. The chapters include contemporary, real-life learning exercises and insights for how to buy, use and maintain 3D printers. It also covers free 3D modeling software, as well as 3D printing services for those who don't want to immediately invest in the purchase of a 3D printer. Particular focus is placed on free and paid resources, the various choices available in 3D printing, and tutorials and troubleshooting guides.
Mastering 3D Printing by
Get the most out of your printer, including how to design models, choose materials, work with different printers, and integrate 3D printing with traditional prototyping to make techniques like sand casting more efficient.This book is for new 3D printer owners, makers of all kinds, entrepreneurs, technology educators, and anyone curious about what you can do with a 3D printer. In this revised and expanded new edition of Mastering 3D Printing, which has been a trusted resource through five years of evolution in the 3D printing industry, you'll gain a comprehensive understanding of 3D printing. This book presumes no foreknowledge and describes what you need to know about how printers work, how to decide which type of printer (filament, resin, or powder) makes the most sense for you, and then how to go forward in the case of filament and resin printers. This new edition now includes material about consumer resin printing, the evolution of lower-cost metal printing, and the plethora of both materials and applications. What You'll Learn Choose among the different 3D printing technologies Create or find 3D models to print Make both easy and challenging prints come out as you imagined Assess whether your business, factory, home or classroom will benefit from 3D printing Work with applications that are good candidates for first projects in home and industrial applications Who This Book Is For People who are encountering 3D printing for the first time, or for those who want to level up their skills. It is designed for the nontechnical adult and minimizes jargon. However more sophisticated users will still find tips and insights of value.
Programming with OpenSCAD by
OpenSCAD is free, open-source 3D modelling software; its easy-to-use programming interface is great for beginners, because the simple design lets you quickly display and view the results of your code. In Learn to Program With 3D Printing, OpenSCAD's creator will teach you all you need to know to design, programme, and create amazing 3D-printed projects. Along the way, beginning programmers are introduced to essential programming concepts, like variables, loops, functions, and more.
