Research Guides: Family Medicine: Quick Links

Textbooks

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to medical textbooks, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessments, case files, time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools.

5-Minute Consult This link opens in a new window
Provides access to information on the diagnosis, treatment, medications, and follow-up of diseases and conditions, as well as related illnesses typically associated with certain diseases and conditions.
AccessMedicine Case Files Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Helps students learn and apply basic science and clinical medicine concepts in the context of realistic patient cases.
You will need to have a MyAccess profile to use the files. Click on the link to MyAccess on the main page and follow directions.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Point-of-care tool designed to answer the clinical questions that arise in daily practice. Medical calculators, drug interactions, and patient education materials are included.

Case Files: Family Medicine, 5e by Eugene C. Toy; Donald Briscoe; Bruce S. Britton; Joel John Heidelbaugh
Publication Date: 2020
The 60 cases feature realistic clinical scenarios designed to help you enhance and hone your clinical decision-making skills. Each case includes an easy-to-understand discussion correlated to key concepts, definitions of key terms, clinical pearls, and Board-style review questions to reinforce learning.

McGraw-Hill Education Complete Medical Spanish, 3e by Joanna Rios; José Fernández Torres; Tamara Ríos; José Fernández Torres; Tamara Ríos
Publication Date: 2015
Each chapter features vocabulary, key phrases, dialogs based on common medical situations, and exercises that reinforce understanding and build confidence.

Consumer Health Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes journal and magazine articles covering a range of health subjects, from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry.
ProQuest Health & Medicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search 13 ProQuest health and medicine databases at once.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprises more than 37 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Be sure to use this link to see full-text options available through Madigan Library.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of peer-reviewed, scholarly journals in social sciences, business, humanities, science, medicine, dentistry, radiology, nursing, emergency medicine, biology, materials science, engineering, and sports medicine.

The Encyclopedia of Men's Health by Deborah S. Romaine; Glenn S. Rothfeld
Call Number: REF RA777.8 .R68 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Provides more than 600 entries on issues related to men's physical and mental health and well-being.
Encyclopedia of Women's Health by Sana Loue (Editor); Martha Sajatovic (Editor)
Call Number: REF RA778 .E5825 2004
Publication Date: 2004
A-to-Z coverage, including AIDS, birth control, hormone replacement therapy, teen pregnancy, sexual harassment, violence, body image, access to health care and more.