Research Guides: Nursing &amp; Practical Nursing: Quick Links

Textbooks

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to medical textbooks, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessments, case files, time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools.

Evidence-Based Care Sheets
Summaries on specific key topics, which are focused on nursing practice. Each sheet incorporates the latest evidence, statistics, research and references on a given topic. The references are ranked, using a coding matrix, according to the type of literature they represent (systematic reviews, meta-analysis, etc).

5-Minute Consult This link opens in a new window
Provides access to information on the diagnosis, treatment, medications, and follow-up of diseases and conditions, as well as related illnesses typically associated with certain diseases and conditions.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Designed to answer the clinical questions that arise in daily practice and to do so quickly and easily so that it can be used right at the point of care. Physician editors and authors review and update content on a continuous basis and a new, peer-reviewed version is issued every four months. The published evidence is summarized and specific recommendations made for patient care. Drug interactions are included.

CINAHL® Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides broad content coverage including 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more.
Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to academic journals and other reference content covering all aspects of the nursing profession, from direct patient care to health care administration.
Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and more. Designed for researchers at healthcare facilities as well as nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprises more than 35 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher sites. Be sure to use this link to see full-text options available through Madigan Library. Search tip: Add nursing[mh] to the search box followed by AND plus your search terms to limit results to nursing articles. E.g., nursing[mh] AND prenatal care

Using PubMed in Evidence-Based Practice Training Course
Demonstrates how to use evidence-based practice when searching clinical questions using PubMed.

Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice, 4e by American Nurses Association
Call Number: RT85.5 .N87 2021
Publication Date: 2021
The scope of practice statement answers the who, what, when, where, how, and why questions of nursing. The standards provide authoritative statements of the actions and behaviors that all registered nurses are expected to competently perform, regardless of role, population, specialty, and setting. Each standard is accompanied by detailed competencies for the three practice levels.

ANA Standards for Excellence
Nursing standards from the American Nurses Association. Included are links to the Code of Ethics for Nurses, ANA Nursing Standards, ANA Position Statements, and ANA Principles for Nursing Practice.
Nursing Resources for Standards and Interoperability
Explains the role of SNOMED CT and LOINC in implementing Meaningful Use in the United States, how to find Concept Unique Identifiers (CUIs) and extract synonymy from the Unified Medical Language System (UMLS) Metathesaurus between SNOMED CT and other nursing terminologies such as CCC, ICNP, NANDA-I, NIC, NOC, The Omaha System, and PNDS, and includes additional resources for nursing clinical documentation purposes.