Research Guides: Occupational & Environmental Medicine: Quick Links

Other Relevant Guides

Community & Public Health
by Georgia Laudenslager Last Updated Jan 24, 2024 6 views this year

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to medical textbooks, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessments, case files, time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools.

5-Minute Consult This link opens in a new window
Provides access to information on the diagnosis, treatment, medications, and follow-up of diseases and conditions, as well as related illnesses typically associated with certain diseases and conditions.
AccessMedicine Case Files Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Helps students learn and apply basic science and clinical medicine concepts in the context of realistic patient cases.
You will need to have a MyAccess profile to use the files. Click on the link to MyAccess on the main page and follow directions.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Point-of-care tool designed to answer the clinical questions that arise in daily practice. Medical calculators, drug interactions, and patient education materials are included.

Environmental Health Sciences Glossary
National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences
Glossary
Stanford University
Glossary of Terms and Definitions
NJ Department of Health

Dictionary of Environmental Health by Frank R Spellman
Publication Date: 2022
Defines over 17,000 words illustrating the enormous magnitude of the environmental health field.

ProQuest Health & Medicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search 13 ProQuest health and medicine databases at once.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprises more than 35 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Be sure to use this link to see full-text options available through Madigan Library.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of peer-reviewed, scholarly journals in social sciences, business, humanities, science, medicine, dentistry, radiology, nursing, emergency medicine, biology, materials science, engineering, and sports medicine.

Health & Safety at Work
Browse the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews for this topic.

Gale Encyclopedia of Environmental Health, 2e, Volume 1 by Jacqueline L. Longe
Publication Date: 2019
Covers all aspects of environmental health, including recent and historic natural and man made environmental health events, environmentally related health conditions and diseases, important public health practices, environmental terms, and significant organizations and legislation. Addresses environmental health concerns with a global perspective.
Gale Encyclopedia of Environmental Health, 2e, Volume 2 by Jacqueline L. Longe
Publication Date: 2019
Covers all aspects of environmental health, including recent and historic natural and man made environmental health events, environmentally related health conditions and diseases, important public health practices, environmental terms, and significant organizations and legislation. Addresses environmental health concerns with a global perspective.

NIOSH Pocket Guide to Chemical Hazards
Informs workers, employers, and occupational health professionals about workplace chemicals and their hazards.