Skip to main content

Using Articles & Videos in P.L.A.T.O.: Using Articles in P.L.A.T.O.

Copyright Notice

The following is standard language that should accompany any article used in a course, whether printed and handed out in class, or included electronically in a course site:

No further reproduction and distribution of this copy is permitted by transmission or any other means.  This material is subject to U.S. Copyright Law; further reproduction in violation of that law is prohibited.

Articles from PRINT (including interlibrary loans)

If the article you are using is a photocopy or a scanned copy from a print copy of a journal, and you are using it for just one semester, AND there is insufficient time to obtain copyright permission due to an immediate instructional need, you are permitted to upload a PDF of that article into your course site.

If the article you are using is a photocopy or a scanned copy from a print copy of a journal, and you are using it multiple semesters, permission is necessary with the exception that fair use* may apply.

*Fair Use Note

If using only a small amount of work for instruction, no permission is needed, even for repeated use, so long as it was legally obtained, there are no licensing restrictions, and it is not considered the "heart" of the work.

For more information, see:

Loading ...

Articles from Library Databases

If the article you are using is available full-text from one of the following vendors, you will need to add a permalink in your course site to the article in that database:

  • EBSCOhost
  • Faulkner Information Services
  • Gale
  • McGraw-Hill Medical
  • Ovid
  • ProQuest

See the complete list of databases provided by these vendors:

If the article you are using is available full-text from one of the following vendors, you may add a permalink in your course site to the article in that database OR you may download the content and then upload it into your course site:

  • ACM Digital Library
  • ASTM
  • Building Green
  • Checkpoint
  • Lexicomp
  • LexisNexis
  • SAGE

NOTE:

If you link to content, no copyright permissions are needed.  If you upload content, you will need to follow copyright guidelines.

See the complete list of databases provided by these vendors:

Loading ...

Articles from Other Internet Sources

If the article you are using is available full-text from another Internet site (i.e. not from a library database), you may add a link in your course site that goes out to the content on that Website, HOWEVER you should be aware of the terms of use for that site.