BiographiesDictionariesEncyclopediasGuides and HandbooksStatistics
Animations, Drawings and VideosAssociations, Institutes and SocietiesCalculators and ConvertersGovernment SitesHistoryPreprint and ePrint ServersResearch Centers and LaboratoriesTeaching Resources
This is the "Home" page of the "Physics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Physics  

Last Updated: Nov 4, 2014 URL: http://pct.libguides.com/physics Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome!

This guide contains links to databases containing articles, scholarly online resources, and information about print and electronic materials in the Madigan Library that can be helpful to your research.

If you have questions, contact me using the information on the right-hand side of this guide.  If I'm not available, try using our Ask a Librarian service.

 

Choosing a Topic

It may be helpful to read current news on physics to find ideas for topics that would be interesting to research.  The following is a list of journals that you can browse online.  If you find an article you wish to read, enter the journal title in Journal Locator to see if we have access to it.

Cover Art
Advances in Physics - Taylor & Francis
Advances in Physics publishes authoritative critical reviews by experts on topics of interest and importance to condensed matter physicists. It is intended for motivated readers with a basic knowledge of the journal’s field and aims to draw out the salient points of a reviewed subject from the perspective of the author. The journal's scope includes condensed matter physics and statistical mechanics: broadly defined to include the overlap with quantum information, cold atoms, soft matter physics and biophysics.

Cover Art
American Journal of Physics - American Institute of Physics
AJP publishes papers that meet the needs and intellectual interests of college and university physics teachers and students. Articles provide a deeper understanding of physics topics taught at the undergraduate and graduate level, insight into current research in physics and related areas, suggestions for instructional laboratory equipment and demonstrations, insight into and proven suggestions for better teaching methodologies, insight into how college students learn physics, information on historical, philosophical and cultural aspects of physics, annotated lists of resources for different areas of physics, and book reviews.

Cover Art
Applied Physics Letters - American Institute of Physics
Applied Physics Letters features concise, up-to-date reports on significant new findings in applied physics. Emphasizing rapid dissemination of key data and new physical insights, Applied Physics Letters offers prompt publication of new experimental and theoretical papers bearing on applications of physics phenomena to all branches of science, engineering, and modern technology.

Cover Art
Comtemporary Physics - Taylor & Francis
Contemporary Physics publishes unique, high quality review articles on important recent developments in physics. The papers are specially commissioned from experts in their field, and are essential reading for any serious physical scientist from student to experienced researcher. Each paper gives a comprehensive review of the current state of the subject and places it within a broader context of industrial and research possibilities and applications. Contemporary Physics also contains a major section in each issue devoted to substantive reviews of books of interest in physics

Cover Art
Journal of Applied Physics - American Institute of Physics
Journal of Applied Physics is the American Institute of Physics' (AIP) archival journal for significant new results in applied physics; content is published online daily, collected into two online and printed issues per month (24 issues per year). The journal publishes articles that emphasize understanding of the physics underlying modern technology, but distinguished from technology on the one side and pure physics on the other. Applied Physics Reviews is a series of occasional review articles on topics within this scope. The Proceedings of the Conference on Magnetism and Magnetic Materials is an annual feature.

Cover Art
Journal of Modern Physics - Scientific Research Publishing
Journal of Modern Physics is an international journal dedicated to the latest advancement of modern physics. The goal of this journal is to provide a platform for scientists and academicians all over the world to promote, share, and discuss various new issues and developments in different areas of modern physics.

Cover Art
Journal of Physics A: Mathematical and Theoretical - Institute of Physics
Reporting on the mathematical structures that describe the physical world and on the analytical, computational and numerical methods for exploring these structures.

Cover Art
Journal of Physics B: Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics - Institute of Physics
Journal of Physics B: Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics covers the study of atoms, ions, molecules and clusters, and their structure and interactions with particles, photons or fields. The journal also publishes articles dealing with those aspects of spectroscopy, quantum optics and non-linear optics, laser physics, astrophysics, plasma physics, chemical physics, optical cooling and trapping and other investigations where the objects of study are the elementary atomic, ionic or molecular properties of processes.

Cover Art
Journal of Physics D: Applied Physics - Institute of Physics
This journal is concerned with all aspects of applied physics research, from magnetism, plasmas and semiconductors to the structure and properties of matter.

Cover Art
Journal of Physics G: Nuclear and Particle Physics - Institute of Physics
Journal of Physics G: Nuclear and Particle Physics publishes theoretical and experimental research in nuclear and particle physics including all interface areas between these fields. The journal also publishes articles on nuclear and particle astrophysics.

Cover Art
Journal of Physics: Condensed Matter - Institute of Physics
Journal of Physics: Condensed Matter covers the whole of condensed matter physics including soft condensed matter and nanostructures. Papers may report experimental, theoretical or simulation studies.

Cover Art
Nature Physics - Nature Publishing Group
Nature Physics publishes papers of the highest quality and significance in all areas of physics, pure and applied. The journal content reflects core physics disciplines, but is also open to a broad range of topics whose central theme falls within the bounds of physics. Theoretical physics, particularly where it is pertinent to experiment, also features.

Cover Art
Physical Review A: Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics - American Physical Society
Physical Review A (PRA) provides a dependable resource of worldwide developments in the rapidly evolving area of atomic, molecular and optical physics and related fundamental concepts. The journal contains articles on quantum mechanics including quantum information theory, atomic and molecular structure and dynamics, collisions and interactions (including interactions with surfaces and solids), clusters (including fullerenes), atomic and molecular processes in external fields, matter waves (including Bose-Einstein condensation) and quantum optics. New sections on quantum communication, computation, cryptography and matter waves are growing rapidly.

Cover Art
Physical Review B: Condensed Matter and Materials Physics - American Physical Society
Physical Review B is the largest and most comprehensive international journal specializing in condensed matter and materials physics, publishing important papers on a wide range of topics. PRB appears monthly in two sections, B1 and B15; each section is further divided into two parts. B1: Structure, phase transitions, ferroelectrics, nonordered systems, liquids, quantum solids, magnetism, superconductivity, superfluidity. B15: Electronic structure, photonic crystals, semiconductors, mesoscopic systems, surfaces, clusters, fullerenes, graphene, nanoscience.

Cover Art
Physical Review C: Nuclear Physics - American Physical Society
Physical Review C (PRC) contains research articles reporting experimental and theoretical results in all aspects of nuclear physics, including the nucleon-nucleon interaction, few-body systems, nuclear structure, nuclear reactions, relativistic nuclear collisions, hadronic physics and QCD, electroweak interaction, symmetries, and nuclear astrophysics.

Cover Art
Physical Review D: Particles, Fields, Graviation, and Cosmology - American Physical Society
Physical Review D (PRD), a leading journal in elementary particle physics, field theory, gravitation, and cosmology, appears monthly in two sections, D1 and D15: D1: reports on experimental high-energy physics, phenomenologically oriented theory of particles and fields, cosmic-ray physics, electroweak interactions, applications of QCD and lattice gauge theory. D15: covers general relativity, quantum theory of gravitation, cosmology, particle astrophysics, formal aspects of theory of particles and fields, general and formal development in gauge field theories and string theory.

Cover Art
Physical Review E: Statistical, Nonlinear, and Soft Matter Physics - American Physical Society
Physical Review E (PRE), interdisciplinary in scope, focuses on many-body phenomena, including recent developments in quantum and classical chaos and soft matter physics. It has sections on statistical physics, equilibrium and transport properties of fluids, liquid crystals, complex fluids, polymers, chaos, fluid dynamics, plasma physics, classical physics, and computational physics. In addition, the journal features sections on two rapidly growing areas: biological physics and granular materials.

Cover Art
Physical Review Letters - American Physical Society
Today PRL is the world's foremost physics letters journal, providing rapid publication of short reports of significant fundamental research in all fields of physics. International in scope, the journal provides its diverse readership with weekly coverage of major advances in physics and cross disciplinary developments. PRL's topical sections are devoted to general physics (including statistical and quantum mechanics, quantum information, etc.), gravitation and astrophysics; elementary particles and fields; nuclear physics; atomic, molecular, and optical physics; nonlinear dynamics, fluid dynamics, classical optics; plasma and beam physics; condensed matter; and soft-matter, biological, and interdisciplinary physics.

Cover Art
Physical Review X - American Physical Society
Physical Review X (PRX) is APS' online-only, fully open access journal. It is a peer-reviewed journal and aims to publish as timely as possible papers of scientific excellence that meets the acceptance criteria of originality, high technical quality, scientific rigor and high degree of significance to the relevant fields. It covers all areas of pure, applied and interdisciplinary physics. PRX will bring valuable and innovative results to the broader physics readership.

Cover Art
Physics Today - American Institute of Physics
The mission of Physics Today is to provide a unifying voice for thediverse areas of physics and the physics-related sciences. It does that in three ways: by providing authoritative, engaging coverage of physical scienceresearch and its applications without regard to disciplinary boundaries; by providing authoritative, engaging coverage of the often complexinteractions of the physical sciences with each other and with otherspheres of human endeavor; and by providing a forum for the exchange of ideas within thescientific community.

Cover Art
Reviews of Modern Physics - American Physical Society
Reviews of Modern Physics (RMP) serves both students and senior researchers in a broad range of fields. Its review articles offer in-depth treatment of a research area, surveying recent work and providing an introduction that is aimed at physics graduate students and nonspecialists. These reviews also feature bibliographies that are of great value to the specialist. The journal's shorter Colloquia describe recent work of interest to all physicists, especially work at the frontiers of physics, which may have an impact on several different subfields.

Librarian for English

Profile Image
Pat Scott
Contact Info
(570) 320-2400, x7840
LIB139 Madigan Library
Send Email

Assisted by...

Profile Image
Helen Yoas
Contact Info
Madigan Library
LIB137
570-320-2400x7920
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip