Research Guides: QTA: Madigan Library Resources

eBooks

These eBooks are in the Madigan Library collection. eBooks can be read online and require a login (username and network password). At this point, we do not have downloadable eBooks.

What We Really Value: Beyond Rubrics in Teaching and Assessing Writing by Bob Broad
Publication Date: 2023

The result of a long-term study of one university's introductory composition program, Broad's approach to mapping the values that inform writing evaluation is empirically grounded, painstakingly analyzed, yet flexible, human, and pedagogically wise. Not simple, but surely practical, his method yields a more satisfactory process of exploration and a more useful representation of the values by which compositionists actually evaluate their students. With this important study, Broad moves the field far beyond rubrics in teaching and assessing writing.
The Ambiguity of Teaching to the Test: Standards, Assessment, and Educational Reform by William A. Firestone; Lora Frances Monfils; Roberta Y. Schorr
Publication Date: 2004

Offers a hard look at the effects of state testing, and thoroughly examines the ambiguity of test preparation and how test preparation practices are influenced by what teachers know and the leadership coming from the school and district.
Technology and Assessment: Thinking Ahead: Proceedings from a Workshop by National Research Council (U.S.), Center for Education Board on Testing and Assessment Staff (Contribution by)
Publication Date: 2002

Selected researchers working in the intersection of technology and assessment were asked to write about some of the challenges and opportunities for more fully capitalizing on the power of information technologies to improve assessment, to illustrate those issues with examples from their own research, and to identify priorities for research and development in this area.
Collaborative Analysis of Student Work: Improving Teaching and Learning by Georgea M. Langer; Amy B. Colton; Loretta Goff
Publication Date: 2003

Examines the benefits of collaborative analysis of student work and explains how teachers can set up an effective program within their schools.
Teaching at Its Best: A Research-Based Resource for College Instructors, 5e by Todd D. Zakrajsek; Linda B. Nilson
Publication Date: 2023

Provides research-backed practices for nearly every aspect of effective teaching throughout higher education.
A Teacher's Guide to Classroom Assessment: Understanding and Using Assessment to Improve Student Learning by Susan M. Butler; Nancy D. McMunn
Publication Date: 2006

Comprehensive guide that shows step-by-step how to effectively integrate assessment into the classroom.

Assessment Journals

The journals listed below regularly feature articles about assessment practices in higher education.

American Journal of Evaluation by the American Evaluation Association
Each issue explores decisions and challenges related to conceptualizing, designing and conducting evaluations.
Assessment Update by Wiley
Provides a broad audience of higher education leaders with current trends, proven approaches, promising practices, and practical advice relevant to assessment and improvement in a range of areas, including accreditation, student learning and development, teaching and instructional activities, academic programs and curricula, student affairs and co-curricular experiences, institutional data collection, and overall institutional planning.
Educational Assessment, Evaluation and Accountability by Springer
International journal focused on advancing knowledge in assessment, evaluation, and accountability across all educational fields.
Educational Evaluation and Policy Analysis by the American Educational Research Association
Publishes rigorous, policy-relevant research of interest to those engaged in educational policy analysis, evaluation, and decision making.
The Journal of Higher Education by Taylor & Francis
Publishes research into the academic study of higher education addressing institutional and educational developments issues.
New Directions for Teaching and Learning by Wiley
Journal focused on improving college teaching, bringing a unique blend of theory, research, and practice to leaders in postsecondary education.
Practical Assessment, Research & Evaluation (PARE) by the University of Massachusetts Amherst Libraries
Provides access to refereed articles that can have a positive impact on assessment, research, and evaluation. Manuscripts published in PARE are scholarly syntheses of research and ideas about methodological issues and practices, and offer a clear and unique contribution to the literature.
Research in Higher Education by Springer
Publishes empirical research on postsecondary education.

Print Books

These books in the Madigan Library collection. Click on the link to a title to see current availability and to place a hold.

Online Assessment, Measurement, and Evaluation: Emerging Practices by David D. Williams (Editor); Scott L. Howell (Editor); Mary Hricko (Editor)
Call Number: LB1028.3 .O552 2006

Publication Date: 2006

Provides a view of the possibilities and challenges facing online educators and evaluators in the 21st century.
Online Assessments and Measurement: Foundations and Challenges by Mary Hricko; Scott L. Howell
Call Number: LB1028.3 .O553 2006

Publication Date: 2006

Explores the development of online assessment and the way practitioners of online learning can modify their methodologies in the design, development, and delivery of their instruction to best accommodate their participants.
Teaching the New Writing: Technology, Change, and Assessment in the 21st-Century Classroom by Anne Herrington (Editor); Kevin Thomas Hodgson (Editor); Charles Moran (Editor)
Call Number: LB1576.7 .T45 2009

Publication Date: 2009

In this guide, real teachers share their stories, successful practices, and examples of their students' creative and expository writing from online and multimedia projects, such as blogs, wikis, podcasts, electronic poetry, and more.
Learner-Centered Assessment on College Campuses: Shifting the Focus from Teaching to Learning by Jann E. Freed; Mary E. Huba
Call Number: LB2331 .H83 2000

Publication Date: 2000

Integrates current thinking and research regarding the learning of undergraduate students with principles of best practice in assessment and teaching.
The Departmental Guide and Record Book for Student Outcomes Assessment and Institutional Effectiveness by James O. Nichols
Call Number: LB2331.63 .N52 1995

Publication Date: 1995

Intended for use by college or university administrators or departmental chairs responsible for implementation of educational outcomes assessment and institutional effectiveness evaluation processes.
A Practitioner's Handbook for Institutional Effectiveness and Student Outcomes Assessment Implementation, 3e by James O. Nichols; Sheri Blessing (Contribution by)
Call Number: LB2331.63 .N54 1995

Publication Date: 1995

Guide for college and university administrators on designing and implementing programs for student outcomes assessment and institutional effectiveness.
Assessment Case Studies: Common Issues in Implementation with Various Campus Approaches to Resolution by James O. Nichols
Call Number: LB2331.63 .N546 1995

Publication Date: 1995

Presents case studies from different types of higher education institutions, exploring the practical challenges of implementing institutional effectiveness and student outcomes assessment programs.
Outcomes Assessment in Higher Education: Views and Perspectives by Peter Hernon (Editor); Robert E. Dugan (Editor)
Call Number: LB2331.63 .O88 2004

Publication Date: 2004

Provides a unique perspective on the discussion of educational quality as reflected through outcomes assessment -- or the application of student outcomes and student-learning outcomes to ensure institutional effectiveness -- with its broad, cross-disciplinary approach.
Revisiting Outcomes Assessment in Higher Education by Peter Hernon; Robert E. Dugan; Candy Schwartz
Call Number: LB2331.63 .R48 2006

Publication Date: 2006

Offers a cross-campus diversity of voices: contributors hail from various segments of higher organizations, an academic vice president, academic deans, a higher education consultant, faculty members, and librarians. Individually, they shed light on how their corner of the higher education universe views, facilitates, and substantiates outcomes assessment. Together, they document what is known about outcomes assessment in the middle of the first decade of the new century, as institutions and their programs take ever-firmer steps from anecdotal evidence to more rigorous diagnosis and reporting.
Designing and Assessing Courses and Curricula: A Practical Guide by Robert M. Diamond
Call Number: LB2361.5 .D5 1998

Publication Date: 1998

Reflects knowledge and practice in course and curriculum design and connects this knowledge with the critical task of assessing and learning outcomes at both course and curricular levels.
The MAPPING Primer: Tools for Reconstructing the College Curriculum, 2e by Ruth Stiehl; Les Lewchuk
Call Number: LB2361.5 .M37 2012

Publication Date: 2012

The curriculum planning tools in this second book have been designed to help faculty see the connections between classroom learning and life roles, between course outcomes and program outcomes, between course assessment and capstone assessment, between basic skills, general education and program learning outcomes. In essence, these three tools have the power to help us integrate learning experiences in ways we have rarely seen.
Assessment for Excellence: The Philosophy and Practice of Assessment and Evaluation in Higher Education by Alexander W. Astin
Call Number: LB2366.2 .A89 1991

Publication Date: 1991

Examines why assessment activity has produced meagre results and how existing activities can be improved.
Designing Effective Assessment: Principles and Profiles of Good Practice by Karen E. Black; Elizabeth A. Jones; Trudy W. Banta; Banta; Banta
Call Number: LB2366.2 .B36 2009

Publication Date: 2009

Offers 49 detailed current examples of good practice in planning, implementing, and sustaining assessment that are practical and ready to apply in new settings.
Learning Through Assessment: A Resource Guide for Higher Education by Lion F. Gardiner (Editor); Caitlin Anderson (Editor); Barbara L. Cambridge (Editor)
Call Number: LB2366.2 .L42 1997

Publication Date: 1997

Provides college administrators, faculty, and researchers with a guide to resources concerned with assessment at the postsecondary level.
Student Outcomes Assessment: What Institutions Stand to Gain by Diane F. Halpern (Editor)
Call Number: LB2366.2 .S88 1987

Publication Date: 1987

The chapters in this volume of New Directions for Higher Education span a wide variety of issues and concerns about assessing student outcomes.
Effective Grading: A Tool for Learning and Assessment by Barbara E. Walvoord; Virginia Johnson Anderson; Thomas A. Angelo (Foreword by)
Call Number: LB2368 .W35 1998

Publication Date: 1998

Written for the faculty member who believes the grading process is a valuable measure of student learning.
Classroom Assessment Techniques: A Handbook for College Teachers, 2e by Thomas A. Angelo; K. Patricia Cross
Call Number: LB2822.75 .A54 1993

Publication Date: 1993

Offers teachers at all levels how-to advise on class room assessment, including: What classroom assessment entails and how it works. How to plan, implement, and analyze assessment projects.
Assessment to Promote Deep Learning by Linda Suskie (Editor)
Call Number: LB2822.75 .A554 2001

Publication Date: 2001

Edited collection of presentations by major speakers at AAHE's 1999 and 2000 Assessment Conferences.
An Administrator's Guide for Evaluating Programs and Personnel: An Effective Schools Approach, 2e by Edward F. DeRoche
Call Number: LB2822.75 .D47 1987

Publication Date: 1987

Ten issues of evaluation are considered. Each chapter lists references and contains evaluation forms.
The Future of Assessment: Shaping Teaching and Learning by Carol Anne Dwyer (Editor)
Call Number: LB2822.75 .D89 2008

Publication Date: 2008

This volume stems from the 2003 Educational Testing Service Invitational Conference that convened leading scholars and practitioners from education, psychology, economics, statistics and public policy to discuss the important topic of measurement and accountability.
Assessing Student Learning and Development: A Guide to the Principles, Goals, and Methods of Determining College Outcomes by T. Dary Erwin; Peter T. Ewell (Foreword by)
Call Number: LB2822.75 .E78 1991

Publication Date: 1991

Designed specifically for higher education administrators, faculty, and student affairs professionals, this book provides a comprehensive overview of the principles, purposes, practices and uses of assessment, with particular emphasis on student learning and development.
Reclaiming Assessment: A Better Alternative to the Accountability Agenda by Chris W. Gallagher
Call Number: LB2822.75 .G35 2007

Publication Date: 2007

Details a more humane, more educationally sound way to conduct assessments than what is called for in national and state test-based accountability policies.
Assessment Clear and Simple: A Practical Guide for Institutions, Departments, and General Education, 2e by Barbara E. Walvoord; Trudy W. Banta (Foreword by)
Call Number: LB2822.75 .W35 2010

Publication Date: 2010

Offers a concise, step-by-step guide that helps make assessment simple, cost-efficient, and useful to an institution.
Assessment in Community Colleges: Setting the Standard for Higher Education? by Trudy W Banta; National Center for Higher Education Management Systems.
Call Number: LB3051 .B36 1999

Publication Date: 1999

Addresses assessment in connection with four aspects of the community college mission: general education, career and occupational education, continuing education, and transfer to four-year institutions Also explored are processes for assessing institutional effectiveness, uses of assessment findings, and principles for successful assessment.
Educational Assessment in the 21st Century: Connecting Theory and Practice by Claire Wyatt-Smith (Editor); Joy Cumming (Editor)
Call Number: LB3051 .E38 2009

Publication Date: 2009

Explores the latest ideas on the future of assessment by providing readers with a range of theoretical and methodological viewpoints.
The Future of Test-Based Educational Accountability by Katherine E. Ryan (Editor); Lorrie A. Shepard (Editor)
Call Number: LB3051 .F88 2008

Publication Date: 2008

Purpose is to identify and analyze the key issues associated with test-based educational accountability and to chart the future of educational accountability research.
The Assessment Debate: A Reference Handbook by Valerie J. Janesick
Call Number: LB3051 .S66 2001

Publication Date: 2001

An authoritative reference on one of education's hottest topics, describing how the latest testing and assessment tools can be used to help improve student performance.
Assessing Student Performance: Exploring the Purpose and Limits of Testing by Grant P. Wiggins
Call Number: LB3051 .W494 1993

Publication Date: 1993

Wiggins has written the most comprehensive and exhaustive treatise available on the imperative to change the ways we test and assess student performance.
Educative Assessment: Designing Assessments to Inform and Improve Student Performance by Grant Wiggins
Call Number: LB3051 .W495 1998

Publication Date: 1998

Examines the elements of educative, or learning-centered, assessment; presents a logical order and criteria for considering assessment design elements; and looks at the implications of the design work.
Conceptions of Assessment: Understanding What Assessment Means to Teachers and Students by Gavin T. L. Brown
Call Number: LB3058 .N4 B76 2008

Publication Date: 2008

Opens a new approach to the design and implementation of classroom assessment and large scale assessment by examining how the participants (i.e., teachers and students) actually understand what they are doing in assessment and make recommendations as to how improvements can be made to training, policy, and assessment innovations in the light of those insights.
Assessment of Student Achievement, 8e by Norman Edward Gronlund
Call Number: LB3060.65 .G766 2006

Publication Date: 2006

Offers a guide for testing and performance assessment. Although the book's emphasis is on achievement assessment, assessment is viewed as an integral part of all phases of the instructional process.
Introduction to Rubrics: An Assessment Tool to Save Grading Time, Convey Effective Feedback, and Promote Student Learning by Dannelle D. Stevens; Antonia J. Levi
Call Number: LB3063 .S74 2005

Publication Date: 2005

Research shows that rubrics save professors' time while conveying meaningful and timely feedback for students, and promoting self-regulated and independent learning. This book defines what rubrics are, and how to construct and use them. It provides an introduction for those starting out to integrate rubrics in their teaching.
The High Performance Toolbox: Succeeding with Performance Tasks, Projects, and Assessments, 3e by Spence Rogers; Shari Graham
Call Number: LC1032 .R64 1998

Publication Date: 1997-1998

Provides educators with tools and techniques for designing and implementing performance-based learning and assessment.

QTA: Madigan Library Resources

Newest assessment resources

eBooks

Assessment Journals

Print Books